Hey all, I read a few posts in the RSAF FAQ topic in this forum and just wanna ask around those who signed on with RSAF, what were their reasons behind doing so?
I'm currently in tekong doing my BMT and had a bit of experience in SYFC in the past as I was called to do the COMPASS test and unexpectedly, I managed to pass it. I know that there's still a medical checkup and interview panel to go through but I wanna plan ahead:S Basically, I have problems deciding whether or not I want to sign on with RSAF.
I know that one incentive would be the 'attractive'(?) scholarship BUT, I didn't do well enough in my A levels to get a place in local universities. In fact, my results are CCE/E. Also, I don't have sufficient academic units to qualify for the scholarship either. This makes me feel that there are no benefits in signing on...?
Another issue will be the bond length, 10 years is a very long period of time. And, I've seen many ppl mentioned in sgforums that what you expect in RSAF is NOT what you will be getting.
So... Can anyone here spare me some advice?(:
people sign on for the money lor. don't need to ask 1 lah
some people do sign on RSAF to siam the army.
It is a job. It brings in income. Some people are poor, their parent dont provide them with pocket money once they are adult. So they need to get a job to feed themselves and family (inlcuding their parents). So it is more of a survival issue rarer than for the great future.
If you can study and your parents are rich, then should further on. Not all people have this privileges.
dude, so do u want a scholarship for a DEGREE or do u want to fly planes? what do u want?
But the lump sum of money only one shot ma.
And I don't think SAF is that bad so don't really need to siam? Haha.
My family consists of only my mum and I, so we arent that uptight about money issues.
Lol, I know this would sound greedy but it would be good if I can get both. But is it true that after the 10 year bond, your degree would be rather useless anyway? Cuz you'll be relatively old by then and no other job experience.
And, so sorry guys, I am a noobie, no idea how to use the blockquote function to reply:S
a military is a dangerous place especially the airforce.its got bombs,dangerous radar,strange chemicals and dangerous equipment.why dont u join the other civil service like the diplomatic corps if u are a female.if u are a male..n have family commitments...stay away from the military.
save yourself.
DO NOT JOIN
safety message by ex-regular
kopisatu, why not give 'safety talk' in this forum?
the girl should find all posts by me, i give alot of safety talks liao