Let's assume the normal guy, PES A/B, goes through normal BMT, then 9 months of OCS and ORD as a LTA. How much is it possible to save at the end of the NS life? Taking into account the necessities to purchase with the pay during the NS life. I'm asking in a very general example. Is it possible to save around $7 to $8k?
You will be able to save up just enough to buy peanuts.
Originally posted by felzus:Let's assume the normal guy, PES A/B, goes through normal BMT, then 9 months of OCS and ORD as a LTA. How much is it possible to save at the end of the NS life? Taking into account the necessities to purchase with the pay during the NS life. I'm asking in a very general example. Is it possible to save around $7 to $8k?
got $7 very gd liao , still 7k to 8k? lol
Lol. Can your question be more specific
I tink is $0.
Originally posted by felzus:Let's assume the normal guy, PES A/B, goes through normal BMT, then 9 months of OCS and ORD as a LTA. How much is it possible to save at the end of the NS life? Taking into account the necessities to purchase with the pay during the NS life. I'm asking in a very general example. Is it possible to save around $7 to $8k?
It also depends on your living conditions prior to NS. If you live in a rental bed/room, then you cannot even buy the peanut already sia. If you are still freeloading off parents in their HDB pigeonhole then you can buy peanuts.
I saved abt 4 K in my NS.
Originally posted by Singapore AFOL:I saved abt 4 K in my NS.
4k in 2 years? Lol a kid can save that much in 2 years using ang pow money.
Originally posted by Siliconchip:4k in 2 years? Lol a kid can save that much in 2 years using ang pow money.
Whose kid? How many relatives does the kid have? Don't exaggerate leh.
Eat cookhouse daily, no canteen, need money, ask from parents.
Every month, dont touch your ns allowance, when rod, you will see your money grow!
Yes it is.
You must be really disciplined though, sleeping in bunk and not travelling out of camp, eating in cookhouse, not spending on extra stuffs like snacks and magazines....
Edit: As you said, we are talking about a LTA here. For others, especially those who ORD as CPL and below, they will more than likely have $0 savings.
Originally posted by Siliconchip:4k in 2 years? Lol a kid can save that much in 2 years using ang pow money.
Army pay not a lot !!!
I stay out also !!!
But parents pay for me.
Stay out need food and transport fee.
Hmmm, i'm referring t an Officer in NS. i.e REC for 1st t 3rd month, $420 per month. Then OCT from 4th - 12th month, $700 per month. Then 2LT from approx 12th - 18th month, $940 per month. Finally, LTA from approx 19th - 22nd month, $1120 per month. Thing is, i'm not aware of the basic necessities that NSF must purchase from the NS allowance, for stuffs regarding NS. The only thing which i can think of now is transport (Assume public) and food when booking out (For the weekends for BMT, nights out, block leave etc after POP) Nah staying in camp while others bookout is simply a bit crazy ha. I have no idea to estimate at all therefore i just quoted a rough figure which is $7 to $8k.
Talk abt getting officer pay only after u finish ocs lah...Think of normal rank pay also...
Last time rec allowance only $240...now it's almost double. The rec allowance now was that of my 3sg last time. You still can save even if u have some entertainment. BUDGET is the word. Budget your transport/entertainment/canteen expenses. Start somewhere to save...say $300. Adjust the amt accordingly for the 1st few mths then stay put.
Well, i haven't even enlisted and am merely asking for fun how much an Officer can possbily put aside for savings. Yup.
You won't be able to save much, even as an officer, think officers have uniform costs etc plus others. If you can get 2k at the end, treat it as a gain.
can...
1) eat only cook house
2) don't book out unnecessary
3) volunteer to do guard duty and spend on that income only
Ns allowance is very low...
dont think you can save anything
and i think you would still be asking $$$ from yr parents when you are in NS
unless you every sat dont go out to pub or others loh
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:dont think you can save anything
and i think you would still be asking $$$ from yr parents when you are in NS
unless you every sat dont go out to pub or others loh
Hmmm, even if one goes out on weekends, the $420 recruit pay is still insufficient? Given that 5/7 days a week, the pay is not spent as the recruit would be in camp.
Originally posted by Underpaid:You won't be able to save much, even as an officer, think officers have uniform costs etc plus others. If you can get 2k at the end, treat it as a gain.
Didn't know that Officers need to finance some uniform what nots. :O
Originally posted by felzus:Hmmm, even if one goes out on weekends, the $420 recruit pay is still insufficient? Given that 5/7 days a week, the pay is not spent as the recruit would be in camp.
well you go out 1 nite can spend $200 to $300 liao
even worst if you go Dirty KTV
i been through that stage be4
15 years ago every sat me and my camp mates would all "WALK" pass the custom and travel to JB for fun.
you know we walk from singapore to JB leh.