Originally posted by FireIce:oni dive in river and reservoir find parts of bodies.
lucky he was found alive.. else, another body in the water....
the moderator changed the topic...
maybe the food in tekong isnt good as it is before.
i still remeber eating all the food all i can get at muslim food cook house.the spicy chicken there is something to die for.but this dude after less than a few days run off n try to die in the sea.maybe food is inedible .
Originally posted by Director Hitman:maybe the food in tekong isnt good as it is before.
i still remeber eating all the food all i can get at muslim food cook house.the spicy chicken there is something to die for.but this dude after less than a few days run off n try to die in the sea.maybe food is inedible .
maybe you are too noisy.
Originally posted by Director Hitman:maybe the food in tekong isnt good as it is before.
yar hor....maybe the cookhouse auntie on the muslim side said to him, "Piss off back to the other said can or not?!!", so he swam.
Originally posted by fudgester: Actually, when you think about it, it may not be so much the fault of the person himself, but the environment he was brought up in.He could have been brought up in a sheltered, comfortable environment where he lacked nothing. Every day he would go home to have his maid cook his food and make his bed. He would sleep in an air-conditioned room and play with the latest game consoles. He would go to a top school and be the star student where all the teachers love and praise him, and he would be the darling of his chess club CCA or something to that effect.
Then he goes to BMTC without knowing what to expect, and gets thrown into an alien world where he has to stand by bed, shine his own shoes, and have his sergeants shout 'CCB' and 'KNN' in his face at every chance they get.
Someone in those circumstances may just crack if he doesn't have the mental fortitude to deal with adversity to begin with.
Goes to show that you really should not pamper your children too much lest they are not prepared for the kind of difficulties that every Tom, Dick and Harry are expected to face.
Somehow I think he's not a wimp. He might just be used to doing as he pleases without any consequences. He might even have meant to come back after his swim. I know of so many other soldiers who wouldn't do the same simply for fear of the crabs on the beach.
A top student should know how to suffer the present for the sake of the future. Running away is more like a beng who goes AWOL and to DB without losing anything.
He should be careful, or his attitude might get him vocated as a Commando.
Very true
The poor doofus was probably trying to make it back to mainland to catch the final Harry Potter movie :p
Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:The poor doofus was probably trying to make it back to mainland to catch the final Harry Potter movie :p
If harry potter, he should summon his broomstick.
i think down there no woman, cannot tahan, he swam back
wa laoz
face palm... e thread title..
pls la, he could have gotten killed. late in the night swmming and there's big vessels passing by.
Quite pathetic that its the PCG that found out this guy has escape rather than the SAF.
I bet SAF doesn't even know the recruit has escape if the PCG did not caught this guy.
But then again, maybe SAF can transfer him to NDU to relise his true potential.
Wah, looks like this dude is training to become a better deserter (can swim 2km) instead of a better soldier.
or eaten by a shark!!
Obviously he did not learn from Mas Selamat, did not used any floatation device.
Give him a pair of fins and send him to NDU.
he dun like the army. he prefer to be a seal
Originally posted by sbst275:how to fight a war? Tat's e decent
No la. He start to train in Jungle warfare during wartime. Learn how to swim to the enemy terrain instead of taking boat. Smart Alec. Still recruit want to take over Navy job. Since he love to swim so much. He will be posted to NAVY> :D
Originally posted by tripsky:wah no need to waste money on penguin liao... all recruits should swim in and out of tekong to save cost!
Wah, Like that Singapore soldier more tougher than israel soldiers. Haven training start to swim to the barracks.
Singapore will have a good reputation. So warlike. Should have execise like dropping Fake MK 82,83 or 84 bomb to the water and shooting those fake blue bullets to the recruits while they are swimming to tekong. must sure if Full Battle Order. After their swimming. Immdiately engage in SOC or jungle confidence course. Start to camo and dig trench in the jungle. Undergo the toughest training in the world.
Make them get used to this kind of war life. Ang mo also scare of us leh.
Originally posted by lemon1974:lucky he was found alive.. else, another body in the water....
If he died or really swim back to the Singapore Mainland. Dr Ng Eng Hen, Desmond Kuek and Ravinder Singh will resign this week already. Throw their officer title away. hahaha.
If i not wrong, Ng Eng Hen ask Ravinder Singh to go and scold those CO, OC, PC and Sergent. Fucking kanna extra duties or dun need to promote already. Being transfer out.
Den IN BMTC 1 or 2, the CO will brief recruits got problems please go to your PC, OC or CO or even call SAF hotline. Dun go and swim back to singapore. Anything happen they will have early release. CO now in DEEP shit. hahaha. OC and PC they can fuck themselve now.
Originally posted by sexy girls:
A RECRUIT from the Basic Military Training Centre (BMTC) on Pulau Tekong, said to have been having problems coping there, attempted to swim back to mainland Singapore last December.
Responding to queries from The Straits Times, the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) confirmed that the recruit 'attempted to swim out of Pulau Tekong towards the main island of Singapore'.
He was, however, spotted and picked up by the Police Coast Guard and handed back to the authorities in BMTC.
Mindef spokesman Desmond Tan said the young man was found on the Kechil Land Link, a strip of land linking Pulau Tekong and Pulau Tekong Kechil.
The incident is believed to be the first time someone has tried to swim out of the island since the 1980s.
Pulau Tekong lies 2km from the mainland at its closest point; the distance from its jetty to Singapore is 3.8km.
Former military psychologist Stanley Chua, 33, said he hoped this incident would not spark talk that today's enlistees are softer or that national service (NS) is easier than before.
The former major in the Republic of Singapore Air Force, who now runs private consultancy N.S. Formulas, said the recruits today 'have a harder time' making the transition into military life and coping with the mental and social demands NS makes of them.
He added that it is not the Singapore Armed Forces' job to prepare young men for NS: 'The BMT commanders and buddies will only know the recruit for a few weeks... The onus is on parents, who have brought up their sons and should know better how they cope with difficulties or stress.'
Article is in today's Straits Times print edition.
I really hope more people will swim back from Tekong. I tell u if this things HAPPEN Again. The training program will be revised and maybe shorten the training. HAHAHAH
Originally posted by fudgester:Actually, when you think about it, it may not be so much the fault of the person himself, but the environment he was brought up in.
He could have been brought up in a sheltered, comfortable environment where he lacked nothing. Every day he would go home to have his maid cook his food and make his bed. He would sleep in an air-conditioned room and play with the latest game consoles. He would go to a top school and be the star student where all the teachers love and praise him, and he would be the darling of his chess club CCA or something to that effect.
Then he goes to BMTC without knowing what to expect, and gets thrown into an alien world where he has to stand by bed, shine his own shoes, and have his sergeants shout 'CCB' and 'KNN' in his face at every chance they get.
Someone in those circumstances may just crack if he doesn't have the mental fortitude to deal with adversity to begin with.
Goes to show that you really should not pamper your children too much lest they are not prepared for the kind of difficulties that every Tom, Dick and Harry are expected to face.
Say really i was culture shock a bit. 5am wake up to brush teeth. Really wonder what the fuck am i doing here. haha. Den the Sergent really scold me KNN, CCB and kick my bed so hard that i thought ghost kick me. WTF> at that time i really want to give him a good punch on his fucking face. So Xia Lan. THat time if got chance to ham tum the sergent. I think he will die on the spot. Can you imagine 150 jumping jet, 4-5sets x20 of push up,sit and run around the area before u go for breakfast. I remenber that morning in my brain. My whole platoon that morning cannot even eat the Fried rice. No appetite to eat. hahaa
FYI, i din undergo PTP and straight to BMT. I was from Leadership batch (Direct Enhanced). That why the sergent wack us hard.
Originally posted by Itedino:
Wah, Like that Singapore soldier more tougher than israel soldiers. Haven training start to swim to the barracks.Singapore will have a good reputation. So warlike. Should have execise like dropping Fake MK 82,83 or 84 bomb to the water and shooting those fake blue bullets to the recruits while they are swimming to tekong. must sure if Full Battle Order. After their swimming. Immdiately engage in SOC or jungle confidence course. Start to camo and dig trench in the jungle. Undergo the toughest training in the world.
Make them get used to this kind of war life. Ang mo also scare of us leh.
All Israeli soldiers can swim... in the Dead Sea that is...
Originally posted by Itedino:If he died or really swim back to the Singapore Mainland. Dr Ng Eng Hen, Desmond Kuek and Ravinder Singh will resign this week already. Throw their officer title away. hahaha.
If i not wrong, Ng Eng Hen ask Ravinder Singh to go and scold those CO, OC, PC and Sergent. Fucking kanna extra duties or dun need to promote already. Being transfer out.
Den IN BMTC 1 or 2, the CO will brief recruits got problems please go to your PC, OC or CO or even call SAF hotline. Dun go and swim back to singapore. Anything happen they will have early release. CO now in DEEP shit. hahaha. OC and PC they can fuck themselve now.
No la, look at how many deaths Chan Chun Sing survived... minister now...
Plus they are really short of people now. They had to raid SAF for Tan Chuan Jin and this bodoh, plus get another two foreigners (Puthu and Foo) and a severely retarded girl to be MPs.
Ravinder is lucky. A whole company can drown at this time and nothing will happen to him.