hm.. firstly we are not the only asian country using western designed wpns and stuff. and we do haf alot of things tt went through local modifications e.g. m16s1.Originally posted by jacobs:Asians made to carry weapons or stuff designed to be carried by caucasians. Hot weather, heavy load, long distance, difficult terrain, over a long period of time, lack of adequate rest and low morale. Ex. p******, i'm coming.
Aiyah, i'm describing next week exercise la....Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. firstly we are not the only asian country using western designed wpns and stuff. and we do haf alot of things tt went through local modifications e.g. m16s1.
hot weather is lan lan. heavy load? dpd on vocation. long dist oso dpd on vocation. difficult terrain? spore good liao lor...
lack of rest and low morale.. ok.. tt dpd..
and wats ex p********?
anyway from wat u described u r inf/gds/cdo? one of those need to carry heavy things and walk one?
its like tt one lah.. chi de ku zhong ku, fang wei ren shang ren. once u r used to it in terms of mindset and fitness, it will not b tt bad.
oh. pegasus? u from 3?Originally posted by jacobs:Aiyah, i'm describing next week exercise la....![]()
Ya... shhhh, nothing to be proud of.Originally posted by wuming78:oh. pegasus? u from 3?
nothing to be proud of but nothing to be ashamed of oso mah. u r serving the nation, and going thru these siong ex in the process.Originally posted by jacobs:Ya... shhhh, nothing to be proud of.
Not ashame yet there's no honour and pride. The exercise is uncalled for and so does lots of previous exercises we've been through.Originally posted by wuming78:nothing to be proud of but nothing to be ashamed of oso mah. u r serving the nation, and going thru these siong ex in the process.![]()
oh well... exercises r definitely not the most comfortable way of spending ones time, esp if it lasts 4 daes.Originally posted by jacobs:Not ashame yet there's no honour and pride. The exercise is uncalled for and so does lots of previous exercises we've been through.
I posted my vocation and appointment before but it's ok. Sometimes i am the LAW or usually an M203 in the law position.Originally posted by wuming78:oh i forgot to add: read my siggy.![]()
ok. paiseh. forgive the old man and his fading memory.Originally posted by jacobs:I posted my vocation and appointment before but it's ok. Sometimes i am the LAW or usually an M203 in the law position.
My section is left with 4 persons. 1st Saw got posted to be div comd. runner, 1st m203 signed on ADF, 2nd LAW downgraded to storeman. I'm 2M203. By the way, i hope my CO read ur siggy too.
Don't be.Originally posted by wuming78:ok. paiseh. forgive the old man and his fading memory.![]()
i dun noe leh...got alot of sgt sorrie..Originally posted by 12qwaszx:Yeah, I went to the field engineer spec course at SOCE from feb 2000 - jun 2000. Alot of my compatriats got posted to 30SCE, but I was posted to Infantry by request... I rather walk with Infantry than managed all the stores in 30SCE!! hahahaa.... I hate stores.......
30SCE got 1 SSG call Staff Lim right? he is a real bastard... got posted to 30SCE after he finished his instructor tour with our batch.
frm wat u say a field pioneer in sce does diff things from one in an inf unit?Originally posted by nww16:i dun noe leh...got alot of sgt sorrie..i tot all specs after their training in soce go to 30 or 35?? can post to infantry meh... anyway i dun noe much abt infantry too but sometimes was attached to their support company for ex lor wah they relli walk n walk wan leh..
den we have to carry our stuff n walk wit them sia...damn siong lor
actually we field pionner also got march to our objectives lah...but onli like 3-5km we oso do movement n attack like infantry soldiers too but combat enginners r the least respected in army ...so bo bianzz lorxx
yup of field pionner in sce is supporting every unit, by building bridges clearing the area of mines, plant anti tank mines, build fort fortlication, etc etc pionners in other unit onli have basic knowledge of wat field pionner relli do they learn basic like plant mines, dig underground command post..etc etc field pionners r specialize in bridging demolition etc lor beri different lahOriginally posted by wuming78:frm wat u say a field pioneer in sce does diff things from one in an inf unit?
I met up with one of my safinco platoon mates recently. and we were talking about this forum. and he contributed his piece of 'story' to me. he told me that there was this first few field training in ulu sembawang where we were to learn the finer points of fire/movement, patrolling, etc. he had this staff sergent for an instructor and it seems that this bugger had a 'problem' with his section. In one of the training sessions, he made this fella's section leopard crawl up / belly roll up and down a rocky slope many, many times. the whole section were bleeding on elbows and knees and tummy, and the whole section reported sick the next day (by order of the medic-on-duty)! of course, there was a BOI but nothing seems to be done.Originally posted by wuming78:one wont see such things happen nowadays.![]()
Originally posted by vleelee:I met up with one of my safinco platoon mates recently. and we were talking about this forum. and he contributed his piece of 'story' to me. he told me that there was this first few field training in ulu sembawang where we were to learn the finer points of fire/movement, patrolling, etc. he had this staff sergent for an instructor and it seems that this bugger had a 'problem' with his section. In one of the training sessions, he made this fella's section leopard crawl up / belly roll up and down a rocky slope many, many times. the whole section were bleeding on elbows and knees and tummy, and the whole section reported sick the next day (by order of the medic-on-duty)! of course, there was a BOI but nothing seems to be done.
p.s. the store man had to kit exchange the whole section's no.4 and sbo. it was that bad !!
my response is as above.Originally posted by wuming78:one wont see such things happen nowadays.![]()
Surprisingly, Ex. pegasus was one of the slackest exercise due to the fact of fate. Except for the damn miles set and lim chu kang commando mosquitoes. 1st day, we reach conc area at 7+pm. Starts to dig our shellscrape. The soil is loose and i used a changkol. Slp... and do alert. 2nd day, move off to an airbase in the afternoon by tonner. Fieldpacks on the combat train. Left airbase for LCK at around 6+pm on chinook. My section was chosen to be the block force with ATGM. Slack... but the mosquitoes... My coils and my smoker buddy were useless against them( felt like popping a smoke grenade ). 3rd day, went back to link up with my company but was only able to find them after they did an attack. When we found them, they were doing another attack. As a reserve platoon, we did some combing up the knoll, then re-org = Zzzz. Move off for mandai at night for hasty defence. I didn't dig, just found one badly covered one. 4th day, did an attack but again i didn't engage any enemy. Afternoon RTU. I didn't fire any shots for the first time in many outfields.Originally posted by jacobs:Asians made to carry weapons or stuff designed to be carried by caucasians. Hot weather, heavy load, long distance, difficult terrain, over a long period of time, lack of adequate rest and low morale. Ex. p******, i'm coming.
miles set? was it working?Originally posted by jacobs:Surprisingly, Ex. pegasus was one of the slackest exercise due to the fact of fate. Except for the damn miles set and lim chu kang commando mosquitoes. 1st day, we reach conc area at 7+pm. Starts to dig our shellscrape. The soil is loose and i used a changkol. Slp... and do alert. 2nd day, move off to an airbase in the afternoon by tonner. Fieldpacks on the combat train. Left airbase for LCK at around 6+pm on chinook. My section was chosen to be the block force with ATGM. Slack... but the mosquitoes... My coils and my smoker buddy were useless against them( felt like popping a smoke grenade ). 3rd day, went back to link up with my company but was only able to find them after they did an attack. When we found them, they were doing another attack. As a reserve platoon, we did some combing up the knoll, then re-org = Zzzz. Move off for mandai at night for hasty defence. I didn't dig, just found one badly covered one. 4th day, did an attack but again i didn't engage any enemy. Afternoon RTU. I didn't fire any shots for the first time in many outfields.![]()
Miles set was carried for it's weight. Every platoon is issued 5 changkols. Some dug with ET stick and blade while some dug with changkols. Slp got la... here and there. But i weight 3-4kg less after the outfield. Outfield, the best slimming solution.Originally posted by wuming78:miles set? was it working?
dig shellscrape with changkol? wat happened to using ET stick and blade?
heng kanna blk force!
but a few daes no slp quite headache huh?![]()
in the end the worst thing abt outfield is the mosquito and sandfly bites huh?Originally posted by jacobs:Miles set was carried for it's weight. Every platoon is issued 5 changkols. Some dug with ET stick and blade while some dug with changkols. Slp got la... here and there. But i weight 3-4kg less after the outfield. Outfield, the best slimming solution.
yes.. nothing beats that! Crawling on unsuspected ants hole isn't a good experience either.Originally posted by wuming78:in the end the worst thing abt outfield is the mosquito and sandfly bites huh?![]()
i dug shellscrape wif changkol b4 oso, but tt one was bo bian. the grd was too hard! and we had to dig shellscrape AND fire trench on it! (oh btw its at rocky hill at tekong)Originally posted by 12qwaszx:so good got changkol to dig shellscape. hehee