Being posted out to be a reece is one of mine worst nightmare.......
upon hearing the news.....i thought of field camp......all the out field...camo one camo off..
i know i sound like a wimp.......
tradtionally , scouts were considered as light infrantry during the 18 century where differences between the line infrantry and light were still evident.
A light infrantry man was considered superior to a line infrantry man.As they need aggresion,cunning and intiative for their demanding and risky workload.
In today context....reece or scouts are still considered the elite of the infrantry.........
i cant swim,,,i am not very fit and i feel out of place in mine platoon..............i feel stress ...
I guess you are not mounted recce.
Originally posted by cout << user:Recce can learn a lot of things dont be sad. Some people want also dont have.
Exactly. Can even get to know some babes.
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:
Being posted out to be a reece is one of mine worst nightmare.......
upon hearing the news.....i thought of field camp......all the out field...camo one camo off..
i know i sound like a wimp.......tradtionally , scouts were considered as light infrantry during the 18 century where differences between the line infrantry and light were still evident.
A light infrantry man was considered superior to a line infrantry man.As they need aggresion,cunning and intiative for their demanding and risky workload.
In today context....reece or scouts are still considered the elite of the infrantry.........
i cant swim,,,i am not very fit and i feel out of place in mine platoon..............i feel stress ...
They must feel that you have the quality to be in that vocation, then they post you into that vocation. Else you will just be a SIR rifleman. They would not spend time training some1 which cannot be trained in the first place. Be confident in urself. You can do it!
again?
now is 自�年代。。lol
Originally posted by Lokey:They must feel that you have the quality to be in that vocation, then they post you into that vocation. Else you will just be a SIR rifleman. They would not spend time training some1 which cannot be trained in the first place. Be confident in urself. You can do it!
Mine posting was originally not a scout reece...but an armoured Inf trooper.....
before changing to another vocation and then to an armour reece platoon......
mine sergeant keep talking about clearances and stuffs.......
And i did not perform very well for field camp...its one of the lowest point in mine Bmt..now needing to out field again...really forces me to confront mine weakness
Originally posted by Fcukpap:again?
now is 自�年代。。lol
Not self hate......
But i must admit...mine self confidence is not in an ideal state right now.
just a plain hard look at one's ability versus the job scope that one needs to undertake...
A reece load is almost the same as a commando's back pack........
i keep praying that i would not need to route march again....ah...those marches......24km was one hell of a test of endurance for me....towards the end i was giving mineself the timming left right left right left right and forcing mine legs to follow the timming...it helps..but we all know that our bag pack is at most 15-17kg during our 24km march...now as a reece its 30...or more......
how to do it??.....i simply dun know.......
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:Mine posting was originally not a scout reece...but an armoured Inf trooper.....
mine sergeant keep talking about clearances and stuffs.......And i did not perform very well for field camp...its one of the lowest point in mine Bmt..now needing to out field again...really forces me to confront mine weakness
So you are surely more useful than a trooper that why you are in reece loh.
Scout is consider the eyes for the commander as well as messenger. Without scouts commanders cannot make wise decision.
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:
Not self hate......
But i must admit...mine self confidence is not in an ideal state right now.
just a plain hard look at one's ability versus the job scope that one needs to undertake...
A reece load is almost the same as a commando's back pack........
i keep praying that i would not need to route march again....ah...those marches......24km was one hell of a test of endurance for me....towards the end i was giving mineself the timming left right left right left right and forcing mine legs to follow the timming...it helps..but we all know that our bag pack is at most 15-17kg during our 24km march...now as a reece its 30...or more......how to do it??.....i simply dun know.......
obviously you never heard the 2nd generation hahaha motar team.. is not the 81mm is the 120mm isreali motar system....
Imagine, field pack infront (est 20+kg) with the motar tube behind (est 75kg) and go for route march.............
and as long you are in the army route marches is part of the package.. it can be fun with the correct attitude... and last time infantry before ord need to complete their 72km march.. so imagine before the actual 72km, how many training march need to do.....recce is fun comparing to normal infantry
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:Mine posting was originally not a scout reece...but an armoured Inf trooper.....
mine sergeant keep talking about clearances and stuffs.......And i did not perform very well for field camp...its one of the lowest point in mine Bmt..now needing to out field again...really forces me to confront mine weakness
i would prefer to be a recce then an AI...
I feel sorry for TS, cos I can understand how you feel. I detest army life too. BMT was still ok, but when I was posted to SISPEC for that 10 weeks, it was the lowest point in my life. I am fairly fit, but I lack endurance. Ya, 24km road marching was terrible. I was dragging my feet to the finishing line, and my legs felt like a pair of toothpicks, going to break anytime...and the blisters on foot and pelvic...Not forgetting the overnight trench digging which is so dirty and sticky, and lastly is the week stay in Tekong. After the hard trining, the last drill was the evacuation where we must carry the heavy guy on the stretcher and run for the ferry. All these plus those confinements....terrible period.
After that I was posted to SADA (Air Defence) to train in RBS70. Training was not as tough as in SISPEC, but the load is very heavy too. Now I already ROD and these are my memories.
Bear with it and go through it! You are a man, and we must not be wimps! Chiong ah!
Originally posted by "newbie":obviously you never heard the 2nd generation hahaha motar team.. is not the 81mm is the 120mm isreali motar system....
Imagine, field pack infront (est 20+kg) with the motar tube behind (est 75kg) and go for route march.............
and as long you are in the army route marches is part of the package.. it can be fun with the correct attitude... and last time infantry before ord need to complete their 72km march.. so imagine before the actual 72km, how many training march need to do.....recce is fun comparing to normal infantry
Are 120mm nowadays only towed or M113? Pushing the towed one on a flat road already a killer, imagine carrying a tube or base plate.
Is this you without your field pack?
[IMG]http://miscpix.com/tw78h[/IMG]
Originally posted by alize:Are 120mm nowadays only towed or M113? Pushing the towed one on a flat road already a killer, imagine carrying a tube or base plate.
Is this you without your field pack?
[IMG]http://miscpix.com/tw78h[/IMG]
i not so old la... I am with SP, but everyone need to learn and experience man packing it as they say.. is M113 break down... the mission still must carry-on. so everyone of us must be able to man pack it also.... those that dont carry the system, carry 3 ammo each.. each ammo weigh 12~15kg.
We also need to cross train the towed type also... the tube is to be thrown to action the system... I remember my time, the actual towed unit 60% down graded and the whole unit regroup with other units.
Where to put the 3 paper tubes?
Originally posted by alize:Where to put the 3 paper tubes?
what paper tube?
I think the 120mm round comes in a paper tube, something like this?
Originally posted by alize:I think the 120mm round comes in a paper tube, something like this?
there is a back pack board to strap 3 cannister to it.
Originally posted by "newbie":
there is a back pack board to strap 3 cannister to it.
Oh, like those in the GMPG section.
Recce as a whole is quite fun since its a specialised field. Your platoon should have quite a fair bit of autonomy esp if the CO is not well-versed in recce ops and your S2 has little or no recce background.
You get to learn things (though pretty much useless in outside world) that make you seem pretty cool (try rattling off those cool stuff at the bar when with your rifleman friends)
Ops wise may seem tough, being the first in (and usually last out) but look at it this way. You are given a set time to make your way to a point, after which you hardly move around much anymore (unless you got contacted, then hong gan liao...). While the rest of the Battalion charge the hill, you're "relaxing" in one corner waiting for ex to end. You get to learn things (though pretty much useless in outside world) that make you seem pretty cool (try rattling off those cool stuff at the bar when with your rifleman friends).
Every vocation will have their own siong times or downright bored periods. How you make use of that time determines on how you'll look back on your NS life.
Not I say what hor, but having an easy time because superiors don't know their stuff is very heng. Often the opposite will happen.
Originally posted by alize:I guess you are not mounted recce.
Exactly. Can even get to know some babes.
i think i am a mounted recce! ......had been asigned to ride...while some others walk..and some ride in the bronco
i suppose riding bike during mission equates to being "mounted" ?
like a dragoon!