If all Mankind are contented with what he has, there wouldn't be wars in this world.Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. think there r bound to be ppl who think ns is a complete and utter waste of time tt could be more well spent making money or doing own things.
jus hope tt this mindset will not affect ur performance. somedae, touchwood, wat we learnt tt we found to be absolutely useless may come to be paramount for our survival.
but too bad, mankind is bound by greed and violence always presents as an option. we are a bellicose species.Originally posted by fugue:If all Mankind are contented with what he has, there wouldn't be wars in this world.
"All of Mankind's troubles are brought upon by himself.
You sure you want to know?Originally posted by wuming78:mabbe u wanna elaborate on ur worldview?
ok.. i would really like to noe wat caused the change in ur perception, esp. when ns was a relatively short stint as compared to ur life. but this would not be the correct forum. perhaps u wanna talk more abt ur previous beliefs, wat caused the changes, and wat ur current beliefs are, in another forum, for discussion?Originally posted by lowem:You sure you want to know?
Anyway, it is a mix of idealism backed up with a strong dose of realism, cynicism and skepticism.
Before NS, it was more of idealism. Coming from a so-called "top school", I believed that people were inherently good, would work together towards a common goal, and generally will co-operate with each other. That's what we did, we studied and worked hard to get good results not only for ourselves, but which also counted towards the rankings of the class, and eventually the school.
During NS, I realised that such idealism was more of a lost cause out in the real world.
In the past year (2003), I have begun to figure out why.
The answers may be too frightening to share with anyone except thinking people who can accept the reality of the situation.
I now firmly believe that we are in the midst of a global decline in world civilization and that short of a miracle there is nothing to be done about it.
The part of me who remains an idealist hopes that there may be a way out, a soft landing.
The realist part disagrees.
Hahahaha, what naive thinking you had!Originally posted by lowem:I believed that people were inherently good, would work together towards a common goal, and generally will co-operate with each other...
I think I know what's he's talking about.Originally posted by wuming78:ok.. i would really like to noe wat caused the change in ur perception, esp. when ns was a relatively short stint as compared to ur life. but this would not be the correct forum. perhaps u wanna talk more abt ur previous beliefs, wat caused the changes, and wat ur current beliefs are, in another forum, for discussion?
think we shudnt dismiss it as naive. i was idealistic once b4. but o cos i still hold the hope for the best.Originally posted by fugue:Hahahaha, what naive thinking you had!
By logic, you should have known.
Even fairy tales tell us there are bad guys!!Originally posted by wuming78:think we shudnt dismiss it as naive. i was idealistic once b4. but o cos i still hold the hope for the best.
wow. a newbie in ns.Originally posted by pkchukiss:Even though it is just my third week into enlistment, I can feel myself changing. I used to be quite jumpy about everything, but now, I can even yawn while doing prowling during guard duty in the dead of the night.
Yeah, I think my balls have grown (maybe a bit too big, at any rate). On the flip side, I have become the vulgarity-spewing hokkein peng that everyone fear. Since everyone in my company are from poly/JC, my frequent outbursts of elegant vulgarities seem a rude shock for them...
Wow, so li hai...Originally posted by pkchukiss:Even though it is just my third week into enlistment, I can feel myself changing. I used to be quite jumpy about everything, but now, I can even yawn while doing prowling during guard duty in the dead of the night.
Yeah, I think my balls have grown (maybe a bit too big, at any rate). On the flip side, I have become the vulgarity-spewing hokkein peng that everyone fear. Since everyone in my company are from poly/JC, my frequent outbursts of elegant vulgarities seem a rude shock for them...
I hope your balls won't shrink when you see something in the middle of the night. Oh ya, if you ever get a "chance" like me. Route marches to objective in the cemetery, getting contacted in that area. While you do fire & movement, there's a chance you can stumble upon a solitary tomb. Well.... there's alot of guys around and you'll be too shag to care anyway. Enjoy your ns.Originally posted by pkchukiss:Even though it is just my third week into enlistment, I can feel myself changing. I used to be quite jumpy about everything, but now, I can even yawn while doing prowling during guard duty in the dead of the night.
i think u meant shack.Originally posted by jacobs:and you'll be too shag to care anyway. Enjoy your ns.
¬_¬" ok lor.Originally posted by wuming78:i think u meant shack.![]()
You bet.Originally posted by duotiga83:does it change ur way of thinking during ur ns?![]()
but i oso noe aloto ppl who, after leaving the army, continued the trg regime they haf learnt from there.Originally posted by swenn:when you come out of the army , if you haven learn to be a man , maybe the only thing u bring along is an unchange huge appetite forevery meal.
your training had stop,
nobody is going to force you to do all those push ups and running .
But you are still eating the same amount. Soon .. you found yourself swelling up and you wonder what happen
quite some guys juz keep on whining over the whole ns thing that you dunno how to console them. ya everybody knows army is not easy life but u dun have to keep repeating like we dun know.![]()
sad to said....I didnt follow the trg regime....Originally posted by wuming78:but i oso noe aloto ppl who, after leaving the army, continued the trg regime they haf learnt from there.
it takes personal discipline more than anything.![]()
u will be punished when u need to take ippt!Originally posted by LoVeMeLoVeMenOt:sad to said....I didnt follow the trg regime....![]()
haha... i did navex with some checkpoints in a cemetery also. i also did a BS in an area surrounded by crematorium and cemeteries too...Originally posted by jacobs:I hope your balls won't shrink when you see something in the middle of the night. Oh ya, if you ever get a "chance" like me. Route marches to objective in the cemetery, getting contacted in that area. While you do fire & movement, there's a chance you can stumble upon a solitary tomb. Well.... there's alot of guys around and you'll be too shag to care anyway. Enjoy your ns.