beri the gd FAQOriginally posted by LoVeMeLoVeMenOt:wow so many things ahhhhhh sure can help those who 1 2 enlist liao lor![]()
heh.. yah..i added alot of "extra" things in there. mostly things that will eventually come in handy, but some essentials that people usually forget too. those * i believe if i dun rem wrongly are the more essential ones.Originally posted by saintboy:Wow thanx for the info. I believe you really put alot of "extra" stuff inside your list to bring for enlistment? I dont' think the list my friends gave me got so many items!
its 50 m (one length) in breast stroke.Originally posted by bluez_sky:i got a qns: in order to pass de swimming test for bmt, how many metres muz i swim? 1 length of de pool is 50m rite?
ur miss out the COS (Chief Of Staff)Originally posted by wuming78:here we will try to answer any questions those who are going to enlist into ns have about ns and related stuff!
so please feel free to post your queries here! anyone is welcomed to answer others' questions too.
lemme start here by providing some basic info:
CDF: chief defence force: MG Ng Yat Chung
CSM: Company Sergeant Major: usually staff sergeant or 2WO (2nd Warrant Officer): the one in charged of discipline and stuff in a company
PS: Platoon Sergeant: the CSM equivalent of a platoon
PC: Platoon Commander: the officer in charge of a platoon
OC: Officer Commanding: the officer in charge of a company.
Hence we have the OC commanding the company, aided by the CSM; PC commanding the platoon, aided by the PS. Each section is led by the Section Commander (usually 3SG)
Ranks:
PTE(nothing), LCP(1 stripe), CPL(2 stripes), 3SG(3 stripes), 2SG(3 stripes + a roof), 1SG(3 stripes + 2 layers of roof), SSG(as in 2SG but with a "crab" inside), MSG(as in SSG but with 3 layers of roof), 2WO(on the epaulet, 1 stripe with a crab), 1WO(as in 2WO but with 2 stripes), MWO(as in 2WO but 3 stripes), SWO(as in 2WO but 4 stripes) (this is for the NCOs or specialists)
2LT(on the epaulet, 1 bar), LTA(2 bar), CPT(3 bar), MAJ(1 crab), LTC(2 crab), COL(3 crab), BG(1 star), MG(2 star), LG(3 star) (this is for the officers)
all those going to BMTC take note: the structure of BMTC is such that the number of persons in a section, number of sections in a platoon and number of platoons in a company are all different from stated above, but BMTC still uses all the terms above. that is cos its a training school and hence there are constraints in following the standard structure strictly.
hope this is useful.
hope to get some questions/comments!![]()
CSMOriginally posted by bluez_sky:LCP stands for Low Class Privatethere's another vulgar form
......2LT stands for 2 Left-Turn
oops i better stop or else get mobbed by pple of these ranks when i go inside.
uncle choo? whos tt?Originally posted by greyskymorning:ur miss out the COS (Chief Of Staff)
Chief oF Army, Navy & Aif Force
PFC & CFC
Tot e CDF is uncle choo, black merz...car plate no 10. with 2 pretty young asst![]()
Originally posted by Taufiq:i got some FAQs of my one.. help me k?
1. If there is a war (touch wood,touch metal, touch plastic), are those undergoing NS then have to fight at the war?
hm.. i would say they would be among the last to be called up, cos they probably are not that well trained yet. they will call up the reservists first.
2. Are there ghost sightings at tekong?![]()
this issue is contentious...anyway some say yes, some say no. it depends on the person i guess
3. What are u going to do if during 5bx, u broke a bone or sprain ur ankle or something?
y specifically during 5bx leh? report sick lor. no big deal?
4. After BMT, when are you likely to know ur vocation?
if u r going to BMTC for BMT, u will know where u go one wk after ur POP. if u r mono-intake, u will be stuck in the service e.g. infantry or guards, that u had ur BMT, but different vocation, and will prob know also one wk after POP
5. Any ways to smoke there?
yes of cos. usually when u r on course u r limited to x number of smoking breaks a day, x usually = 3 for BMT. and u can only smoke at designated areas i.e. within the yellow boxes. outfield is diff story though.
SBO = skeletal battle order. it actually consists of the webbing (wich is wat ppl usu call SBO wrongly), your weapon, long 4 and helmet. so its an entire set.Originally posted by Taufiq:One more thing.. u all talk about SBO.. what the hell is SBO?
and if dunno how to swim, how?
yes u can, but they will collect from u and when u need to smoke u will get from them. u can wear anything u like, and yes bring ur things in a bag. dun bring too many things though..Originally posted by Taufiq:wahh thanks.. i am going MBT really soon..so i need to noe.. so when i am going on the day itself, can bring ciggies ah? i haven get letter yet.. but confirm liao.. anyway, wear what ah? and bring everything in a bag ah![]()
according to de enlistment letter, no bermudas & slippers or sandals allowed. we r to report in collar T-shirt or shirt wif long pants.Originally posted by wuming78:yes u can, but they will collect from u and when u need to smoke u will get from them. u can wear anything u like, and yes bring ur things in a bag. dun bring too many things though..
Originally posted by bluez_sky:oh isit? pardon me.. i never receive tt letter b4 so i dunno.. haha..
according to de enlistment letter, no bermudas & slippers or sandals allowed. we r to report in [b]collar T-shirt or shirt wif long pants.[/b]
wats webbing? full pack is de bag where we carry out when we bk out rite? izzit known as field pack or full pack?Originally posted by wuming78:SBO = skeletal battle order. it actually consists of the webbing (wich is wat ppl usu call SBO wrongly), your weapon, long 4 and helmet. so its an entire set.
FBO = full battle order = SBO + full pack.
dunno how to swim? they have swimming lessons there, not to worry. only thing is swimmers get not to attend swimming lessons - means they get free time during swimming lessons.![]()
webbing is the er.. thing u wear? u noe NDP? all the army guys who were on parade in their no. 4? the thing they were wearing is the webbing. meant for putting ur magazines and waterbottle and such. very "handy" and convenient, but not when u need to wear it and run SOC.Originally posted by bluez_sky:wats webbing? full pack is de bag where we carry out when we bk out rite? izzit known as field pack or full pack?
if u can, try to at least learn to swim at least 1 length of breaststroke bef going in.....cos it's beri tiring when pple who can swim can rest for 1.5hrs while u gotta learn to swim. moreover, most of de time will kena knock it down by PTIs instead of learning how to swim. n if there r some bastards in ur platoon who made any remarks bout de PTIs during feedback, they will take revenge n haf more time to tekan u during de swimming lessons.
oh yes.. i forgot. its called field pack. and yes its the bag u carry when u book out. so u haf to remember to keep it clean all the time.Originally posted by bluez_sky:wats webbing? full pack is de bag where we carry out when we bk out rite? izzit known as field pack or full pack?
if u can, try to at least learn to swim at least 1 length of breaststroke bef going in.....cos it's beri tiring when pple who can swim can rest for 1.5hrs while u gotta learn to swim. moreover, most of de time will kena knock it down by PTIs instead of learning how to swim. n if there r some bastards in ur platoon who made any remarks bout de PTIs during feedback, they will take revenge n haf more time to tekan u during de swimming lessons.
ohh.....dats call webbing. will it shake bout during SOC?Originally posted by wuming78:webbing is the er.. thing u wear? u noe NDP? all the army guys who were on parade in their no. 4? the thing they were wearing is the webbing. meant for putting ur magazines and waterbottle and such. very "handy" and convenient, but not when u need to wear it and run SOC.
actualli im quite surprised.. i would imagine most youngsters nowadays should noe how to swim. anyway swimming one lap / 50 m in breaststroke realli is not difficult at all!
oh yes it can shake quite badly, especially for skinny ppl like me. tts where the bicycle hook comes in - to tighten it. else it can really be uncomfortable running with a jumping webbing.Originally posted by bluez_sky:ohh.....dats call webbing. will it shake bout during SOC?
perhaps all who dat come in here n haf yet to enlist r nerds...dats y dunno how to swimjuz kidding. from wat i heard from my fren, de failure rate of de swimming test is rather high in his company. bout 1 platoon failed....dats bout 25% of de company (in bmtc sch there r 4 platoons in 1 coy). n de lane at de side has de highest no of pple queueing during de test.
Uncle Choo is the ex ex CGS (Chief of General Staff) before they had CDFOriginally posted by wuming78:uncle choo? whos tt?
anyway long time no see. u like disappeared for quite some time. jus booked out?![]()