SINGAPORE: From
April, the allowance for all servicemen in the Singapore Armed Forces,
Singapore Police Force and Singapore Civil Defence Force will be
increased by S$60 across all ranks.
The allowance was last reviewed in 2009, when it was increased by S$20.
With the latest change, a recruit will receive a monthly rank allowance of S$480, up from the current S$420.
In
Parliament on Tuesday, MP Ong Teng Koon had called on the Ministry of
Defence to better recognise the contributions of NS men.
Mr Ong
said: "The SAF owes much of its success to the conscript of young men
from the age of 18, and regular reservist call-ups, throughout their
adult lives.
"However, our modern lifestyle has necessitated the
need for our servicemen sacrifice a meaningful part of their adulthood
often find themselves two years late to the party, when they compete for
universities or on the job market globally."
After factoring in
combat allowances, which can range from S$100 to S$300, a typical NSF
enlistee who is a rifleman (LCP) in an Infantry Battalion will receive
S$650 per month in allowances.
A typical NSF officer holding the rank of second lieutenant (2LT) will receive S$1, 150 per month.
Minister
of State Lawrence Wong said the raise "goes one step further in
signalling our acknowledgment of our servicemen's commitment and
service", noting that the government has other recognition schemes in
place.
They include the National Service Recognition Award (NSRA) to recognise national servicemen through their training cycle.
The ministry is also looking at further ways to extend professional development opportunities to regular servicemen.
For
example, the Singapore Armed Forces has joined hands with Nanyang
Polytechnic to introduce a Certificate in Business Management programme
for Warrant Officers, Specialists and Military Experts.
This is a
bridging programme that provides these officers with a foundation in
the study of business management and equip them with skills such as
communications, computing, basic accounting and marketing.
Upon
successful completion of the certificate programme, servicemen would
qualify for direct entry into the Diploma in Business Management.
In Parliament, several members of the House including Non-Constituency MP Lina Chiam, asked for a review of the duration of NS.
"My
main reason for advocating the shortening of NS is that since the
government has welcomed such a large number of foreigners into our
workforce in the past decade, Singaporean males urgently need to close
the gap as to when they start their working life," said Mrs Chiam.
In 2004, the duration of conscription was cut, from two and a half years to two years.
In
2006, the duration of Operationally Ready NS - where NSmen were
required to serve reservist training - was shortened from 13 years to 10
years.
These changes, said Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen, were
made in view of the transformation to a 3rd Generation armed forces, and
the increasing adoption of technology.
The reduction in NS duration also corresponded with the surge in NS intake from 2006 to 2015.
But Dr Ng noted that from 2016, the cohort size will fall.
Hence, the duration of training will remain at the current periods till further review.
"Our NSmen are not the second line of defence," said Dr Ng.
"They
don't go behind somebody. When there's a need, they are the first
responders to protect Singapore when our survival is threatened. So in
that eventuality, we have to have sufficient numbers, we need to train
them, we need adequate time to train and prepare them for their role
effectively."
Fuck yeah
Great news to start my day!
Singapore Armed Forces has joined hands with
Nanyang Polytechnic to introduce a Certificate in Business
Management programme for Warrant Officers, Specialists and Military
Experts.
Upon successful completion of the certificate programme, servicemen
would qualify for direct entry into the Diploma in Business
Management.
Meritocracy?
If they are so qualified, they should go in on their own merit. Free ride to Diploma just for doing a Certificate? Pity the students who have to form a group with them.
The diploma... lol.. Has to be by merit.
Anyway, as far as I know, that $20 was because they made everyone to buy insurance...
More tax relief for ACTIVE servicemen please.
Originally posted by alize:Singapore Armed Forces has joined hands with Nanyang Polytechnic to introduce a Certificate in Business Management programme for Warrant Officers, Specialists and Military Experts.
Upon successful completion of the certificate programme, servicemen would qualify for direct entry into the Diploma in Business Management.Meritocracy?
If they are so qualified, they should go in on their own merit. Free ride to Diploma just for doing a Certificate? Pity the students who have to form a group with them.
actually quite fair lah. not say the diploma will get them payrise or anything.
Most people nowadays sign on with diploma alr, so having additional diploma is just for self-improvement only.
And as for O level holders, very few now. As Wosec have to work for a couple of year, to attain the minimum equivalent of SSG, before they can go for course. by then, their pay is also beyond the diploma payscale alr.
$480 p/m ??????
alamak , lower than bangala?
Now you want to compare serving the nation to bangla.
Originally posted by ditzy:Now you want to compare serving the nation to bangla.
serve wat country?
no big money cannot find ppl maybe million $$$ salary sure can find
Recall back in 2006, SAF had an agreement with NYP to accept regulars going back to school.
The admission was not automatic. Now embarrassingly few of them can make it in, they arrange for them to do Certificate as a free ride to Diploma.
Originally posted by lce:$480 p/m ??????
alamak , lower than bangala?
when I was a CPL my pay was only $275/month.. and we eat in camp mess.. the rice is counted by how many lump of rice uou want not scoop.... and PT lesson end time is depend on how many guys faint get fainted... so what to complain now a days?
Originally posted by "newbie":
when I was a CPL my pay was only $275/month.. and we eat in camp mess.. the rice is counted by how many lump of rice uou want not scoop.... and PT lesson end time is depend on how many guys faint get fainted... so what to complain now a days?
YOUR TIME?????
HDB was $50,000 now $500,000
Serve And F*ck off
$60 or $600, you'll see complained not enough. To be fair, i think it's reasonable amount.
You are given 4 meals a day, uniform etc all got credit.....compare to bangala? they worked longer and their job is worst then most of the NSF. But I think, SAF should neg for free transport like bus and mrt.