I will be meeting the MO, not shrink at MMI but before that, I will be meeting a shrink at the NUH for consultation.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You mean you are seeing the SAF psychiatrist there I suppose? What happens after that depends on what the specialist say lor...
Hi,Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Osgood Schlatter disease...not usually downgradable. Your MO will have to assess severity.
U better not take IPPT n request for a medical review.Originally posted by srage:Hi,
I have question regarding hypertension. Currently a nsmen
My BP currently is around the 150s-160 range. Currently on temp downgrade for 3 months. My doc just increased the dosage of my medication.
Can we take IPPT with hypertension? Currently will experience giddiness when switching position eg. from sitting to standing, walking long distance.
Osgood Schlatter is very common, particularly in the NSF age group. If all cases of OSD are downgraded, the army will lose alot of combat fit soldiers (unfortunately, recruiting foreign talent to fill the vacancies is not an optionOriginally posted by irx:Hi,
I am a NSF now, ORDing in early november. I was enlisted a pes B but later downgraded to C2L2 temp 12 months. My temp status ends just before my ORD date.
I am diagnosed with OSD with fragmentation as well as patellar tendinities.
Would like to find out the process of my medical review? When should i look for my camp MO regarding my medical review. Also, does OSD warrent a perm C2L2 downgrade? I understand it is more predominant in younger people but my pain actually only surfaced after BMT and in my new unit (guards).
I constantly have problems with squatting as well as kneeling, and especially going up stairs for even short periods of time despite not being in a combat vocationfor the past 6 months.
My previous camp MO placed me on for physiotherapy at one of the SAF physio centres which i later forgo completely as the specialist appointed hospital physiotherapist discharged me after the first visit, citing that physio was not needed nor helpful..... dad previously done physio at SAF side for close to 4 months including a mix of hydrotherapy, ultra sound, and some stretching thinggy with a flexible band but saw not improvement in pain management other than being a little more flexible and less tightness around the quadricep/calve tie-in area.
Also a related question: the specialist at TTSH who attended to me discharged me immediately after diagnosing me..simply writing me a scribbled memo to my old camp MO who took little notice of it and chucked me back to my company. I had to see a private ortho surgeon at raffles to obtain a fullfledged medical report to obtain my C2L2...was pretty disillusoned with TTSH spec. Now, for my medical review do i need to obtain another specialists recommedation or do i directly go to my camp MO?
Regards
Depends on the degree of angulation of your tibia vara. OSD very commmon, as I said before. Most cases not downgradable. You should have an X-ray and a specialist opinion. Costs depend on which private specialist you go to...consultation should be about $80 and the X-rays will cost about $200 (depending on how many he orders). A specialist medical report will cost another $30-50.Originally posted by zzzdidi:Hi i'm an NSF with Tibia vara disorder and OSD, pending to see a specialist at CGH. i wonder what are the chances of being downgraded. And if i do need to see a private specialist, what are the costs like and what are my chances of being downgraded successfully?
Obviously, much depends on what your specialist says in his letter. If the X-rays of the spine show that the scoliosis is mild, your MO cannot do much. You will need a powerful letter from a very senior orthopaedic surgeon who is willing to strongly recommend downgrading to persuade the medical board to downgrade. If your condition satisfies the criteria set out in the 'secret book', it's open and shut case. If not, the medical board can only consider it on a case by case basis. Your specialists must be very well respected and his opinion must be clearly and strongly in favour of downgrading.Originally posted by azoboi:hey MOs i would like to ask someting
i have scoliosis, but the MO said according to the "secret book", mine is considered "mild"
due to trainings or even prolonged sitting/standing, there are frequent aching and acute backpains in my back, particularly the thoracolumbar region which really affect my performance in my current combat unit. has been recurring for 3 months since BMT.
i got 2 specialist letters. now waiting to be x-rayed and examined by specialist.
also, i never have blood pressure high b4. recently saw b.p 158/87 in 1 of my letter. is it high b.p or could it be temparay high blood only?
also, some of my friends are PES B some are PES C wif scoliosis. why?
what are the chances of being downgraded?
First, the spondylolysis is a separate and different problem from mitral valve prolapse (MVP). Some people think that having two medical problems can be additive in some way and you can downgrade further. You cannot.Originally posted by eLdOrEt:Hello MO sir,
I recently ORDed with a PES status C2L2 perm due to L5S1 facet joint spondylolysis (congenital defect). I had a history of MVP as was discoverd by my family physician during sec2 after i had complained of chest pains after cross country training, during PES classification at CMPB prior to enlistment, this problem did not show up.
Recently when i visited another GP for flu, he told me that i may have MVP after listening to my heartbeat. I would like to find out if MVP is essientially serious enough, to the SAF, for me to be downgraded further.
Thank you for your time.
Vernal keratoconjunctivitis is downgradable meh?....in the past, we would just prescribe the serviceman with steroids or other immunosuppressants. As for dust, it's true that it might trigger the condition. If it does, we give the serviceman a pair of mist-free clear goggles and he can continue training as usual. I am sure your MO can allow you to wear goggles during training.Originally posted by pah-jiao:hey MOs,
I've gt a problem here...
what happened was i was posted to a unit tat actually clashes w my current health problem. I have been diagnosed w vernal keratoconjunctivis about 6 years ago and it hasn't healed since. I was told to down pes from my current pes status of B all along but I tried to garang a little till things got worse these few weeks. The unit I was posted to requires me to undergo training that exposes me to air pollutants that would have adverse impact on my health.
The funny thing was that I did declare about my medical problem when I was doing the FFI back at tekong but it seems like the medical board totally DISREGARDED my health problem.
Recently, i've visted my specialist to get a memo which states something like " he has to excused from all activities that would expose him to dust or irritants". However, the problem now is such tat the MO tells me i have to wait at least THREE months for the pes status to be reviewed which would mean after the end of course.
Is there any way i can speed up the recertification process?
If not, can i insist on just trying out the training for once and see if it's suitable for me?
Also, will the MO request for a report from the hospital I've been visiting?
I dun wish to waste my time attending a course despite knowing that i would not pass out due to my physical inability to complete the course even though ive already declared my medical situation right from the start - give me something to do that would mean good for both myself and SAF.
help please help....
PS: anywayz the specialist wrote "keratoconjunctivitis" on the memo which is like totally vague, so do u think i should ask for another memo which states explicitly what I'm suffering from?
here are links tat would help u further understand my medical problem.
http://dro.hs.columbia.edu/vernalk.htm
http://www.peacehealth.org/kbase/nord/nord562.htm
Oxford mushroom is my idol .Originally posted by eac:yo... oxford mushroom is a MBBS graduate by profession. listen to him.
erm makign the servicemen take immunosuppressants and steriods to continue training sounds wrong to me.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Vernal keratoconjunctivitis is downgradable meh?....in the past, we would just prescribe the serviceman with steroids or other immunosuppressants. As for dust, it's true that it might trigger the condition. If it does, we give the serviceman a pair of mist-free clear goggles and he can continue training as usual. I am sure your MO can allow you to wear goggles during training.
The medical board is highly unlikely to disregard the recommendation of a relevant specialist unless the president of the board (the most senior doctor in charge is usually a specialist) is a more senior doctor than your private specialist and holds a different opinion. You may not realize it but some of the SAF regular MOs are part-time senior eye surgeons.
I have been to MMI to see the MO n apparently, my former unit lost my medical docket.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You mean you are seeing the SAF psychiatrist there I suppose? What happens after that depends on what the specialist say lor...
there are types of medical board;Originally posted by will4:I have been to MMI to see the MO n apparently, my former unit lost my medical docket.
I have shown the MO the type of anti depressant whcih the psychiatrist prescribed.
I used to be C9 for slipped disc until I got lung problem last year n given temporary E9 when my E9 status expired this year. I kena told by MO that I will be upgraded back to C9 but he never mentioned anything about my depression. The medic later told me that I will get the letter to be upgraded to C9 in one or two month time. He also mentioned I will need to go throught
SAF psychiatric board for medical review. I never heard of SAF psychiatric board. What is it all about?
yes.Originally posted by wait4mee:Hi MOs,
i am 35 this year (1 more highkey to go), after a health check recently, got diagnosed as diabetic. 2 hours blood glucose level at 12.0 mmol/L.
is this downgradeable ?