Why does the SAF need a third set of ranks besides officers and WOs/Specialists? Ando so, how do soldeirs address them? Do soldiers have to salute the MEs? Or is it only those from ME4 onwards? And doesnt it look silly when working with foreign armed forces-- "Hi'm i'm MEX so and so" Then you have to explain what ME means.
they got nothing else to do so they decided to give themselves new fancy names to kill time.
I dun salute anyone in army.
Even gt crab ppl come I dun salute.
Now army is less strict on saluting liao.
ME1 - 3SG to 1SG
ME2 - SSG to MSG
ME3 - LTA/3WO to 1WO
ME4 - CPT/MWO
ME5 - MAJ/SWO
ME6 - LTC
ME7 - COL
ME8 - BG
Originally posted by spike_jose:ME1 - 3SG to 1SG
ME2 - SSG to MSG
ME3 - LTA/3WO to 1WO
ME4 - CPT/MWO
ME5 - MAJ/SWO
ME6 - LTC
ME7 - COL
ME8 - BG
wrong. me3 is for warrant officers only.
commisioned officers start directly from ME4 onwards.
therefore, 2LT, LTA also falls under ME4
So you only salute the ME4s and above?
What's the pay like? Is it definite per rank, or dependent on whether your degree/diploma qualification is in demand or not, or dependent on your appointment in the Army?
It's an unecessary rank system and confuses foreign militaries.
technically no need salute unless is a very senior guy like 7 or 8. then again some sources say not compulsory lol.. CPL also considered as ME1 btw. usually the junior guys [1 and 2] dont have any official way of being addressed [say u are in an operational place where ppl do not tend to guailan, not some sch or academy]. and if the slightly junior personnel know them in base or are working alongside them, most common is just call them by their name lor.. for ME3 is sir/encik while the rest upwards is sir.
alize, as usual depend on qualification and vocation for all levels and grades.. for officers have to see appt and perhaps the scheme [ordinary/scholar] too. actually this whole thing leans more towards specialised and technical vocations as a whole, but more common across rsaf n navy
anw TS, the idea was adopted from the US armed forces btw.
Originally posted by collinnxk88:technically no need salute unless is a very senior guy like 7 or 8. then again some sources say not compulsory lol.. CPL also considered as ME1 btw. usually the junior guys [1 and 2] dont have any official way of being addressed [say u are in an operational place where ppl do not tend to guailan, not some sch or academy]. and if the slightly junior personnel know them in base or are working alongside them, most common is just call them by their name lor.. for ME3 is sir/encik while the rest upwards is sir.
alize, as usual depend on qualification and vocation for all levels and grades.. for officers have to see appt and perhaps the scheme [ordinary/scholar] too. actually this whole thing leans more towards specialised and technical vocations as a whole, but more common across rsaf n navy
anw TS, the idea was adopted from the US armed forces btw.
Thanks wow no need to salute
Adopted by USarmed forces?
from.. not by.
but ceremonial wise most likely still need to salute. dont forget senior experts have officer priveleges and customs too.
Collinn is referring to US warrant officers. They are technical specialists, eg Army pilots, Special Forces.
Properly speaking saluting depends on whether commissioned. US WO 2-5 are, I'm not sure at what grade ME are commissioned.
Originally posted by alize:Collinn is referring to US warrant officers. They are technical specialists, eg Army pilots, Special Forces.
Properly speaking saluting depends on whether commissioned. US WO 2-5 are, I'm not sure at what grade ME are commissioned.
Oh that. But the ME designation sounds silly. What do you call them? Hey ME Tan? or ME Lee?
ME1 Tan or ME2 Lee. lols. Just ME_ ABC
Originally posted by voltrons.:ME1 Tan or ME2 Lee. lols. Just ME_ ABC
Grin
Originally posted by voltrons.:ME1 Tan or ME2 Lee. lols. Just ME_ ABC
official purpose yea [but even then many dont mention the rank].. but if its like working alongside and stuff, do read my post above.
4 and above means commissioned in a way, but usually on normal days ppl maybe only salute the generals. nowadays most just greet formally and informally
So who do you address them "Good Morning ME?"
What else is dumb:
1SG ranks higher than 3SG
1WO ranks higher than 3WO.
ME8 ranks higher than ME1.
Originally posted by alize:What else is dumb:
1SG ranks higher than 3SG
1WO ranks higher than 3WO.
ME8 ranks higher than ME1.
That's ok for me. But how do you address a ME? "Good morning ME?"
^ yup, in uncommon scenarios for the more junior 1 and 2. e.g, if they are instructors. usually, there isnt any need to address them at all. but out of courtesy, 3 are usually addressed as encik or sir [for guys] while 4 onwards is as per any officer.
alize, what joke is that lol -.- ME8 is hand-made using the same material used for a star
Originally posted by collinnxk88:^ yup, in uncommon scenarios for the more junior 1 and 2. e.g, if they are instructors. usually, there isnt any need to address them at all. but out of courtesy, 3 are usually addressed as encik or sir [for guys] while 4 onwards is as per any officer.
alize, what joke is that lol -.- ME8 is hand-made using the same material used for a star
So far no ME8 only ME7
Any what do they become if they leave ME(NS)? haha
no doubt..
what u said exists on the ground, as there's no chiefs at the max lvl as yet. just a matter of time only..
Originally posted by collinnxk88:no doubt..
what u said exists on the ground, as there's no chiefs at the max lvl as yet. just a matter of time only..
Surprising that ME8 corresponds to BG.
BGs are scholars, to be an ME8 you have to be a scholar. If you are a scholar you won't want to be an ME, you'll want to be an actual BG.
I think you can't force a BG-material scholar to be an ME, you can only promote a less impressive scholar to a BG-level ME.
Originally posted by alize:Surprising that ME8 corresponds to BG.
BGs are scholars, to be an ME8 you have to be a scholar. If you are a scholar you won't want to be an ME, you'll want to be an actual BG.
I think you can't force a BG-material scholar to be an ME, you can only promote a less impressive scholar to a BG-level ME.
So what I understand is that an ME is a "slack" kind of officer. Mayber you may want to be ME8 since you don't want to have the BG(NS) name when you leave.
Interesting facts:
the RSAF most senior WO is now and ME5 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Singapore_Air_Force#Organisation)
same with the RSN (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Singapore_Navy#Organisation)
while the army guy is still a SWO (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Army#Organisation)