This curved spine is unfortunately permanent. I have this condition too and read more about it from a library book on scoliosis. The most (apart from surgery or wearing back braces) you can do is only to monitor to see if it is worsening. I sort of forgot the exact details but there are 4 different types of curves. Generally, the curve has a higher chance to worsen during the growth stage (puberty years) than when one's growth is already developed. My condition is mild (about 10 degrees) and I have seen the MO regarding back pains that seem to be related to scoliosis and he referred me for physiotherapy to assess my situation, which I am currrently undergoing. Once my physiotherapy gym session ends, I'll be given a review to see how my back is and then if need be, get me referred to a specialist.Originally posted by 01024G:Is there anyway the curved spine problem can be solved? I went to the see the chinese doctor after going to SHS for a few checkups with nothing to tell me how I can prevent my condition from worsening. The chinese doctor tell me that if my body relax more then the muscles won't be so tight and cause the spine to be curve a litte.
most of the MOs are general practitioners and not specialists. SAF does have their own psychiatrists but these will be on referral basis only and not common MOs.Originally posted by watsons:May i know is the Mo similar to the MMI psychiatrist or they're belongs to the different ?
MOs are basically doctors. so yes they are all MBBS holders.Originally posted by chikopek:are those mo graduated from universities with a degree in medical?![]()
Spines can curve either right or left (if you are looking at the patient from the back).Originally posted by Jazzswing:All spines are cruved a little right? Curved spine means curved horisontal or vertical kind of curve?![]()
I mean this question...Originally posted by Jazzswing:Ok i have a burning qn...albeit not really regarding SAF.
I have flexible flatfoot (when i stand..it becomes nearly flat, when not, arch can be seen). Whenever i run...i look a little funny coz my foot will angle to the side abt 30 degrees..but no serious pains on knee or foot..and can run normally. Can i ask..does my condition affect my running stamina? Or do i run 'poorly' due to lack of training ?
Thanks.![]()
fail MOCC = ooc lor. either u go recourse if deemed possible, or u become a specialist depending on wich point in the MOCC u fail.Originally posted by react81:But what happens when you fail the MOCC? Will they comission you as a LTA or will you remain OCT for the rest of your life?
?? no he wont be 3SG (Dr) since he did not pass MOCC - he cannot be considered an MO and so his Dr would be as good as nothing.Originally posted by react81:thanks! but does this 3SG(DR) function as a doctor or as a medic?
I really doubt so. But there is no hard and fast rule about things. It really depends on how severe and what kind of problems occur during what kind of trainning.Originally posted by theonion:Saab, I would like to find out if someone with Pectus Excavatum (PE) receives some form of medical exemption in the SAF.
BTW, I am already a NSman. Just started reading up on materials related to chest cavities.
Haha !Originally posted by wuming78:fail MOCC = ooc lor. either u go recourse if deemed possible, or u become a specialist depending on wich point in the MOCC u fail.
IPPT, thats the problem. sigh. haha, a 3SG(DR)...inmagine: senior medic," sergent, you better finish seeing those 100 cases in the next 2 hours, or you go and sign 2 extra". LOL.Originally posted by saabster:Haha !
MOCC cannot fail lah! AT least I have never heard of anyone failing it. They do try hard to pass everyone.....and i mean try!!
Generally most MO's on completion of the course will be able to pass their IPPT without any problems. Even if they slip up on a single station, they will retake that station until they pass. And if that is not possible, well you know what happens next............
Of course for those who miss most of the course due to injury, they will be put OOC. Recourse will be scheduled at another time
3SG (DR)..... that would be funny! After kenna ordered my the senior medic! Cannot mah!
Cheers
Thanks. I'm now discharged from SHS liao, which means I no need to go SGH for any more checkups liao because the doctor say my curve is mild now. Not like last time above 10 degrees.Originally posted by foxtrot1985:This curved spine is unfortunately permanent. I have this condition too and read more about it from a library book on scoliosis. The most (apart from surgery or wearing back braces) you can do is only to monitor to see if it is worsening. I sort of forgot the exact details but there are 4 different types of curves. Generally, the curve has a higher chance to worsen during the growth stage (puberty years) than when one's growth is already developed. My condition is mild (about 10 degrees) and I have seen the MO regarding back pains that seem to be related to scoliosis and he referred me for physiotherapy to assess my situation, which I am currrently undergoing. Once my physiotherapy gym session ends, I'll be given a review to see how my back is and then if need be, get me referred to a specialist.
the doctor is independent i suppose? i mean he is not one employed by the organisation right?Originally posted by the Bear:hi.. i'm back again...
my last questions weren't answered...
i would really wanna know coz the "drag their sick selves to work" has resulted in the ultimate tragedy for one of my staff...
someone who has not been well, had a history of high blood pressure and heart problems, afraid of losing his performance bonus, has died on the job from a stroke...
from what we know, he hasn't been well... the docs did to him what they did to me, giving him one day's medical leave (which was insufficient) and management frowns on people taking medical leave in pieces (you call it extending our medical leave by seeing the doctor again)... they figure anyone who does that is malingering..
so he turned up for work again and again, unwell... and paid the ultimate price...
methinks there's some blood on the hands of both the docs and management...
alas...
Originally posted by wuming78:the doctor is independent i suppose? i mean he is not one employed by the organisation right?
so why did the doctor give him a one day mc? was it because the guy requested for that?
and why did the guy not go for further treatment if he knows his condition? in the end was he a victim of his own decisions?