possible. tts where technology comes in. but in any case not having tasted hardship does not preclude one from being tough and fit and resilient.Originally posted by octega:My 2 cents worth:-
I think this is going to be the trend in the future, with the standard of education rising. More pen holders will be expected.
Don't get me wrong, I am not saying pen holders will turn out to be sissy but as our next generation does not taste hardship before and grew up in the world where their parents take care of everything. I just expect more and more this kind people who just can't take NS as a whole.
Well...just my thought.
1. goggles bring urself. swim in any style.Originally posted by Peace84:hey
i am about to be enlisted, Aug 2004, BMTC, PES A
1 for the swimming test in BMT,
with goggles?
can swim in free style?
2 for ptp, what is the daily life in there like?
can book out?
heard that there is a test in week4, once i pass that, i dun have to go back for the remaining of PTP and get back only for BMT?
thanks ...
still have alot of burning questions
hope that they will be able t be answered
thanks in advance ....
wats wrong wif breast stroke?Originally posted by Peace84:but the mention of breast stroke?
... and well ... i know it sounds pretty dumb if i were to ask this in you all's perspective, but as a nsf to be, guess i is pretty normal to ask this .. haha
1. PTP, what must i bring in on the day of enlistment? beside those mentioned in th enlistment letter? those that are considered as essentials, but not mentioned?.
2. what kind of bags is appropriate?
thank you
breat stroke? nothing ah. just that i dont know how to swim that. only know free styleOriginally posted by wuming78:wats wrong wif breast stroke?
anyway u can bring watever is on the list, and wat i haf mentioned in this thread too. anyway for ptp, there wont be outfield, so no need gan jiong lah.
any kind of bags is appropriate. or wat fanciful bag do you intend to bring?
hm. breast stroke is easier than front crawl (front style is not a style btw - it only means any style)Originally posted by Peace84:breat stroke? nothing ah. just that i dont know how to swim that. only know free style
just wondering if i should buy a duffel bag (dont knwo if it is the correct name for it) .
the only son (not the only child) ma, that is why kan jiong abit ..
as mentioned there is no need to buy a special bag for it lah. during bmt u will bk out in full pack anyway. as long as the bag has reasonable capacity, would be ok. jus to let u noe, they are installing WHEELS (yes wheels) on the duffel bags to be issued to recruits (oh gawd...). so mabbe u can use the duffel bag wherever u go liao instead of getting a cv bag.Originally posted by Peace84:i dunno wat is it know as .. guess is not duffel ba ..
it like those luggage bag kind .. where normally people will brinig for competition .....
juz owndering should it be that .. haha ..
i not single child, i am sigle son ..
true, mum is more worried that i am
yes wheels... sigh...Originally posted by Peace84:wheels?
haha ...
that is sth weird ...
sad to say, dun have any reasonable size kinds ... haha ...
backpack?
you know why wheels? bcoz, a few years ago, school bag for kids also start to have it ma .. so SAF follow .. haha .. lame .. hehe ...Originally posted by wuming78:yes wheels... sigh...
those sling sports bags lor - very common mah. not sure if backpacks has sufficient capacity.
Eh...pls note that breast stroke is da 'official' style which SAF recognises, for Swimming tests and the like. This is to prepare for water ops training (for those who heard/went for it, u know what i mean....)Originally posted by wuming78:hm. breast stroke is easier than front crawl (front style is not a style btw - it only means any style)
there is no need to buy a duffel bag - they are going to issue it to you. it wont be wise carrying a duffel bag there when they are expecting u to carry a civilian bag. some of the specs there cannot stand ppl who are too siao on or who 'act smart', no matter how good ur intentions are.
and there is no need to be ganjiong cos u r the only son! in fact ur parents should be more ganjiong than u! anyway single childs are common nowadaes. they are not going to treat u different cos of tt.
Originally posted by deathscythe99:yeap, breast stroke is the one to be used in water ops in later part of the ns due to minimum noise and splash created. Most water crossing are done after dark with minimum sound, you wouldnt want to alert the enemies with your freestyle swimming right?
Eh...pls note that breast stroke is da [b]'official' style which SAF recognises, for Swimming tests and the like. This is to prepare for water ops training (for those who heard/went for it, u know what i mean....)[/b]
wat is this starwax brand? jus another brand of shoe polish, or some wonder gel that one can jus apply and need not "kiwi"?Originally posted by 01024G:[quote]Originally posted by Ponders:
Now no more Kiwi polish already, now its Starwax brand. haah. looks more like hair gel tin.
[quote]
Can bring own Kiwi? Which one is better, kiwi or the starwax brand?
got easier life if i know you here?Originally posted by Ponders:Peace84, which school you posted to? just to let you know there are few instructors here including myself. hehe. watch out for me in School 2.
the spectacles need not be black. but there is no point in bringing too expensive ones there - for obvious reasons. so its better to prescribe a pair of cheap plastic ones.Originally posted by Peace84:and ya ... do we need to get the black spectatcles?
thank you ...