how hot can it get there? and wat additional measures or precautions do they take to prevent heat injuries? wat can u all do for urself for the heat?Originally posted by 12qwaszx:it will be hot in the day loh, but maybe not that hot this time of year. don't have much mosquitoes lah, so don't need to bring coil... somemore you go ATEC leh, can use or got time to use coil meh? hehehe....
Sai Yok camp new meh? last time i'm there, they've renovated the toilets lah... that's about all. but the camp is quite nice lah...
About mosquitoe coil, can use at navex lor. In ATEC, see how.....Originally posted by 12qwaszx:it will be hot in the day loh, but maybe not that hot this time of year. don't have much mosquitoes lah, so don't need to bring coil... somemore you go ATEC leh, can use or got time to use coil meh? hehehe....
Sai Yok camp new meh? last time i'm there, they've renovated the toilets lah... that's about all. but the camp is quite nice lah...
wow. how come hes been there twice?Originally posted by jacobs:About mosquitoe coil, can use at navex lor. In ATEC, see how.....
Ya.... Sai yok camp not new, my friend talk cock. Think the day is damn hot, then damn humid in the night. My sect comd(regular) said that our socks will get wet after a night's slp. O_O Anyway, my sect comd(regular) should know alot about crescendo, having been there twice already. But still thanks for your info, coz' he's the quiet type.
He's been in the army for like four yrs plus. Been to brunei twice, thailand going to be thrice, australia or new zealand and taiwan. I was suppose to be going to hawaii for a joint exercise with the U.S. marines after my trip to brunei. But they kinda give it to i think guards to go....? Then we got to go taiwan instead but it was cancelled due to SARS. So after this ATEC, a lucky few will be going to taiwan.Originally posted by wuming78:wow. how come hes been there twice?
hope hes going to go on to become a ps soon.Originally posted by jacobs:He's been in the army for like four yrs plus. Been to brunei twice, thailand going to be thrice, australia or new zealand and taiwan. I was suppose to be going to hawaii for a joint exercise with the U.S. marines after my trip to brunei. But they kinda give it to i think guards to go....? Then we got to go taiwan instead but it was cancelled due to SARS. So after this ATEC, a lucky few will be going to taiwan.
hm.. how does it feel when the temp is like 43C? and does it mean the sun is like there all the time? or isit possible to not haf the sun but still be 43C?Originally posted by 12qwaszx:yes, it's hot in the day. i was in crescendo twice too. once in june 2000 and once in jan - feb 2001. That june one was damn hot, reached a max of 43C during navex and some places felt like desert. the other one, not that bad, but still damn hot... maybe high 37-39C..
He is suppose to be this mono PS but unfortunately, his sect comd. tour for last mono wasn't recognised due to the fact he was a gpmg sect comd. So he will be a PS next mono. 43C, peng san.... think all will walk like zombies in those games residential evil or whatever.Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. how does it feel when the temp is like 43C? and does it mean the sun is like there all the time? or isit possible to not haf the sun but still be 43C?
from ur description i think i can understand - it definitely is not cloudy in the day, so the sun is always up there. its damned hot but very dry and hence ur sweat evaporates easily. jus like summer in europe and US.Originally posted by 12qwaszx:hehe... don't worry, the sun will be there... the grounds will be sandy, kind of like beach/desert in some parts.. so quite xiong during navex if you have to traverse such terrains...
you will sweat a lot, but your uniform will be dry throughout and you'll be panting like a dog especially at midday.
So when you rest, pick a shady place... But watch out for scorpions and snakes... if i can, i'll post some pics of crescendo coz' i always took alot of pictures while i'm overseas. i even ask the ATEC controller to take pictures for me. hahahaha....
at least u all stil haf m113. those inf ppl wont haf such support.Originally posted by BÃ¥seline:Yapz... the next best thing that happens when you do the navex in thailand is Trees where you can get some welcome shade under the hot sun. Each of us carried a extra 1.25litre bottle on our field pack on top of the water bottles we carried in our SBO. As much as we are thirsty... we tried not to drink unless needed to. We are lucky if our M113 is near else it'll gonna take long before it reaches us. Remember in mind that as recce, our M113 need to be 'stealth' from the enemies as well for the linkup.
There are some areas where it can be quite hilly or mountainous. Either you walk around the contour or you navigate across it. Terrain is quite unique cos there are times you might encountered some ancient temples... small house and shopfronts in the middle of nowhere.
I did think I shed a few kilos there but the food feast at the canteen during the admin time put it back on.![]()
Not really to support us to transport the team to another OP. We have to navigate on foot most of the time.Originally posted by wuming78:at least u all stil haf m113. those inf ppl wont haf such support.
so is thai terrain open like singapore and taiwan's or closed and jungle like brunei's?
wah. den u all stil going? so go there confirm no chicken no duck in ur meals lor.Originally posted by jacobs:Packing my duffel bag. Haiz, i think there won't be any R & R for this trip. First it was brunei, when we were back from the first exercise. U.S. attacked Iraq. When we got back from the second exercise, SARS was spreading in singapore. R & R which is a museum tour was cancelled. And now, there's bird flu in thailand. Wtf?
Ya, i want to go even if there's no R & R. Look at the weather in singapore now.... There will be chicken and duck in our meals, SAF combat rations that is.Originally posted by wuming78:wah. den u all stil going? so go there confirm no chicken no duck in ur meals lor.
Originally posted by jacobs:Ya, i want to go even if there's no R & R. Look at the weather in singapore now.... There will be chicken and duck in our meals, SAF combat rations that is.
I will know soon enough.Originally posted by wuming78:so thailand shud be quite cooling huh?
Yup, will bring bahts bahts to navex and cameras. Thai ERDL? i've been to brunei last yr.....Originally posted by Temujin:I'm not sure if the ice cream parlour is still there.
Try the young mango with chillie powder, the padi rat satay & tom yam soup.
If you're making your nametape in Thai character, I would suggest using your own No.4 cloth as the embroider may use old SAF No. 4 for the nametape cloth.
Buy the Thai ERDL/Woodland boonie hat and the hammock as it is cheaper in Thailand and use the hammock for your Brunei trip.
There is an uncle who rides a bike which follow your convoy so don't forget to bring the Thai baht, we call them S5. Just like in Taiwan where there is an uncle on a bike selling fried chicken.
Be courteous to the local people.![]()
Camp not new meH? I've been there in June 2000 and July 2001 and I think they are relatively luxurious compared to the rest I've been to. And for the July 2001 trip, they've already upgraded the toilets liao leh...Originally posted by LoVeMeLoVeMenOt:Sai Yok camp! My 1st oversea trip was there! WHO said the camp is NEW??? rubbish....worse than Dieppe barrack
Best thing over there is the super canteen which sell a lot of food & drinks. Furthermore there are some few shops that sell clothes bags etc etc...Bring your camera if u can! There are a lot of things to that u can shoot! especially vehicle navex...
Most impt drink lots of water, 2nd no need to bring any mosquito coil or insect repellent! I surprise that there is no mosquito over at ThaiR&R....well i can said....still ok lar! Not so fun...but let u know more about the history of Thailand...example tour the river kwan & go those historically site
all the best. though i dun think u can c this msg liaoz.Originally posted by jacobs:Bye guys. take care.![]()