The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) is looking at tweaking the Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT) and could scrap the standing broad jump.
Changes which also include introducing push-ups as a test criterion and increasing the distance of the run from 2.4km to 3.2km, could kick in as early as April next year.
The IPPT, which was introduced in 1979, was last revised in 1982.
The current IPPT is made up of five test items: sit-up, standing broad jump, chin-up, 4 x 10m shuttle run and the 2.4 km run.
Though the SAF has declined to confirm the changes, only saying that it “constantly reviews its training system to stay relevant”, many servicemen would welcome the removal of the standing broad jump, the single most-failed station in the IPPT.
About 116,000 people take the IPPT every year and while the Ministry of Defence did not reveal pass rates, it was reported in 2011 that more than 50 per cent of them pass their test yearly.
Servicemen who fail their IPPT must attend remedial training of 20 physical-training sessions over three months.
Secrets to Pass IPPT: http://lifestyle.www.ns.sg/features/fitnessxchange
FitnessXchange has all the information you need to excel in your daily exercise regimes and IPPT/NAPFA. Get tips from the training guides to boost any aspect that you may be weak in and keep your BMI in check. You can also look up the timetables of FCC and SAFRA gyms if you plan to start an exercise routine. Step up on that healthy lifestyle with FitnessXchange!
Forum Letter Replies
MINDEF's Response to Feedback on IPPT
We thank Mr Keith Wee, Mr Yeo Yujin, Mr Elgar Lee, Dr Yik Keng Yeong
and Mr Lee Kek Chin for their feedback in their forum letters "Review
system for NSmen who fail IPPT" (dated 9 September 2013), "Let's not
make life even more difficult for NSmen", "Review incentives for passing
IPPT", "Don't take soft options when going gets tough" (all three dated
14 September 2013) and "Incentive to pass IPPT: Good health" (dated 17
September 2013) respectively.
The Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) recognises that our Operationally Ready
National Servicemen (NSmen) have to balance the demands of work, family
and National Service duties. MINDEF and the Singapore Armed Forces
(SAF) are therefore committed to helping NSmen train for and achieve
their required fitness standards.
The Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT) serves as a baseline
measure of physical fitness. It comprises various stations designed to
measure different components of physical fitness. Appropriate standards
are set according to gender and age of our servicemen.
To help NSmen prepare for the IPPT, the SAF has implemented the enhanced
IPPT Preparatory Training (IPT), a voluntary programme designed to
improve fitness levels by setting progressive Personal Performance
Targets (PPTs). NSmen who achieve their PPTs within the first nine
months from the start of their IPPT window will not have to attend
Remedial Training (RT), even if they fail to meet the IPPT standards.
The SAF has set up four Fitness Conditioning Centres, which serve as
one-stop centres for fitness testing and training for NSmen, in Khatib,
Maju, Bedok and Kranji. We have also enhanced over 100 fitness corners
with IPPT training facilities across Singapore as part of the
IPPT-in-your-community initiative, which NSmen can make use of to train
at their own convenience.
It is the duty of our NSmen to meet their annual IPPT requirement as
their physical fitness is critical to the operational readiness of the
SAF. For NSmen who have attained good results in their IPPT, we
recognise their efforts by giving a small monetary sum.
We are encouraged by Dr Yik's support for the IPPT system and his
comment that standards should not be lowered for the sake of
convenience. We also welcome Mr Lee's view that achieving a healthy body
is an incentive in itself to perform well in the IPPT. Once again, we
thank the various NSmen for their feedback. The SAF seeks to continue
improving our fitness training system as well as regularly reviews our
IPT and RT programmes to ensure their efficiency and effectiveness.
COL Ng Ying Thong
ACGS (Training)
Singapore Armed Forces
MINDEF's reply was published as "Help for NSmen to prepare for IPPT", The Straits Times, 19 Sep 13
FitnessXchange has all the information you need to excel in your daily exercise regimes and IPPT/NAPFA. Get tips from the training guides to boost any aspect that you may be weak in and keep your BMI in check. You can also look up the timetables of FCC and SAFRA gyms if you plan to start an exercise routine. Step up on that healthy lifestyle with FitnessXchange!
Every soldier, airman and sailor may have to undergo a new physical fitness test from next year.
The Singapore Armed Forces is looking to change the Individual Physical Proficiency Test, or IPPT, for the first time since 1982.
Key changes are expected to include the scrapping of the standing broad jump station and adding push-ups as a testing criterion, The Straits Times has learnt.
Servicemen will also have to run 3.2km instead of the current 2.4km to test endurance over longer distances.
Earlier changes
1967: National service begins. Physical fitness test includes running 4.8km in 30 min, and completing 9.6km in 70 min while wearing the skeletal battle order.
1979: Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT) introduced for all full-time national servicemen and regulars. Test - in army t-shirt, slacks and boots - includes push-ups, sit-ups, chin-ups, half-knee bends and the 2.4km run.
1981: Knee-bends are excluded.
1982: IPPT now made up of sit-ups, chin-ups, shuttle run, standing broad jump and the 2.4km run. Soldiers now wear singlet, shorts and running shoes.
By Sia Ling Xin | Yahoo Newsroom | 23/10/2013
The Singapore Armed Forces plans to change to the Individual Physical
Proficiency Test (IPPT) and set up a new volunteer military corps,
according to a report by The Straits Times.
Come
next April, the standing broad jump requirement is expected to be
replaced with a push-ups component. The endurance run distance will be
set at 3.2km, up from the current 2.4km.
This is the first time the IPPT, which is taken by about 166,000 people yearly, will be changed since 1982.
A new volunteer corps targets women and permanent residents in their 30s and 40s will also be set up, according to Today.
Those
who join the volunteer corps will also go through combat training, put
on uniforms, and be subjected to call-up every year. There will also be
support and logistics roles for those who are medically unfit.
Defence
Minister Ng Eng Hen commented that women and PRs can also play
“meaningful military roles”, as SAF needs “different subsets apart from
just sheer combat power”.
Reactions on Twitter were mixed, with some celebrating changes and others bemoaning them.
standing broad jump should long ago be stike off.
why men need to jump so high? or far?
lol~
so u can pounce on enemy loh
push-ups and pull-ups too shiong rite?
Alamak, my last ippt next year leh, last ict in April then MR Loh. Damn, my window opens January. Sekali, need to run 3.2 in 15min, still die.
aiya sian.. need to slow jog 2 more rounds
i donch understand why SBJ is the most-failed event.
Because most guys don't understand it's more technique driven, than a raw burst of strength. It's more a coordination of arms and legs at take off, and most guys fail at that, iincluding me, until I knew how to correct it.
Some guys suck at movement coordination, I admit I am.
I often used the leg press equipment in the gymnasium to train for my NS Non-ICT IPPT and manage to achieve at least a pass if not better.
I wonder is it let of the proper training on the use of these 'SBJ' equipments that resulted in our NSmen failing to make the grade to be free from RT because it pretty seem at this stage that the 3.2km run and the push-up is like double the efforts discharge from our arm strength and endurance. Hmm..