What is the advantage of having the rank worn at the chest and not onthe arms or the shoulders as before? Is it just to allow quick identification of the soldier?
I think it's not a very good idea.
During wartime, guess where the snipers will be aiming?
Just a few cm to the right.
Originally posted by charlize:I think it's not a very good idea.
During wartime, guess where the snipers will be aiming?
Just a few cm to the right.
grin
Originally posted by amanda.lu862:What is the advantage of having the rank worn at the chest and not onthe arms or the shoulders as before? Is it just to allow quick identification of the soldier?
The reason is exactly the opposite of what you think.
It is not to allow quick identification of the soldier by potential enemies. The officer ranks on the shoulders are easily identified and potential enemies can eliminate key appointment holders at a glance.
Are you saying that its easier to look at the shoulder than at the chest?
Originally posted by amanda.lu862:Are you saying that its easier to look at the shoulder than at the chest?
Yes. From afar, the shoulders and the arms are easily expose than chest because they are on the outliers of the body.
Originally posted by amanda.lu862:Are you saying that its easier to look at the shoulder than at the chest?
It was also decided that Officers and WOSEs have the ranks at the same position (chest) so that the Officers will not be specifically differentiated by potential enemies and spotted out as KAHs.
Please salute the officer when you see them even in time of war~
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Yes. From afar, the shoulders and the arms are easily expose than chest because they are on the outliers of the body.
I don't imagine it this way. When you stand at attention you whole fbody frame is straight out while your shoulders are sort of horizontal so what is there can't be seen easily
Originally posted by BanguIzai:It was also decided that Officers and WOSEs have the ranks at the same position (chest) so that the Officers will not be specifically differentiated by potential enemies and spotted out as KAHs.
That makes some sense but not much. So those armies that don't adopt this system (eg. Malaysians) are more likely to loose their big boys in combat?
Originally posted by amanda.lu862:I don't imagine it this way. When you stand at attention you whole fbody frame is straight out while your shoulders are sort of horizontal so what is there can't be seen easily
Why would you want to stand at attention like a stone with your whole body frame straight out in a war? You enjoy being a targetboard izzit?
Zzz...
During potential war, you are mostly in prone position stay low from crossfires.
You would be behind objects (eg. low walls, trenches, bushes) with your body mostly blocked and leaving the hands, arms and shoulders exposed because you need to use your rifle.
From the pictures now, you can see which are the parts most exposed liao ?
Originally posted by amanda.lu862:That makes some sense but not much. So those armies that don't adopt this system (eg. Malaysians) are more likely to loose their big boys in combat?
They didn't make this change doesn't mean we shouldn't make this change too. We have made this change and if you want to revert, you can try writing a letter to Mindef to feedback. Hehehe.
Actually mod.... the topic title doesn't match the thread content... pls do something leh.. dun keep changing...
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Why would you want to stand at attention like a stone with your whole body frame straight out in a war? You enjoy being a targetboard izzit?
Zzz...
During potential war, you are mostly in prone position stay low from crossfires.
You would be behind objects (eg. low walls, trenches, bushes) with your body mostly blocked and leaving the hands, arms and shoulders exposed because you need to use your rifle.
During inspection parades. Those still happen during war time.
Originally posted by amanda.lu862:During inspection parades. Those still happen during war time.
If your rank is on the shoulder (Off / WO) and there's one beside you's on the arm (Spec), I stand from higher ground also can pick you out mah. Or even from level ground, I can also pick you out coz u don't have any rank on your arm so you could have rank on your shoulder (unless you're realli a recruit).
Now everyone from afar has an insignia at the same place, so the differiantiation is greatly lowered.
If you decide why not on the arms or shoulders for instead for everyone (Officers & WOSEs) then the second line of argument above (more easily hidden during real-time action) should come into place to explain.
Actually if a sniper can read your rank off your chest you are pretty much screwed anywhere you may choose to place it. Common sense much.
The current placement of the rank does help in preventing easy enemy identification of ranking personnel, however individual actions such as pointing at stuff, giving orders in a very obvious way are more giveaways as well, so yep, watch yourself.
could it be cost cutting.....?
last time must have 2, one on each side, now one in front of chest can liao............
prevents people sewing it on different places, prevents people just cutting and not folding before sewing.
enlistees go thru 3 ranks, specialist cadets thru 5.
Originally posted by Ä«Õß:¸ïÀë:could it be cost cutting.....?
last time must have 2, one on each side, now one in front of chest can liao............
Didn't they just increase the budget for defence?
Originally posted by charlize:Didn't they just increase the budget for defence?
They cut on this so that they can buy more planes.....
Originally posted by amanda.lu862:During inspection parades. Those still happen during war time.
... sounds like someone needs to salute the officer who came up with this "bright" idea...in a sniper zone.
If I had an officer who even suggested this in field, my OC is going to get mass requests to transfer that idiot out before he gets someone killed. Preferably himself. With help. When you have so little leeway between life and death in war, sometimes it may just be best to frag an officer so more people can survive. If he wants to play toy soldiers, post him to an admin unit, not logistics though, food, water and ammo are too critical to play around, let him go shuffle paper.
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Why would you want to stand at attention like a stone with your whole body frame straight out in a war? You enjoy being a targetboard izzit?
Zzz...
Dude where did you get these funny pics? These are like "the typical pro-NS layperson's idea of war." (not saying you are)
Originally posted by alize:Dude where did you get these funny pics? These are like "the typical pro-NS layperson's idea of war." (not saying you are)
Internet loh, I just type some keywords and you will get all these pictures and a lot some more !
Isn't the internet wonderful. :)
Originally posted by Underpaid:Isn't the internet wonderful. :)
Haha. #1 and #4 look like reenactors, #3 gear website, #2 movie still of China's all-victorious top gun sneaking stealthily into the American drug lord's heavily guarded mansion, this is the only time his gun doesn't make the cocking sound with every slight movement.