ur fren's old classmate got an attitude problem.Originally posted by Tamade Extreme:My friend is a driver at Dieppe.We were outside then my friend's old classmate approached him and ask wat vocation he is.Then when my friend said he's a driver, his old friend kinda sneered and said "Oh Driver, i thought wat". This friend of mine is from JC last time and he got ippt gold.
He said it isnt the first time he got reactions like this.![]()
well. if he thinks hes tt good, let him be lor. he can live in his own world.Originally posted by Tamade Extreme:i know drivers move the nation but he thinks that he's at SMI, he is good lidat![]()
u from ocs? like andy like that ahOriginally posted by s|nNeD:Drivers are important personnel but there is just some black sheep tat make drivers look as if they are slack and all... from wat i know... Drivers from 1st Transport battalion are damn garang. Was attached to us during one of our exercise while i was a cadet. They even helped us to camouflage our BOC and BCP.
Solid drivers.
heard tt news a few daes ago. sad case. civil + mil case. confirm db liaoz...Originally posted by TVaddict:tell tt fark-up friend of his to try walking back to camp in fbo with all his equipment after a 3,4 days exercise... c whether drivers important or not....
btw, i juz heard from the news this afternoon tt a saf driver langga wif a biker and the biker died... haizzz
last year is really a bad year for saf in terms of traffic accidents. i tot the trend will stop after the year has ended but apparently it continued into the new year...
Basically, as a riflemen. When we compared our training to the drivers' and what they go through during ns. What do you think when you see drivers enjoying air-con, eating maggi while we, in our camou, FBO have to go into the thick vegetation feeding commando mosquitoes? About who's more important, I would say equal. However, if we have to walk, we will lan lan do so. I'm envious how slack drivers are but looking down... honestly, abit. I understand it may be not by choice but by fate. Drivers can get charge even when it's not their wrong in the accident.Originally posted by TVaddict:tell tt fark-up friend of his to try walking back to camp in fbo with all his equipment after a 3,4 days exercise... c whether drivers important or not....
btw, i juz heard from the news this afternoon tt a saf driver langga wif a biker and the biker died... haizzz
last year is really a bad year for saf in terms of traffic accidents. i tot the trend will stop after the year has ended but apparently it continued into the new year...
i guess ur basis is cos of the siong-slack dichotomy.Originally posted by jacobs:Basically, as a riflemen. When we compared our training to the drivers' and what they go through during ns. What do you think when you see drivers enjoying air-con, eating maggi while we, in our camou, FBO have to go into the thick vegetation feeding commando mosquitoes? About who's more important, I would say equal. However, if we have to walk, we will lan lan do so. I'm envious how slack drivers are but looking down... honestly, abit. I understand it may be not by choice but by fate. Drivers can get charge even when it's not their wrong in the accident.
By the way, the driver who was involved in that fatal accident today is from my camp.
Was from OCS. ORD loh...Originally posted by Taufiq:u from ocs? like andy like that ah![]()
i think taking care of wpns is MOST of the time easier than taking care of vehicles.Originally posted by laurence82:Those who look down on mechanics, drivers...etc..
Try saying that during operational times or exercises and enjoy.
Btw, there is this saying being a driver is one foot into DB, coz vehicles to drivers are like M-16 to rifleman. Taking care of weapons SOMETIMES can be much easier than vehicles.
U mechanic?Originally posted by wuming78:i think taking care of wpns is MOST of the time easier than taking care of vehicles.![]()
no im not a mechanic. i was more comparing a single driver and a normal rifleman.Originally posted by laurence82:U mechanic?
Well, both have pro and cons too.
For mechanics and armourer or other technicians, its the complex mechanics of the systems they are taking care of that is very bothersome. I can always remember myself under hot sun, in uncomfortable coveralls, struggling to repair an engine that comes in thousand pieces. Lose one bolt or nut may result in non-workable engine. Let me tell you guys, whoever try to repair the new MAN 5 ton or HMCT, I salute you. Reparing the old Merc and MAN series of tonners can pekcek already, with the large amount of POL they consume. The new tonners comes with complex electronic system and compact parts, making them VERY difficult to repair.
For armourer, I guess its less complex, but they cannot lose any part of the weapon. I had many armourer friends who told me every pieces of the weapon must be taken care of thoroughly...or else. Losing a weapon part is a no no in SAF.
ORD liao![]()
Actually, i envy them. Certainly, all are equally important(how about mess boys?). I understand and had said that they could have been driver by fate rather by choice. But the truth is the pride of being a driver, is not as great as those in combat, and perhaps that's why ppl tend to think little of them.Originally posted by wuming78:i guess ur basis is cos of the siong-slack dichotomy.
well. siong/slack is realli up to one to define. and some ppl like it siong while others like it slack.
and o cos more imptly, there r ppl who wanna be riflemen but end up as driver, while there r those who wanna be driver but end up as riflemen.
its how one derives pride.Originally posted by jacobs:Actually, i envy them. Certainly, all are equally important(how about mess boys?). I understand and had said that they could have been driver by fate rather by choice. But the truth is the pride of being a driver, is not as great as those in combat, and perhaps that's why ppl tend to think little of them.
agreed!Originally posted by wuming78:its how one derives pride.
a rifleman who chao gengs all the way and refuses to put in effort can say nothing abt pride, as compared to a driver who maintains his veh in top form, drives safely and achieves zero incident rate and performs professionally.
a vocation does not confer pride to u automatically. its one's attitude tt counts.
tell ur fren this..will he get any license by hitting ippt gold after he ORD..driver dun need to get ippt gold..they just need to hit their quota they can convert their Military license to CV one..Originally posted by Tamade Extreme:My friend is a driver at Dieppe.We were outside then my friend's old classmate approached him and ask wat vocation he is.Then when my friend said he's a driver, his old friend kinda sneered and said "Oh Driver, i thought wat". This friend of mine is from JC last time and he got ippt gold.
He said it isnt the first time he got reactions like this.![]()
Agreed totally. I just wrote in general.Originally posted by wuming78:its how one derives pride.
a rifleman who chao gengs all the way and refuses to put in effort can say nothing abt pride, as compared to a driver who maintains his veh in top form, drives safely and achieves zero incident rate and performs professionally.
a vocation does not confer pride to u automatically. its one's attitude tt counts.