Does the 1st list applies for PTP too? Need to help my bf prepare his bag...thksOriginally posted by wuming78:ok. now another new set: useful things to bring when u enlist.
1. ziploc bags of various sizes*
2. plastic bags*
3. extra handfone batteries*
4. sano-plast (dunno how to spell; basically some cream or oil for muscle aches!)
5. small torch (for use after lights off)*
6. some washing powder (for clothes washing)
7. clothes hanger (no need alot since they will probably want to standardise eventually)*
8. pegs (as many as possible)*
9. lock - usually not number locks as they will require you to pass one set of keys to your buddy
10. slippers*
11. tupperware for food like biscuits, etc.
12. black tape*
13. scissors/ cutter
14. pencil/pen*
15. clear tape
16. perm marker - for writing ur name / 4D number on items
17. snake powder - that is what they would recommend usually; you will get saf powder too.
18. extra batteries for your receiver, torch, etc
19. cloth for cleaning
20. nail cutter*
21. rubber bands (normal and those black thick ones)
22. masking tape
23. coins (for vending machine, payfones)*
24. orange cloth (you will need to get eventually, but you can get it inside too)
25. underwear (more! disposables are usually not recommended)*
26. own clothes for sleeping if u need
27. black string (for various purposes like securing items, tying your ID tag)*
28. small mirror (you can get inside too; for applying camo)
alot of essential outfield items you will pick up and learn after going outfield a few times. for me, my SBO always have these items
1. black rubber bands, big and small*
2. black tape*
3. spare batteries for torchlight*
4. ziploc
5. pen/pencil
6. writing material - the small black book - put inside ziploc*
7. small mirror with camo*
8. 2 x insect repellent tubes*
9. spare black string
10. jackknife*
11. more than one torchlight
12. half gloves
13. mess mug* in plastic bag
14. ear plug and whistle inside whistle pouch*
15. a roll of the cord (... forgot wat its called. anyone?)*
16. compass
17. dummy grenade and magazine
of course during bmt you wont have to have and you are likely not allowed to have certain things u want to get yourself (e.g. own torchlight, compass). this just serves as a guide.
and a standard rule of thumb: always secure all your items! i secure things like the torchlight and even jackknife to my sbo.
in both lists the * items are more important.
not all - the first 28 would be useful for both PTP and BMT though. as mentioned in a PTP thread, PTP is about physical training and adaptation to military life - discipline, lessons, etc. there is no field training involved.Originally posted by shirurinu:Does the 1st list applies for PTP too? Need to help my bf prepare his bag...thks![]()
he cannot do it himself?Originally posted by shirurinu:Does the 1st list applies for PTP too? Need to help my bf prepare his bag...thks![]()
the only way to train for route march is to go for them.Originally posted by 01024G:Is there anyway to train for route march? I like walking but I don't think I can walk long distances with heavy weight on my back because my back, especially my lower back, get tired easily if I carry too heavy and my neck will feel pain.
anyone who had experience with pes BP BMT?Originally posted by sans-culotte:Going into bmtc sch 1 pes bp, 1.66m, 87kg, heard that training in pes bp require you to reduce 1-2kg per week?? is it true?..alamak 16 wks X 1.5kg(average) = 24kg.
87-24=63kg...alamak just nice only...
1-2kg per week, is it possible?? How tough the training will be ..thks alot in advance.
Yep, squash 2 specs during morning 5BX and PT lesson. First I saw my specs flew off then followed by crack sound, I was like Jialat liao cause no spare backup. That day training "mong mong"Originally posted by wuming78:the spectacles need not be black. but there is no point in bringing too expensive ones there - for obvious reasons. so its better to prescribe a pair of cheap plastic ones.
oh yes. those are quite important to secure ur specs to ur ears.Originally posted by octega:My advice, if you got spare specs, also bring it along. Buy those specs hangers (or whatever you called them) to secure the specs so that they don't fly off during your training.
yes its possible. in the past recruits have been allowed to book out for graduation.Originally posted by sky_dew:if i have graduation the next day.. can i tell my PS or officer for me to book out? i called my school they say they have wrote into mindef ... and will be able to come out ... but just wan to double comfirm.
i enlist on 17 but graduation on the 18 ? can ? thanks
happens to me too.. enlist on 18 and grad on 19th.. asked my friend bout it.. he says gotta ask de CO.. hes de OC dere.. so i guess if its not up to him.. den muz ask de CO bah... but from my view.. its like kinda rush.. asked my sch sict director bout it.. she says can write to cmpb lei.. to pospone the enlistment date.. but i'm too lazy to do it.. hope it helps u.. =)Originally posted by sky_dew:if i have graduation the next day.. can i tell my PS or officer for me to book out? i called my school they say they have wrote into mindef ... and will be able to come out ... but just wan to double comfirm.
i enlist on 17 but graduation on the 18 ? can ? thanks
dont think its possible to postpone the enlistment date - its not just about you guys who are graduating you know?Originally posted by keOnni:happens to me too.. enlist on 18 and grad on 19th.. asked my friend bout it.. he says gotta ask de CO.. hes de OC dere.. so i guess if its not up to him.. den muz ask de CO bah... but from my view.. its like kinda rush.. asked my sch sict director bout it.. she says can write to cmpb lei.. to pospone the enlistment date.. but i'm too lazy to do it.. hope it helps u.. =)
so is comfirm i can book out lah ?Originally posted by wuming78:dont think its possible to postpone the enlistment date - its not just about you guys who are graduating you know?
its more possible for them to give you a half day off to attend the graduation.
well i cant guarantee you. i am not your pc/ps/oc you know?Originally posted by sky_dew:so is comfirm i can book out lah ?
can bring hp in. and yes, cannot bring camera fones in. anyway dont bring too expensive ones in also better.Originally posted by monkeybusiness:Can bring hp in?
Is it that only phones without the camera function can be brought into camp?
ermm... one question...Originally posted by wuming78:oh yes. those are quite important to secure ur specs to ur ears.
so no oakley frames!
i think this is really up to you. as long as your using contacts do not cause inconveniences, does not affect you when you are training, does not cause you to have special requirements, i don't think they will stop you. they probably won't even know you are wearing contacts.Originally posted by tranquilX:ermm... one question...
are we allowed to use contact lens ?
or its a must to use specs ???
agree with 01024GOriginally posted by 01024G:Wearing specs would be more convenient. No need to wash it everday and when it drop out also much more easier to find.
one year has pasted...Originally posted by Taufiq:27th August![]()