Originally posted by Patiepie:Hello guys,
i am new here. I would like to ask anyone who can help me on my questions before.
I am currently NSMEN. I got downgraded to C9L2 perm with excuse in lower limb, RMJ and prolonged sitting due to grossly disc degeneration,slipped disc & anterolisthesis.
I have taken 2 MRI and X-rays during the past 1.5 years. Initially, it is just disc degeneration and then early feb, i took MRI and X-ray again and found that it has become slipped disc and gotten anterolisthesis ( Written in the report on X-ray ). As my spec ( from SGH ) has been seeing me for the past 2 years, i have gone thru all the physio (6mths) and other suggested exercise but to no avail. His advise is to ask me to go for surgery. As the condition has deteriorated quite fast, i am worry abt my reservist. Therefore, my spec requested to MO to revocate from my driver vocation but it seems that the Medical board is unwilling to. I spoke to the MO before the board and initially, he was unwilling to board me as he said that C9L2 is the most he can give me. I argue back and tell him i have numbness on my leg and prolong sitting as a driver will make it worst. he agreed and tell me that he will recommend strongly to the MB for me. But ask me no need to be present ( I requested to be present ).
I would like to ask1 ) what does prolonged sitting refers to ? Isn't a driver requested to drive for long time in a sitting position?
2 ) Does excuse lower limb also mean excuse driving? Coz lower limb means anything from hip to bottom. Since driving needs to use our feet, shouldnt driving be excused ?
2 ) Any people with anterolisthesis too? If yes, what should the pes status be for such a condition ?
3 ) To revocate from driver vocation to another vocation, does it means that the MB has to downgrade me further before they can do so ? From my talk with the MO, it seems that slipped disc is at most C9L2 and that's the lowest they can grade me according to their guidebook.
4 ) If I am to seek a 2nd opinion from a well-known specialist, will it help in my case ? I would like to hear from this spec what is his opinion of my condition and can I continue to be a driver in my reservist.5 ) For MB, does a well known doc in his field actually helps to have a better chance of downgrading ?
pls kindly give me your advise. thank you.
1) prolonged sitting means like sitting on the office chair working all day long without any simple back stretching exercises.
2) excuse lower limb activities is usually refers to physical exercise-wise. to be excuse driving or any other specific valid reasons, make sure the specific word use is there in the MC of the MB.
3) defination of Anterolisthesis: http://www.csmc.edu/5727.html . for more info, pls go google it.
4) pes status may remain the same, but like the case of being excuse anything valid, there is a "please revocate serviceman accordingly" option in the list of excuses in the MB's software.
5) eminent specialist memo input does play a role, but utimately, it is the wordings used in specialist that's counts, whether well-known or not . e.g. a stronger-worded memo.
Originally posted by mikejc:as far as i know..right now… the pcc has discharged me from any further appointments as he thinks i am alright which i really am….he mentioned no further on any medical review or any further opinion from the medical bored and declared my case closed…so is this sort of alright? because i really do want to stay in PES B as i do not want to hurt my chances of signing on…..
then it will be noted as a medical history reference.
but please self-declare in ur SPF application. e.g. "I once had ..., since have since recovered...etc."
u noe that if u dont self-declare, then probably SPF may unknowingly assign u to be in neighbourhood patrol cars duties...
Thank you eac! I will seek 2nd opinion and see what the new spec recommends. My current spec is CO in the reservist unit and it seems that his memo is polite to the camp MO . Another thing I would like to ask
1 ) Is there a difference between memo and spec report? Previously i have given the MO all my MRI and X-ray report, is spec report still needed ?
2 ) I notice that if the x-ray did show your problem, it means that the prob is serious enough for a downgrade. MRI is use to help supplement X-ray if prob cannot be found in the x-ray itself. Am I right to say that? Therefore, i notice some ppls who only do X-ray and don't perform MRI if they are sure their prob is serious and Spec seems to write memo for them and MO normally doesn't read the X-ray ( Maybe they are not well verse ) and take the words of the Spec. Correct me if I am wrong. Thanks.
Originally posted by eac:1) prolonged sitting means like sitting on the office chair working all day long without any simple back stretching exercises.
2) excuse lower limb activities is usually refers to physical exercise-wise. to be excuse driving or any other specific valid reasons, make sure the specific word use is there in the MC of the MB.
3) defination of Anterolisthesis: http://www.csmc.edu/5727.html . for more info, pls go google it.
4) pes status may remain the same, but like the case of being excuse anything valid, there is a "please revocate serviceman accordingly" option in the list of excuses in the MB's software.
5) eminent specialist memo input does play a role, but utimately, it is the wordings used in specialist that's counts, whether well-known or not . e.g. a stronger-worded memo.
Originally posted by Patiepie:Thank you eac! I will seek 2nd opinion and see what the new spec recommends. My current spec is CO in the reservist unit and it seems that his memo is polite to the camp MO . Another thing I would like to ask
1 ) Is there a difference between memo and spec report? Previously i have given the MO all my MRI and X-ray report, is spec report still needed ?
2 ) I notice that if the x-ray did show your problem, it means that the prob is serious enough for a downgrade. MRI is use to help supplement X-ray if prob cannot be found in the x-ray itself. Am I right to say that? Therefore, i notice some ppls who only do X-ray and don't perform MRI if they are sure their prob is serious and Spec seems to write memo for them and MO normally doesn't read the X-ray ( Maybe they are not well verse ) and take the words of the Spec. Correct me if I am wrong. Thanks.
1) a specialist memo will do. 2nd opinion medical reports usually r for complicated insurance claims. i suggest u wait for the current pending MB, since u requested to be board in present.
2) MRI/CT scan r more advanced than x-ray. Pick up more details such as nerves, veins...etc. and it can be seen in 3D, whereas x-ray is the very basic screening scan and is 2D.
Originally posted by eac:
1) a specialist memo will do. 2nd opinion medical reports usually r for complicated insurance claims. i suggest u wait for the current pending MB, since u requested to be board in present.
2) MRI/CT scan r more advanced than x-ray. Pick up more details such as nerves, veins...etc. and it can be seen in 3D, whereas x-ray is the very basic screening scan and is 2D.
Hi Eac,
thank you agian.
actually, they boarded me without me present 2 wks back. MB just excuses me prolonged sitting instead of revocation. The MO doesn't want me to be present although i requested for it. Therefore,i need a 2nd opinion to fight back my case.
Anyway, u r very professional as a moderator. Thank you so much.
patie
Originally posted by Patiepie:Hi Eac,
thank you agian.
actually, they boarded me without me present 2 wks back. MB just excuses me prolonged sitting instead of revocation. The MO doesn't want me to be present although i requested for it. Therefore,i need a 2nd opinion to fight back my case.
Anyway, u r very professional as a moderator. Thank you so much.patie
yo there, is it possible for u to write a formal letter to ur reservist unit chief clerk/DXO-in-charge questioning the 'doesn't driver vocation constitutes prolonged sitting?' theory?
Originally posted by Rednano:
yo there, is it possible for u to write a formal letter to ur reservist unit chief clerk/DXO-in-charge questioning the 'doesn't driver vocation constitutes prolonged sitting?' theory?
Thank you rednano. I will seek 2nd opinion 1st n see what he say. If he also feel that driver is not suitable for my back, then i will check with my unit again.
patie
i like to ask currently my pes status is C9L3 due to high BMI which they downpes me after BMT than now i had been diagnosis for High Blood Pressure so is there a need to board medical for review ?
Originally posted by xiaowhois:i like to ask currently my pes status is C9L3 due to high BMI which they downpes me after BMT than now i had been diagnosis for High Blood Pressure so is there a need to board medical for review ?
go see doctor at medical centre/polyclinic get HBP medicine while u r still in service for the full subsidies for medication.
see MO for medical review to add HBP to ur medical files, to document it as an additional BMI-related health problem.
HBP do warrants a KIV medical board pes review, but most HBP pple r within pes C range anyway.
now been seeing specialist for that thus i just will get a memo from the specialist prove my condition and inside the memo ask for review. Also do a 24hrs ABP monitoring report enough to support my condition?
Originally posted by xiaowhois:now been seeing specialist for that thus i just will get a memo from the specialist prove my condition and inside the memo ask for review. Also do a 24hrs ABP monitoring report enough to support my condition?
good enough.
what does FFI examination for 35 years old reservist covers? please explain in detail so we don need to do test outside and waste money again. thanks doc for your kind assistance
Originally posted by xxthunder:what does FFI examination for 35 years old reservist covers? please explain in detail so we don need to do test outside and waste money again. thanks doc for your kind assistance
FFI Phase 1 -> Need to fast for at least 8 hours, drinking water is allowed. Blood Test: Fasting lipid, fasting glucose.
FFI Phase 2 -> No blood test, so no need to fast.
Difference is only the Blood test. Else, the rest is the same:
Medic do: Resting ECG, Height, Weight, BMI, BP, Urine test, Eyesight.
Update of any medical condition: During MO Consult.
1st Phase 1 is at 35.
1st Phase 2 is at 37.
source: www.ns.sg, under the FAQ of Book IPPT section
Medical Excuse and Examination
Q1 What if I am injured or medically unfit to take my non-ICT IPPT during my qualifying window?
It is important that you seek medical treatment on your own should you be injured or is medically unfit. The medical certificate that your doctor issued to you is recognised as valid medical excuse. However, you can only be exempted from the annual IPPT if you have a 6 months consecutive or 9 months cumulative of valid medical excuse within the same IPPT qualifying window. You are advised to contact your NS Unit to request for a medical review if you have more than 3 months of medical excuse for a particular injury that prevents you from taking your IPPT.
Q2 What if my 6 months consecutive or 9 months cumulative medical excuse straddle across two IPPT qualifying windows?
You would be dealt with as an 'IPPT Defaulter' in the 1st qualifying window. Hence it is strongly encouraged that you should book your IPPT immediately after your qualifying window has started.
Q3 Do I need to inform my NS unit as and when I am awarded medical excuse from IPPT?
As the onus of taking IPPT is with the individual, you should be able to determine whether your medical excuse for your injury will last beyond your current qualifying window and whether you have accumulated enough medical excuse to be exempted from the IPPT. You will need to keep records of all your medical excuses and submit to your NS Unit within 1 month of the close of your qualifying window to appeal against being dealt with as an 'IPPT Defaulter'.
If you have more than 3 months of medical excuse for a particular injury that prevents you from taking your IPPT, you are advised to contact your NS Unit to request for a medical review.
Q4 I have reached 35 years old and was informed that I need to do an FFI. What is an FFI?
An FFI is a medical screening phase which NSmen will have to go through to be certified fit for IPPT. NSmen will need to undergo FFI when he reaches the age of 35, 37, 39, 40 and every year after 40. The FFI certificate issued will only be valid till your next medical screening age. Once again, the validity of the FFI is referenced from the date that you are issued with the FFI Certificate.
You should contact your NS Unit to arrange for a FFI medical screening once you have reached 35 yrs or older. As FFI is a healthcare screening to ensure you are fit to participate in the IPPT, failure to pass your medical screening will disqualify you from taking the IPPT after you reached the age of 35 and beyond.
The example below best illustrates this FFI policy:
LTA (NS) Tan is 39 years old. He was born on 5 Jan 1965. He was overseas in early 2004 and only attended a FFI on Sep 2004 and obtained a 'fit for IPPT' FFI certificate from the camp MO. His FFI cert is only valid till 4 Jan 2005 (4 months) till he turns 40 years old. He is required to take another FFI after 5 Jan 2005 as FFI needs to be taken annually once a NSman reaches 39 years old and beyond.
Q5 Can I book for non-ICT IPPT even when I am not FFI cleared?
As you can book a non-ICT IPPT session 3 months in advance, the booking system will accept your booking even if you are not FFI cleared. However, upon detecting that your FFI result is not available, the booking system will inform you that you have to complete your FFI (i.e. 'fit for IPPT') before the scheduled test date. If you have not cleared your FFI before the scheduled test date, you will be barred from the test session.
what happens if you are medically excused from ippt totally n permantlely. do they test blood, urine? if so, what do they cover, said red blood cell count, aids, std related high low blood pressure ,etc. sorry for being long winded. thanks for your kind gesture, you are kindly appreciated.
Originally posted by xxthunder:what happens if you are medically excused from ippt totally n permantlely. do they test blood, urine? if so, what do they cover, said red blood cell count, aids, std related high low blood pressure ,etc. sorry for being long winded. thanks for your kind gesture, you are kindly appreciated.
I believed still need to take, PES A/B/C1 range.
Its a standard policy.
i have detailed my explanations above in blue.
Originally posted by hairygorillaz:.....
check ur PM...
hmm, i have being trying to downgrade but have being unsuccessful to date.
can i know what exactly do i need in order to have a downgrade?
currently i'm still pes b since bmt..but have being dignosed with degeneration of spine (lower part) with another knee related problem.
issue is that both my back and kneed will ache more often causing me uneasiness during running jogging and even prolonged walked and sitting..
how can i get myself dowgraded for good?
haiz..
Originally posted by the_fallen:hmm, i have being trying to downgrade but have being unsuccessful to date.
can i know what exactly do i need in order to have a downgrade?
currently i'm still pes b since bmt..but have being dignosed with degeneration of spine (lower part) with another knee related problem.
issue is that both my back and kneed will ache more often causing me uneasiness during running jogging and even prolonged walked and sitting..
how can i get myself dowgraded for good?
haiz..
Here:
8 Simple Rules to Medical Board (Genuine Medical Cases)
thanks for the prompt response.
i got a x-ray before already but it was back in 2007.
than the last visit to the MO to request perm excuse RMJ was unsuccessful due to the outdated x-ray?
while the doctors (females) are more observate in the way my spine isn't perfectly straight and the difference between standing and sitting posture..how can i request for a specialist to give me an MRI since the MO from my camp doesn't recognise X Ray as a final dignosis of degeneration of spine?
while it can only get worse..since i tried doing physiotherapy but not much has changed in my body..
since i personally felt that those doctors consulting patients that are being subsidized do sterotype that NSF are trying to keng their way through thus i was happy when i went to AH with all the times being consulted by female doctors who are very much into details to ask questions unlike most of the Medical Officers in hospitals who only listen to us speak and didn't ask questions.
sigh...today was unlucky since it was a MO who i was referred to..by like i was supposed to get perm downgrade and status of rmj but end up being a MO than sian..need to find more specialist waste my time..
so if i were to walk into a private specialist..roughly how much would it cost me thus saving me precious time to do other things.
thanks again..
Originally posted by the_fallen:thanks for the prompt response.
i got a x-ray before already but it was back in 2007.
than the last visit to the MO to request perm excuse RMJ was unsuccessful due to the outdated x-ray?
while the doctors (females) are more observate in the way my spine isn't perfectly straight and the difference between standing and sitting posture..how can i request for a specialist to give me an MRI since the MO from my camp doesn't recognise X Ray as a final dignosis of degeneration of spine?
while it can only get worse..since i tried doing physiotherapy but not much has changed in my body..
since i personally felt that those doctors consulting patients that are being subsidized do sterotype that NSF are trying to keng their way through thus i was happy when i went to AH with all the times being consulted by female doctors who are very much into details to ask questions unlike most of the Medical Officers in hospitals who only listen to us speak and didn't ask questions.
sigh...today was unlucky since it was a MO who i was referred to..by like i was supposed to get perm downgrade and status of rmj but end up being a MO than sian..need to find more specialist waste my time..
so if i were to walk into a private specialist..roughly how much would it cost me thus saving me precious time to do other things.
thanks again..
as a rough guide, bill different for public and private is between 1.5 to 2 times for normal consult.
how to get MRI... ask lah... explain to specialist abt the situation in the medical centre, since the specialist is a woman... furthermore, open ur mouth and ask is free, since NSF time, just show 11b, no need to pay...
as a rough guide, bill different for public and private is between 1.5 to 2 times for normal consult.
how to get MRI... ask lah... explain to specialist abt the situation in the medical centre, since the specialist is a woman... furthermore, open ur mouth and ask is free, since NSF time, just show 11b, no need to pay...
today when i see the MO i sian already lor.. (not that i'm prejudiced against MO despite lots of negative experience but my camp's outgoing MO is a good doctor so i'm still look forward to asking for help etc..)
but hor..when i see AH's counter with the new paper laminated and placed at the counter..i got this feeling that the next visit i go to..will still be the MO but different person since they got this different charges already in place..from Senior Consultant to the MO of $75-$35 of consultation fee respectively..
wonder if i can have a chance to request for MRI lor..
Originally posted by the_fallen:today when i see the MO i sian already lor.. (not that i'm prejudiced against MO despite lots of negative experience but my camp's outgoing MO is a good doctor so i'm still look forward to asking for help etc..)
but hor..when i see AH's counter with the new paper laminated and placed at the counter..i got this feeling that the next visit i go to..will still be the MO but different person since they got this different charges already in place..from Senior Consultant to the MO of $75-$35 of consultation fee respectively..
wonder if i can have a chance to request for MRI lor..
just ask lah... if asked why by specialist, then explain so lah... for the situation and hence the need for a MRI report... and u noe MRI scan also got queue 1, okay... u dont ask and thus u wait somemore lor... a few months later then queue ur turn for MRI...
and the rates for senior consultant, consultant, registrar...etc. is in place for a long time liao...so not new... they just laminated it for ur info nia...
just ask lah... if asked why by specialist, then explain so lah... for the situation and hence the need for a MRI report... and u noe MRI scan also got queue 1, okay... u dont ask and thus u wait somemore lor... a few months later then queue ur turn for MRI...
okay lor..
thanks.