BMT is at Tekong, unless you are a lady.Originally posted by Kel^83:Hi... I'm currently serving my NS with SCDF and I have thoughts of signing on with SAF as officer after I ord....
For the BMT will it be conducted at OCS or at Tekong?
Just curious.... What will happen if 1 OOC? Back to CV or they will have alternatives for you? Never heard of OOC for regulars b4... (Was informed by Wuming abt it)
jus wanna ask, if a lady sign on as officer and she ooc, the contract is void right? But females dont have NS liability. so does it mean she has to cough up the lump sum to pay back saf?Originally posted by wuming78:BMT is at Tekong, unless you are a lady.
if you sign on as an officer, but fail to get into OCS or is made OOC, your contract becomes void, and you will continue serving your NS liability.
hey, any1 knows how's the training for females like? for both bmt and ocs.. I'm thinking of signing on air force for wso (either c3 or uav). it'd be good if some1 can offer me advice on that too. Thanks!Originally posted by pandemonium:jus wanna ask, if a lady sign on as officer and she ooc, the contract is void right? But females dont have NS liability. so does it mean she has to cough up the lump sum to pay back saf?
wow! the sky's the limit. good choice. all the bests.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:hey, any1 knows how's the training for females like? for both bmt and ocs.. I'm thinking of signing on air force for wso (either c3 or uav). it'd be good if some1 can offer me advice on that too. Thanks!
What? No FBO??Originally posted by Ah Cek:wow! the sky's the limit. good choice. all the bests.
at my time (1995), ladies still need to wear no.4 and run in it, carry rifle, go for range, bla bla bla...but dun think need to carry full pack. SBO yes.
my cousin, a regular offr, used to say that as long as you don't "do anything wrong, a saf career isnt tt bad". I had worked in another govt ministry where knives are supposed to strike and land where you dont see. i supp office politics are everywhere? But i really dont know how bad it is in saf.Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:For those thinking of putting their John Hancocks onto the paper as an officer, do consider it carefully. Life as an officer is not the bed of roses Army Recruiters make it all out to be.
The basic route of advancement for regular officers for the first few years are as follows:
1-2 years Unit PC/Coy 2IC
3-4 years Instructor/Staff appointment
1-2 years OC
The prerequisites of being handed an OC tour depends on you having a confidence badge. Higher priority for those who hold confidence badges over those without.
At times, you tend to think you've actually signed on as a firefighter instead of an army officer. Officers have alot of fires to fight especially those posted to Bn HQ and higher. Office politics is the call of the day when you have other senior officers scrutinizing your actions and trying to pick on your faults just so they can put their subordinates (same ranking officers as you) over you during ranking period prior to promotions. Be prepared to deal with paperwork, lots of it, from training programes to incident reports. It'll get much worse when you get posted to staff appointments.
I went down that road before so dun say I never warned you.
ocs can watch wayang shows!Originally posted by wd1:hey all,
i am awaiting enlistment on apr 7 friday, and many of my friends have gone BMT in january batch this year and POPed already. some of them of course went OCS
we all think that OCS selection is very screwed up le. the people that got in OCS are either 2 kinds:
1. high-profile big-personality guys who were popular in JC. these guys are charismatic and have leadership qualities so of course deserve OCS.
2. quiet, useless super nerds who just mugged their way thru JC. they are the kind of schoolmates that you don't even know they exist until you see them in yearbook. no personality at all and not assertive, yet so many of them get into OCS... my friend and i last saturday were at jurong point and saw some new OCTs (many of them we know from school) booking out. so many of them were useless nerdy ppl we never thought can go OCS but there they are booking out of SAFTI!!!
and strangely there were no "average guys", the kind in between the popular guy and the super nerd.
last time i really wanted to be an officer, but i see the kind of ppl they take into OCS, don't feel like being officer already.
just a rant haha. anyone else have similar experience?
Heh, I would like to think I am quite an average guy. Guess the selection criteria will remain a mystery for years to comeOriginally posted by wd1:hey all,
i am awaiting enlistment on apr 7 friday, and many of my friends have gone BMT in january batch this year and POPed already. some of them of course went OCS
we all think that OCS selection is very screwed up le. the people that got in OCS are either 2 kinds:
1. high-profile big-personality guys who were popular in JC. these guys are charismatic and have leadership qualities so of course deserve OCS.
2. quiet, useless super nerds who just mugged their way thru JC. they are the kind of schoolmates that you don't even know they exist until you see them in yearbook. no personality at all and not assertive, yet so many of them get into OCS... my friend and i last saturday were at jurong point and saw some new OCTs (many of them we know from school) booking out. so many of them were useless nerdy ppl we never thought can go OCS but there they are booking out of SAFTI!!!
and strangely there were no "average guys", the kind in between the popular guy and the super nerd.
last time i really wanted to be an officer, but i see the kind of ppl they take into OCS, don't feel like being officer already.
just a rant haha. anyone else have similar experience?
If you lose enough weight and pass your IPPT, and do well for BMT pes Bp also can get into OCS.Originally posted by kenshin_himura:wondering if pes Bp status can oso get into OCS
if you wish to become an officer, you will have to do well during your BMT, both in terms of technical performance, and your relationship with your peers. they are looking for potential leaders you see.Originally posted by acwire_2125:HEllo everyone! I'm new here! I am currently studying in SP. I would like to know how can I get into OCS as i am very keen to become an officer? I really want to get into OCS and than after that take a scholarship to study in the U and sign on after that. CAn any one teach me the tips and tricks to get in?
I would also like to ask, wad is the route of OCS for Guardsmen?
Besides that, lets say I gradutae from OCS in the Army, can I switch over to the Airforce when I sign on and retain my rank?
u make everything sound so easy. do u have what it takes to be an officer 1st?Originally posted by acwire_2125:HEllo everyone! I'm new here! I am currently studying in SP. I would like to know how can I get into OCS as i am very keen to become an officer? I really want to get into OCS and than after that take a scholarship to study in the U and sign on after that. CAn any one teach me the tips and tricks to get in?
I would also like to ask, wad is the route of OCS for Guardsmen?
Besides that, lets say I gradutae from OCS in the Army, can I switch over to the Airforce when I sign on and retain my rank?
u get into OCS 1st then say liao. don't count chickens before they are hatched.Originally posted by acwire_2125:What I want to do is:
I am a NSF, Get selected to go OCS, Guards or RSAF. During NS, Sign on for the SAS and get my free university education . After Continue serving the country. If I get selected to go in GUARDS, can I then sign on as a RSAF Air Engineering Officer? I heard that recently, there is a change in policy, people must go through SISPEC first before going OCS, is it true?
you must be a xiao didi who is very enthu to be enlisted into elite units is it?Originally posted by acwire_2125:What I want to do is:
I am a NSF, Get selected to go OCS, Guards or RSAF. During NS, Sign on for the SAS and get my free university education . After Continue serving the country. If I get selected to go in GUARDS, can I then sign on as a RSAF Air Engineering Officer? I heard that recently, there is a change in policy, people must go through SISPEC first before going OCS, is it true?