As far as i know, there are scheme A and B for officer's salary but if i sign on with a diploma and got a degree after that..will my pay be adjusted to the scheme B?? Will my pay be adjusted to those who are holding a degree also?
As far as I know, SAF only recognised NTU, NUS and SMU.
If you sign on as a diploma they would not let you do a degree, as this is irrelevant to them. I dont think they also let you disrupt for degree either, as you are already full-time employed. You can get a local merit award and do uni. This road is different from the scheme A and B.
the local merit award is there any requirements? is it wise for me to sign on with diploma cert? pls tell me thx
So no matter how hard i try i wont get selected for ocs during my ns period if i am a diploma holder?
Originally posted by Winston nga93:So no matter how hard i try i wont get selected for ocs during my ns period if i am a diploma holder?
No lah, u can still go into OCS or SCS. Unless u kenna mono intake....
actually im 18 years old now and i know that i can apply now already but i still prefer to go ns frist and decide. If i get into ocs and successfully graduate from there, my pay will be 2000-2500 rite? Will it increase after maybe 3-5 years? So when i go ns, i must be very siao on, pass every test well and also tell my pc that i wanna go ocs?
Originally posted by Winston nga93:actually im 18 years old now and i know that i can apply now already but i still prefer to go ns frist and decide. If i get into ocs and successfully graduate from there, my pay will be 2000-2500 rite? Will it increase after maybe 3-5 years? So when i go ns, i must be very siao on, pass every test well and also tell my pc that i wanna go ocs?
If u sign on as an officer, confirmed go OCS,
Actually, you still have to meet the requirements for selection for OCS. Should you have signed on as an officer but fail to meet the requirements, your contract would be void. Same goes for SCS.
actually im 18 years old now and i know that i can apply now already but i still prefer to go ns frist and decide. If i get into ocs and successfully graduate from there, my pay will be 2000-2500 rite? Will it increase after maybe 3-5 years?
The pay range for an officer is given on the ARC website which I shall not regurgitate here. http://www.mindef.gov.sg/arc/careers.html#careers=officer&sub=salary-benefits.
Your salary would increase as you get promoted in rank and grade.
Originally posted by Delirious_prince:Actually, you still have to meet the requirements for selection for OCS. Should you have signed on as an officer but fail to meet the requirements, your contract would be void. Same goes for SCS.
The pay range for an officer is given on the ARC website which I shall not regurgitate here. http://www.mindef.gov.sg/arc/careers.html#careers=officer&sub=salary-benefits.
Your salary would increase as you get promoted in rank and grade.
True, but put it this way, if u never sign on, the chances is unknown, but if you sign on at least if you meet the requirements you'll definitely go to OCS or SCS. Whichever TS choose.
ohh so if I apply now as infantry officer, when i go ns they will treat me as a signed on person and straight away train me as an officer provided I meet their standard in ocs?
Originally posted by tarutaru:True, but put it this way, if u never sign on, the chances is unknown, but if you sign on at least if you meet the requirements you'll definitely go to OCS or SCS. Whichever TS choose.
Uhhh, I'm currently enlisting 2 weeks later into PRC and I've got considerations to sign on as a officer after going in, but of course, experiencing life over there first.
After reading all the above post, I'm still in confusion how the "signing-on process" go about. So, please enlighten me...
1) If I really want to sign on, means I'll have to do so before BMT and they will assess me during BMT if I meet the requirements?
2) If so, will I be able to apply/sign during BMT?
I heard from my friends that there is a contract which is 50 years...is it true?
Originally posted by Winston nga93:I heard from my friends that there is a contract which is 50 years...is it true?
You go to NS BMT first. And see if you like milltary life. A lot of unforseen stuff may appear unexpectedlly. Such as you cannot bring iphone and laptop to camp, cannot keep long hair and etc.
Originally posted by Lokey:You go to NS BMT first. And see if you like milltary life. A lot of unforseen stuff may appear unexpectedlly. Such as you cannot bring iphone and laptop to camp, cannot keep long hair and etc.
These are small issue, it's the regimental and politics after it.
alright thx...but sim uni cert is not recognize by SAF?
Originally posted by Winston nga93:alright thx...but sim uni cert is not recognize by SAF?
Should be, SIM is local isn't it?
SIM is in singapore
SIM hold the course but it is awarded by other university.
For example: Bac of Business (Marketing) is awarded by RMIT university. So the cert is printed with SIM and RMIT logo.
Can i get local study award to go sim? cause LSA states most local uni but i not sure whether it include sim uni not....
These guys are right. Why make a decision to sign away 4 years of your life at the age of 18, before experiencing a day of military life, when you can make a more informed decision after your studies.
BTW you can get an additional bounty only if you sign on during BMT (not a day later). Repayable if you break the contract. That's something I would not be tempted by.
Anyone knows if you can sign on to other vocations if you kena mono-intake?