Hey, don't be put off by the tough training. The day will come when you can hold your head high and let people know you went, you saw and you overcame all the SHIT being dished at you. It's all in the mind, you can do it. Believe in your mental strength as that is what going to keep you going when you are at your rock bottom.Originally posted by pkchukiss:I am feeling a bit sian... ISPC (a.k.a. my jungle hat course) is starting tomorrow. What it means is tons of chiong, pure torture (power PT is the highlight, as my PC puts it), fast marches with camel loads. What's even more satisfying is that I am a quad vocationalist! I am a recce, biker, signaler, and medic all rolled into one... That means I have the heaviest load of them all...
Now I am nursing a broken blister (it still looks black to me, hopefully it will recover before the first chiong session) sustained from my first attempt at fast march (4 km).
It is for water collection during survival. Or it can be used to prevent dust/dirt from getting into the barrel by covering the muzzle.Originally posted by Peace84:what is condom for?
????Originally posted by mfscrewu:It is for water collection during survival. Or it can be used to prevent dust/dirt from getting into the barrel by covering the muzzle.
There are definitely other ways to collect water, but it all depends on the situation and if the luxury of the time is there for one to explore other methods. The condom is part of the survival kit that is to be used during the E&E period when behind enemy lines.Originally posted by the.raven:????
surely got other ways right....![]()
do they really buy condom and use, or is it some latex thingie that acts like a condom? cuz I cant imagine u go buy condom to collect water LOLOriginally posted by mfscrewu:There are definitely other ways to collect water, but it all depends on the situation and if the luxury of the time is there for one to explore other methods. The condom is part of the survival kit that is to be used during the E&E period when behind enemy lines.
Just to add on to mfscrewu's suggestions. Try to buy a pair of spandex tights (cycling tights) and wear them before putting on your no. 4 pants. This would prevent chafing on your thighs when your pants get soaked with sweat. Dun forget to powder your crotch beforehand though...Originally posted by pkchukiss:I am feeling a bit sian... ISPC (a.k.a. my jungle hat course) is starting tomorrow. What it means is tons of chiong, pure torture (power PT is the highlight, as my PC puts it), fast marches with camel loads. What's even more satisfying is that I am a quad vocationalist! I am a recce, biker, signaler, and medic all rolled into one... That means I have the heaviest load of them all...
Now I am nursing a broken blister (it still looks black to me, hopefully it will recover before the first chiong session) sustained from my first attempt at fast march (4 km).
sbo on the shoulder?!Originally posted by Tango1:Try to adjust your SBO and full pack so that they ride high on your shoulders and not around your hips, cos' it'll really hurt after awhile.
alamak...nooooo....that's not what I meant lah...Originally posted by wuming78:sbo on the shoulder?!
so des. wont have such a problem when they introduce the vest to replace sbo.Originally posted by Tango1:alamak...nooooo....that's not what I meant lah...What I wanted to say was that you should shorten your harness straps on your SBO so that it rides above your hips. And clip in the excess padding on the bottom...the idea is not to let your equipment sag around your hips...
PS is definitely a big time joker, hardly a day goes without some crack from him... He is really good. Some of the 1 Guards recoursee are with us, and he never fails to make them laugh too. PC is very ambitious, but he hardly mixes around with us, even though he gives us prep talk.. He wants us to grab all the awards available.Originally posted by xiao_mao:4sir?haha oh i from the previous batch man!!so pc LT siao and ps authur treat u guys good?hehee
Gd luck for ur course!!the siong part will be the power pt..and the long walk..abt 40km + looking for check points.
nice to hear tt u r doing well!Originally posted by pkchukiss:PS is definitely a big time joker, hardly a day goes without some crack from him... He is really good. Some of the 1 Guards recoursee are with us, and he never fails to make them laugh too. PC is very ambitious, but he hardly mixes around with us, even though he gives us prep talk.. He wants us to grab all the awards available.
The nice thing is that the bikers from the driving course also came along with their platoons. Armour and Brigade. Nice to know friends in so many places...
Here is something strange that happened to me. On Thursday, we went for a 6 km fast march. I was the rear scout with my usual signal load. Strangely speaking, I had no problems walking while the others were struggling (no signal load!) to even catch up. I am not a very strong walker. Does this have to do with walking at the back (slip stream or something?)
On Friday, just when we added combat rations to my already crazy load (I now know what it means to "stuff a kitchen sink into a field pack...") I started to get nightmares from the load. Why the difference? We only added a day's worth of combat rations, and I start to struggle with my signal set. What can I do to reduce the stress on my back? I've tried to tighten my SBO such that some of the weight rests on my hips, but it does not really seem to be working...
But I must say, this first week is rewarding... The leopard crawls, worm crawls in FBO have really given me a new respect for the human mind. Nobody wanted to drop out at all, even though the load was breaking them. It is really a sight.
I think Power PT is a reduced version from what the previous batches would have done, cos nobody actually collapsed from doing the sets. Some people tried to be funny with the instructors and memorised all sorts of things, like the number of spotlights in the background, etc.. Shack, but shiok.
I think I might be addicted to physical training after all.
ya lor ur ps is a big joker..when u guys haven posted into the camp..he always tok alot of cocks wif us.."mai kong jiao wei"..whereas the pc is more like keep to himself..Originally posted by pkchukiss:PS is definitely a big time joker, hardly a day goes without some crack from him... He is really good. Some of the 1 Guards recoursee are with us, and he never fails to make them laugh too. PC is very ambitious, but he hardly mixes around with us, even though he gives us prep talk.. He wants us to grab all the awards available.
The nice thing is that the bikers from the driving course also came along with their platoons. Armour and Brigade. Nice to know friends in so many places...
Here is something strange that happened to me. On Thursday, we went for a 6 km fast march. I was the rear scout with my usual signal load. Strangely speaking, I had no problems walking while the others were struggling (no signal load!) to even catch up. I am not a very strong walker. Does this have to do with walking at the back (slip stream or something?)
On Friday, just when we added combat rations to my already crazy load (I now know what it means to "stuff a kitchen sink into a field pack...") I started to get nightmares from the load. Why the difference? We only added a day's worth of combat rations, and I start to struggle with my signal set. What can I do to reduce the stress on my back? I've tried to tighten my SBO such that some of the weight rests on my hips, but it does not really seem to be working...
But I must say, this first week is rewarding... The leopard crawls, worm crawls in FBO have really given me a new respect for the human mind. Nobody wanted to drop out at all, even though the load was breaking them. It is really a sight.
I think Power PT is a reduced version from what the previous batches would have done, cos nobody actually collapsed from doing the sets. Some people tried to be funny with the instructors and memorised all sorts of things, like the number of spotlights in the background, etc.. Shack, but shiok.
think u refering to the alice pack?Originally posted by xiao_mao:btw are u guys using the saf fieldpack or the US's(bigger fieldpack) provided in our scout store?
gd luck again..hee
Good for you! You are coping well with the stresses of scout training. Yeah, signallers carry the heaviest load around...what to do? You are the commo lifeline of the team....Originally posted by pkchukiss:PS is definitely a big time joker, hardly a day goes without some crack from him... He is really good. Some of the 1 Guards recoursee are with us, and he never fails to make them laugh too. PC is very ambitious, but he hardly mixes around with us, even though he gives us prep talk.. He wants us to grab all the awards available.
Yah...its bound to happen..like most of us have posted, signallers have the heavist load...Originally posted by tvdog:During reservist we had to use the leftover PRC-77 signal set. Na bei heavy like fxxk. Weighs 12kg and the spare battery another 2kg.
After one whole night of route march and FIBUA, I couldn't climb out of the trench during FOFO without help by daybreak. And that's when I'm in top form.
And with the PRC set I'm always the last one to climb up the 3-tonner so always kena sit on the floor.
Sometimes walking in the forest at night fall asleep and nearly lose balance because of the set.
Heh....I've also been overseas for about 7 yrs also. Did my NS time from '94-96...old men we are...Originally posted by tvdog:I thought only reservist use PRC-77. This Vietnam War relic is probably older than me - and I'm quite old.
I haven't served for 7 years since living overseas. Is the PRC-77 still on issue?
The damn thing is indestructible. I once got so tired and frustrated after excercise I threw the damn thing onto the bunk floor and kicked it across the room. Still worked.
The range on this thing should be quite good but it is too damn heavy especially for reservist who are getting old like me.
I once saw some scouts with the fancy waist and headphone type of radio. The thing is bigger than a handheld set but much smaller than a PRC-77 and attaches neatly to the belt. And instead of the handset it's got headphones with mic attached.
These scouts also use brand new CAR-15 carbine. This was way before SAR-21.