Hello!
I've been looking around for some information regarding this topic, but there seems to be very little information to be found. I'm a Singaporean living in Australia who's due to enlist within the next year, and after hearing stories from friends who've been through NS, I'm very interested in joining the Commandos. However, I hear that they are almost exclusively a mono-intake, and selection criteria is stringent.
To give a little background on myself, I'm a Eurasian who's lived in Australia for most of my life, and my standard of education would probably be considered an 'A' level equivalent back home. I believe I'm capable of meeting the physical and mental requirements for the role: I consider myself very fit, I am a marathon runner and work as a fitness instructor. I have not undergone any formal fitness testing under Singapore's system, but I believe I will perform well.
As someone who's based abroad, what would the best course of action be to secure a place in the Commandos? I do not wish to sign on in order to do so, and I understand that a small cohort of NSFs are chosen to join them. Are there likely to be any factors that would hinder my chances, such as my living abroad or my race? Should I simply make my intent clear when I undergo my medical examination, or are there additional steps I can take, such as perhaps, speaking to someone within the army prior to enlistment?
Thanks for reading!
Sher
physically fit =/= medically fit
go through medical checkup first. I don't think cmpb gives two hoots about where you want to go. if they do, then 50% will request to be clerk.
check the commando sticky faq. btw if you love physical activity, don't ignore the risk of being injured in the commandos.
U would be crazy to volunteer for tat..... the physical n mental challenge is not really a biggy...wait till u try out the hot n humid weather in singapore......=______________="
There is no information to seek because there is no information on that.
There's little you can do - as an NSF, selection's pretty much a case of "don't call us, we'll call you".
Depending on how close your arrival is to your enlistment date, your being abroad could work against you. In my day, the selection tests took place 4-5 months before enlistment, so the shortlisting for the selection tests would take place some time before that. If you're in Singapore for less than six months before enlistment, chances are that whoever's doing the shortlisting would put you in the "not enough time to select" basket.
Race won't be an issue - we've had our share of Missions and Galistans in the formation.
i don't think it is even possible if a person were to volunteer for it.
from what i got to hear from my poly fren who graduated from commando training in the past, they only accept a few hundreds of pre-selected candidates yearly.
just basic red beret requires 9 months of training, commando officer requires 1yr 5mths of training..as for the in-between of sergeant, i didn't ask.
they only accept individuals whom they have already pre-selected based on the security clearance from the track-record dating back not only from an individual but also to family background, status and track record as well. (the same goes to any of local important position holders)
but 1 thing is for sure..you don't need to be medically fit to be selected for that..for my friend had injuired his knee prior to the mono-intake..but he still pushed on and pass out lah..
neither do they have any slots open up even if you were to sign on..i don't think there's a way that you can choose..except for the general position la..
the only thing that u can choose is - Air-Force Fighter Pilot, can sign on, but if you fail the test, govt will dis-continue the bond, and you just serve either longer or repay the excess amount of salary if you have already spend it away and can't return the excess you accepted as a regular status.
Originally posted by alize:check the commando sticky faq. btw if you love physical activity, don't ignore the risk of being injured in the commandos.
Pfft - we only had a 40% fallout rate for injuries.
Originally posted by maxsee:U would be crazy to volunteer for tat..... the physical n mental challenge is not really a biggy...wait till u try out the hot n humid weather in singapore......=______________="
I actually found that the drier Australian climate made it harder to run - my throat kept drying out.
what is the reason to join cdo?
go for PTI betta
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:what is the reason to join cdo?
go for PTI betta
Cdo also got intake for ptp.
Originally posted by tarutaru:Cdo also got intake for ptp.
yes
Originally posted by Gedanken:Pfft - we only had a 40% fallout rate for injuries.
that's the average light duty/MC rate? or the OOC-due-to-injury rate?
tak boleh tahan!
If you're very fit, I suggest you to for PTI course is good enough - they concentrate on fitness only.
For commandos, it's fitness + alot of other sh*t = not really worth it
Originally posted by alize:that's the average light duty/MC rate? or the OOC-due-to-injury rate?
tak boleh tahan!
OOC lah - where got time to attend B?
Originally posted by cyberr1981:
For commandos, it's fitness + alot of other sh*t = not really worth it
That's your view (was it from personal experience?). I had a great time.
I just thought, if you have no ties or future interest in singapore and desperately want to serve as a commando, why don't you renounce your citizenship and join a foreign military?
So many people in AUSNZ have done it and we won't turn you away in future, being so hard up for foreign talent. You can Australia's army or the French Foreign Legion.
wouldn't it be better if you go join US Marines or Navy Seals?
Since USA has got all the wonderful big toys (submarines, helicopters, jet-fighters, aircraft carriers, tankers) at the elite's soldiers disposal during the training to know every single weapon for best enemy elimination..
on second thought..i think navy seals is better..
you can still get your citizenship in future as a investor citizenship so you don't need to trouble yourself with the reservice element that is the troublesome part of Singapore National Service unlike Taiwan..i think just serve the period and no longer needed of their service liao..
Originally posted by the_fallen:wouldn't it be better if you go join US Marines or Navy Seals?
Since USA has got all the wonderful big toys (submarines, helicopters, jet-fighters, aircraft carriers, tankers) at the elite's soldiers disposal during the training to know every single weapon for best enemy elimination..
on second thought..i think navy seals is better..
you can still get your citizenship in future as a investor citizenship so you don't need to trouble yourself with the reservice element that is the troublesome part of Singapore National Service unlike Taiwan..i think just serve the period and no longer needed of their service liao..
Seals, Spec forces. Covert missions are all overly used in today's context.
I doubt most of the people here has ever heard of the US Navy's UDT or frogmen,as they would like to call it . I also dare say that most people will just think that these guys are just "another unit" and that they don't kick ass as much as the spec forces do.
Well. In the olden days, after going through Buds training these guys are just assigned to UDT or SEALS. Simple as that. People are just hyping all these things up.. comparing and weighing which one is the best. the simple ans to it is they are best at what they train for.
Go watch some documentries from National Geo about them - What the seals and spec forces of the united state military go through.. It's a brief picture of how the training is really like. Yet brief as it is. I shudder infront of my screen after seeing the intense mental and physical stresses these candidates have gone through
Mind you, the guys that go over there for training are some of the most experienced, fittest battle harden warriors with service bars and medals to prove. They also have many years of service to get to where they are.. their ranks and their achievements etc.
So what makes you think, the Seals will just open the doors to you and give you a free pass to immediately train with them? I doubt the us dept of defence will just accept any give citizenship to any tom dick and harry.
Also. A sergeant there != to a sergeant here. Getting to the rank of sergeant there takes years.. so go ponder.
Actually non-citizens can enlist. And SEALs accepted direct applicants a few years ago.
Not saying just join. Just pointing it out.
Hi Sheradine, hope you're still there...
To put it bluntly, I wouldn't advise anyone to join ANY army in the world unless you're a masochist (a person who enjoys being controlled and physically abused).
Ignore people who tells you all about pride, honour of joining army that you're doing a noble task to serve your country - it's all bullsh*t!!!!
In fact, in civilian world, nobody will give a h3ck, nobody will respect you as soldier and will see you as "2nd class citizen" (when you're in uniform) and have higher expectations of your behaviour like "you're a soldier, you're a REAL MAN, you cannot sit on seats on the mrt/bus, you cannot take escalator, must take stairs"....etc.
A soldier's life is an underprivileged life, with lots of inconveniences, hardships and hassles. You will not have freedom to do whatever exercises you wish to, like in civilian life. You won't even have a choice of when to rest. When you have illness/injury, you will be expected to resume training unless you're dead. In ANY army, they don't care about your illness/injury unless you died.
And, it's not just about physical fitness. You must also be able to take great pressure, have great mental endurance and must not break down and cry easily. You must also be able to do intense and highly complicated military operations and must not screw up. Once you screw up any thing or make any big mistake, there goes your career in the army!
If you're serious about fitness and gymming, you should just stick to being an fitness instructor and DO NOT join ANY army!!!
Originally posted by Gedanken:That's your view (was it from personal experience?). I had a great time.
You had a great time?
Either you're brain-washed or you're just lying for the sake of looking politically correct...
Since you had such a "GREAT" time, you must have signed on as a regular right?
I may be seen as negative but the blunt truth isn't always positive....
Originally posted by cyberr1981:You had a great time?
Either you're brain-washed or you're just lying for the sake of looking politically correct...
Since you had such a "GREAT" time, you must have signed on as a regular right?
Well, as it turns out, I had an even greater time at university, so I scrapped plans to sign on. Just as well too - the army certainly couldn't match my consulting rate of four grand a day, and a guy does have to stay in Bollinger and wagyu.
The funny thing, of course, is that I've gotten to this point because I outlast, outwork and out-think my competition, and that's all thanks to the training at 1CDO.
That said, of course I had a great time, so much so that I pop back into Singapore every December for a reunion with the lads.
It's obvious you weren't at Hendon - if you had been, you wouldn't be pouting now. It's OK - someone's got to suck hind-tit.
Originally posted by Gedanken:Well, as it turns out, I had an even greater time at university, so I scrapped plans to sign on. Just as well too - the army certainly couldn't match my consulting rate of four grand a day, and a guy does have to stay in Bollinger and wagyu.
The funny thing, of course, is that I've gotten to this point because I outlast, outwork and out-think my competition, and that's all thanks to the training at 1CDO.
That said, of course I had a great time, so much so that I pop back into Singapore every December for a reunion with the lads.
It's obvious you weren't at Hendon - if you had been, you wouldn't be pouting now. It's OK - someone's got to suck hind-tit.
I don't think Bill Gates or Steve Jobs (or any successful businessman at the moment) had training OR even need to have training at 1CDO to be able to outlast competition for that matter.... By what you said, then all businessmen should be ex-commandos!
I have to put it bluntly to you - CDO training is redundant and unrelated to success of any businessmen. You had no choice because you got selected to be in CDO that's why you had to "come out positively of it" to make full use of it. Sheradine, the threadstarter here, have a choice.
Every year you are compulsory to return for ICT, it's not because you have great time.
I certainly don't think those people, who have life-long injuries OR even died due to CDO trainings, had a "great time".
To Sheradine: This Gekan guy paints a very beautiful picture of the army with his positive thinking. Being positive is good but being too positive it comes off as fake and politically correct and blurring the blunt negative truths. Do consider thoroughly before joining any army.