Originally posted by Drakken:Sometimes, by vocation, you will have to serve 2 and half yrs eventhough if your educational level requires only 2 yrs. Example Commandos and police.
From reading this section in the forum, i seem to get the impression that almost [b]EVERYONE here serves 2 1/2 years. Isn't there anyone that actually serves only 2 years? I am an O level holder and hoping to apply for a dimploma course once i get out of national service. The extra 1/2 a year will mean i have to wait one damn year until the next application. So my question is - is there anyway i can ensure i will only serve 2 years and not 2 1/2. Also if anyone in here actually only serves 2 years please give me some feedbacks so i know it is actually possible. Much appreciated.
Btw, i am aware that dimploma and A level holders are supposed to serve 2 1/2 years anyway. And that O - level holders only need serve 2 years but i will assume that SAF love to hold people back from their ORD and that maybe choosing a wrong choice or being posted to a wrong unit or camp or something will result in them gleefully adding 1/2 a year to your service? This is where i am totally clueless so i need answers please! Thanks.[/b]
the normOriginally posted by jacobs:Sometimes, by vocation, you will have to serve 2 and half yrs eventhough if your educational level requires only 2 yrs. Example Commandos and police.
Can i reject the promotion though? I would rather remain as Private or LCP than serve the extra 1/2 a year because of the diploma application reason i stated. I heard you can reject promotions but just not too aware of the consequences in doing soOriginally posted by wuming78:the norm
highest rank attained: CPL and above => 2.5 yrs (2 yrs 4 mths if no PTP)
highest rank attained: LCP and below => 2 yrs.
usually they would promote O level and above highest eduational qualification attained to CPL. hence the almost always true equation tt O and Dip and above = 2.5 yrs.
no u cannot reject a promotion.Originally posted by Drakken:Can i reject the promotion though? I would rather remain as Private or LCP than serve the extra 1/2 a year because of the diploma application reason i stated. I heard you can reject promotions but just not too aware of the consequences in doing so![]()
If i'm not wrong, O and N level qualification is 2 years only. Highest rank is LCP.Originally posted by wuming78:the norm
highest rank attained: CPL and above => 2.5 yrs (2 yrs 4 mths if no PTP)
highest rank attained: LCP and below => 2 yrs.
usually they would promote O level and above highest eduational qualification attained to CPL. hence the almost always true equation tt O and Dip and above = 2.5 yrs.
yup i agree with you... but then again... sometimes things do go wrong...Originally posted by tranquilice:If i'm not wrong, O and N level qualification is 2 years only. Highest rank is LCP.
u got declare?Originally posted by LoVeMeLoVeMenOt:Hmmmm I only 'N' level so I serve only 2yrs of Army...but I do have a private Dip but heng ahhh not recongise by goverment![]()
3 O level passes do ya mean? Even how many passes you have in O got determine how long you stay meh?Originally posted by BrUtUs:heard b4 tat 3 'O' level enuff to make u stay liao...
Oh i see. How come wuming78 said in the above post almost all O levels serve 2 1/2 years because they confirm (almost) become CPL ? I know this is kinda of premature to ask at this stage but as it is pretty important to me i need to clear the doubts. What rank did // do most of the O - Levels holders you see reach, guys? PTE? LCP? or CP ? I know there are bound to be case by case difference. But i am saying GENERALLY what are most of the O level holders' ranks when they get out from army and again GENERALLY do most O level holders come out in 2 years? Thanks for the help! Much appreciatedOriginally posted by ditzy:If you're 'o' levels, most prob you get 2 years up to the rank of LCP. If they love you and decide to give u a CPL minimum, then erm you know the rest.
Originally posted by Drakken:ok lah.. perhaps i overtly "optimistic" (or pessimistic, depending on how u look at it
Oh i see. How come wuming78 said in the above post [b]almost all O levels serve 2 1/2 years because they confirm (almost) become CPL ? I know this is kinda of premature to ask at this stage but as it is pretty important to me i need to clear the doubts. What rank did // do most of the O - Levels holders you see reach, guys? PTE? LCP? or CP ? I know there are bound to be case by case difference. But i am saying GENERALLY what are most of the O level holders' ranks when they get out from army and again GENERALLY do most O level holders come out in 2 years? Thanks for the help! Much appreciated[/b]
Originally posted by Drakken:Well, i was diploma batch. Stayed 2 and 1/2 with 3sg rank. My men who were serving 2 years were all o and n levels and below. Their max rank was LCP and rare local CPL but still 2 years.
Oh i see. How come wuming78 said in the above post [b]almost all O levels serve 2 1/2 years because they confirm (almost) become CPL ? I know this is kinda of premature to ask at this stage but as it is pretty important to me i need to clear the doubts. What rank did // do most of the O - Levels holders you see reach, guys? PTE? LCP? or CP ? I know there are bound to be case by case difference. But i am saying GENERALLY what are most of the O level holders' ranks when they get out from army and again GENERALLY do most O level holders come out in 2 years? Thanks for the help! Much appreciated[/b]
That guy so poor thing, no more leave to clear, go back camp and found out he got promoted b4 he ORD the day after? Wow, now thats rare. S1, DYS1, and CC of that guy's unit must be really 'capable'.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):nothing is confirm in army one lah. alot of by left by right.. i know of a case.. this guy got promoted to CPL 1 day b4 he was suppose to ORD... haha so have to stay 6 mth more.. why??
the policy has not changed.Originally posted by Unsung_Hero:Serve your time well, do your 20 chin ups if you can and be proud of your service.
If you are promoted above LCP and have to serve 2.5 years you can request to defer the last six months and go do your studies on time. Finish studies then serve remaining 6 months, or serve them during school hols. You could use those 6 months to find a job, and bob's your uncle.
At least you used to be able to, dun think this policy has changed.