signal officer?Originally posted by nickpower:Hi, i am goin to NS on july 22th. Looking forward to sign on as a officer. Had looked through many vocations. So zoom down to Artillery, infantry and signal.
Can anyone tell me more abt signal officer? Cos i study IT in poly and major in networking.

well my CO and my s3 both have a son each... u say leh?Originally posted by sgboy2004:is it true tat they say those in signals will either be impotent or given birth only to gals???
I heard that those ppl at the career centre are more interested in specialist scheme. Those poly grads, they will recommand them to sign as specialist.Originally posted by sgboy2004:u can go down to SAF career centre and find out more

Can sign on as an officer one meh? I think you have to get selected during your BMT into OCS first and 'graduate' before becoming an officer. After that then you can consider signing on as an officerOriginally posted by nickpower:Hi, i am goin to NS on july 22th. Looking forward to sign on as a officer. Had looked through many vocations. So zoom down to Artillery, infantry and signal.
Can anyone tell me more abt signal officer? Cos i study IT in poly and major in networking.
not really ah.Originally posted by nickpower:issit veri siong as signal officer? Like alot of foot movement or sleepless nights?
I heard that signal officer also incharge of the PA system in camp like speakers, mikes etc.....
Degree Holders.Originally posted by BMEngineer:Can sign on as an officer one meh? I think you have to get selected during your BMT into OCS first and 'graduate' before becoming an officer. After that then you can consider signing on as an officer
Hmm...a pretty exciting Pro-Term for them I'd say...Originally posted by HENG@:signal officer?
well...
ok lah. u get to do a lot of IT stuff, communications n such. basically u start off as maybe a PC of a signals detacment, then advance up to take command of a company as OC, n stuff like that. or u might become in charge of training n doctrine, signals is constantly revising and improving due to the nature of technology. i suppose it would be really fun if u were a technophile.
btw im an ops clerk in a signal battalion.
yes can sign on as officer. but if u cannot make the grade for ocs, ur contract will be void.Originally posted by BMEngineer:Can sign on as an officer one meh? I think you have to get selected during your BMT into OCS first and 'graduate' before becoming an officer. After that then you can consider signing on as an officer
its weird u ask this question when one of ur choices is infantry - wich involves alot of foot movement and sleepless nights. so why is infantry one of ur choices?Originally posted by nickpower:issit veri siong as signal officer? Like alot of foot movement or sleepless nights?
Originally posted by wuming78:O because i like trekking and getting close to nature. More importantly i like to work with people and lead men.
its weird u ask this question when one of ur choices is infantry - wich involves alot of foot movement [b]and sleepless nights. so why is infantry one of ur choices? [/b]
hm ok. den artilery wont be ur cup of tea.Originally posted by nickpower:O because i like trekking and getting close to nature. More importantly i like to work with people and lead men.
Originally posted by Kaczynski:flying antenna mast!!!
Hmm...a pretty exciting Pro-Term for them I'd say...
You start with ur Pro-Term (and ur 3 white bars) with SOCJOT in Brunei jungles for about a week. River crossing and "Bukit Buang" (as some people would call it) then come back for ur [b]Technical Term, handling the various comms equipment and learning essentially what the BSC/CSC people learn, only @ a higher level...Expect to stretch ur limits with line laying exercises and NAVEXs...
Tactical term begins and be prepared instead for various MPXs, which ur skills and endurance will be tested, especially in the finale exercise in ROC...
Due to the nature of some of the activities, heavy sleepers are advised to change their sleeping habit...(Can't say too much about why....)
Hmm, posting can be to the former School, 2, 3 or X Signal Battalion as Node PCs, or to practically any combat unit (less CDO, they have their own Sig Officer I remember..there was a Cadet bearing his Red Beret in Sch tt time...b4 that was an Officer on course) as the BSO - any comms problem, CO will look for you...personally..
There was a particular character which was posted to School after graduation...Hmmm, some of u here might have an idea who I'm talking about if I mention *flying antenna mast*...[/b]
Haiz...Funny (and very dangerous) but its true...Originally posted by HENG@:flying antenna mast!!!
heh i heard of that incident. but i dunno the bugger's name.![]()
as long as u learn from the mistake.Originally posted by Kaczynski:Haiz...Funny (and very dangerous) but its true...
But then I guess everybody makes mistakes..just tt some keep making them..
Just curious, Nickpower, what is ur view on having to walk for long periods of time over diffcult terrain? Reason I'm asking is that i've noticed that u're rather concerned with "foot movements"... It is the Army after all, u know...Originally posted by nickpower:in signal, wil there be alot of foot movement? or u still in the communication vehicles? as compare to infantry and artillery.
in that case perhaps you may wanna reconsider if the army is a right profession for u?Originally posted by nickpower:ooo.. i am not worry abt long foot movement. Juz looking for a easier vocation if possible.... not so physical cos i am a runner, my knees are not veri strong after some injury. So this may cause some worry...