that should not be happening in the first place.Originally posted by jacobs:If a man have no heart to fight, having him around could just be a liabilty. Haha, i wonder what would you do if whole platoon abandon their duties...? Just crapping.
Well...., men have their own ammo too. In war there's no law, who has the guns, will have the power.Originally posted by 12qwaszx:i think if whole platoon don't want to fight, must try Roman style of punishment liao. Line them up in a row, pick at random and execute them. hahahaaha. juz joking... i don't think that will happen lah, maybe when your whole platoon is WH loh. hahaha![]()
never underestimate the underlying uncommon valour and courage men can display in testing times.Originally posted by jacobs:Well...., men have their own ammo too. In war there's no law, who has the guns, will have the power.
For me, when i see a section doing breaching in training, who really has the courage to do it, with gpmg and other weapons treating you directly?
Yup, true in every word.Originally posted by wuming78:never underestimate the underlying uncommon valour and courage men can display in testing times.
i noe its too overused but some of our people's reaction to sars can be said to be an example.
I agree too, and I think that I've seen that during my recent reservist training. Although it was just a wayang training session outfield, but with proper leadership displayed by the commander, even the slacker in my section are willing to display his garangness. So I guess, leadership is one of the critical motivational factor. No wonder it is placed so high up in the core values. heheheOriginally posted by wuming78:never underestimate the underlying uncommon valour and courage men can display in testing times.
i noe its too overused but some of our people's reaction to sars can be said to be an example.
of course the camaraderie amongst peers is also very important - ppl would die for their frens!Originally posted by 12qwaszx:I agree too, and I think that I've seen that during my recent reservist training. Although it was just a wayang training session outfield, but with proper leadership displayed by the commander, even the slacker in my section are willing to display his garangness. So I guess, leadership is one of the critical motivational factor. No wonder it is placed so high up in the core values. hehehe![]()
shud haf started a new threadOriginally posted by 12qwaszx:What is the single most siong experience you've ever had during NS?
For me, it would be the coy training during Ex Lancer. First day morning, debus at a foot of a mountain where there is sort of a small village, then proceed to climb up and down those bloody hills until you reached the sungei batu ah poi where you do river crossing. Suay suay after river crossing where the coy is deployed to stay for the night, rain came down just before sunset. Eat ration in the rain, no poncho and sleep through the rainy night in the mud on the ground. Second day, proceed on foot again towards objective. Reached back of the objective where we need to climb up one arga 60 - 70 degrees hill to the objective at the top and we had a couple of hours of firefight in the damn rain again. I forgot what's that hill name liao... something with the word Pasir in it i think. This hill is just behind the camp I think, because when we finished the exercise, we went back to the camp through It's back gates if I remember correctly. I didn't try Biang, but I guess Biang must be the shackest of them all...
I did not remember the details of the exercise liao, maybe it's 3 days coz' it's too long ago, but that's all I can recall now. Ex Cicada was not that bad after this shit..... Please share your experiences anyone. This is not to compare who is the siongest, but to share experiences...![]()
Originally posted by wuming78:i gather that this is the most popular response here! tts heartening to noe!![]()
heartening cos alot of us here said tt they will send their loved ones away to a safe place, and most imptly, stay in singapore to fight.Originally posted by boy in blues:did i hear 'heartening'? i thought that kind of internal strife should be every officer's nightmare. i'll stop at nothing to see with my own eyes, my loved ones in a safe land. that includes putting a bullet through my officer's skull if he stands in my way. anyway, off-topic a bit. i believe offence is the best defence. don't give enemy the luxury of attacking at own choosing while we defend behind our walls. launch swift and crippling counter-attacks at the core of their souls, mainly to relieve the stress on our home defence. i also don't believe in attacking civilians (which Japs are very fond of), it's immoral and exhaustive to precious resources.
isnt it the same price through saf?Originally posted by 12qwaszx:i think change subject lah, so serious leh, talk about war. hehehe
Which camp sells the cheapest Tiger beer huh? ITC sells $1.20 leh. any camp lower than that?
i oni noe my camp got v lousy facilities. hahaha...Originally posted by 12qwaszx:So which camp have the best facilities huh? When I go 3rd Guards camp for rappelling lessons, I see their camp very new and sui also leh. Next to east coast got seaview somemore. hahaha... got hockey field also if i remember correctly.
o cos NOT!Originally posted by 12qwaszx:OCS bunk got aircon or not? coz' got rumours said got aircon. can verify or not?
Originally posted by wuming78:o cos NOT!
but i heard the sch of logistics bunk got.![]()