Originally posted by Rednano:
a tongue-in-cheek analogy for this:
when a man is already dead, unit will conduct a seance to assemble a dead battalion...
so... u think can or not?
who has bigger say... medical board or unit...? (answer is already in bold...)
I dun know leh yest I called my unit call centre
they told me they need to check with my unit and will get back to me
I mean thats a joke
the call centre is just one floor below the unit office
and they take so long to get back to me?
Originally posted by noahnoah:
I dun know leh yest I called my unit call centrethey told me they need to check with my unit and will get back to me
I mean thats a joke
the call centre is just one floor below the unit office
and they take so long to get back to me?
just keep calling till u get a satisfactory answer lor...
Hi guys. is new here and wanted to ask smth with the MO here.
Currently i am taking isotretinoin for my acne. My outbreak has gotten much better after 4 months and much controlled. However the frequency of my face getting red sometimes even for no reason at all is still the same. Is there any way to reduce it, like when my body get used to the medication?
Also, i got different opinions on working out while on isotre. One of my friend, whose face now had NO pimples/acne at all after like 1 year of medication not to do exercise/activity that will caused me to sweat much, as it will hinder my recovery process. On the other hand, some of my friends and relatives retorted that exercising and sweating helps detox the body 'poison'.
Stuck in a dilema whether i should continue my usual workout. Normally hit the gyms twice a week plus a short run. But after my friend who told me to reduce my sweating out, i change my run to swim instead.
Thus, would need advices. thanks in advance.
Gd evening everyone,
i need some advice. i just submitted my memo of me taking isotretinoin on tues and signed the form for the medical board. MO said i will be downgraded to PES E9L9. i stated i have guard duty for the month, so he kindly gave me an 30 days excuse guard duty (i ording on 12 nov tis year). i then asked him for any documentation to prove to my superiors that I am indeed going to downgrade to PES E9L9 he said no, I just have to wait for the medical board to come.
Thinking that the excuse guard duty will be sufficiently to cover me, when i showed that to my centre sergeant major, he went ahead to tell me that my condition should be able to handle guard duty and that he will call the MO to check, and to let MO know the job scope of guard duty. He then advised me to stop my medication for 1 day before my duty to reduce the effects of it on my duty day. Apparently when the CSM called me back, he said he checked with the same MO and that i should be able to perform my duty. He agreed on the part where PES E9L9 cannot do duty. Does this implies that since im not yet PES E9L9, i can still do?
A few questions to ask,
1. Is this really legal?
2. What should i do next?
3. When will medical board usually come? And how to know immediately whether im downgraded? Because by the time the admin lapse and send the letter to tell me my pes, its already too late.
4. The difference between me and me probably 1 month later is - same medical condition, but one PES B(now), one PES E(1 month later). So i just cant understand why i cannot be excused..
Originally posted by Frosthell:Hi guys. is new here and wanted to ask smth with the MO here.
Currently i am taking isotretinoin for my acne. My outbreak has gotten much better after 4 months and much controlled. However the frequency of my face getting red sometimes even for no reason at all is still the same. Is there any way to reduce it, like when my body get used to the medication?
Also, i got different opinions on working out while on isotre. One of my friend, whose face now had NO pimples/acne at all after like 1 year of medication not to do exercise/activity that will caused me to sweat much, as it will hinder my recovery process. On the other hand, some of my friends and relatives retorted that exercising and sweating helps detox the body 'poison'.
Stuck in a dilema whether i should continue my usual workout. Normally hit the gyms twice a week plus a short run. But after my friend who told me to reduce my sweating out, i change my run to swim instead.
Thus, would need advices. thanks in advance.
try swimming 1st for a few weeks.
Originally posted by winterblade:Gd evening everyone,
i need some advice. i just submitted my memo of me taking isotretinoin on tues and signed the form for the medical board. MO said i will be downgraded to PES E9L9. i stated i have guard duty for the month, so he kindly gave me an 30 days excuse guard duty (i ording on 12 nov tis year). i then asked him for any documentation to prove to my superiors that I am indeed going to downgrade to PES E9L9 he said no, I just have to wait for the medical board to come.
Thinking that the excuse guard duty will be sufficiently to cover me, when i showed that to my centre sergeant major, he went ahead to tell me that my condition should be able to handle guard duty and that he will call the MO to check, and to let MO know the job scope of guard duty. He then advised me to stop my medication for 1 day before my duty to reduce the effects of it on my duty day. Apparently when the CSM called me back, he said he checked with the same MO and that i should be able to perform my duty. He agreed on the part where PES E9L9 cannot do duty. Does this implies that since im not yet PES E9L9, i can still do?
A few questions to ask,
1. Is this really legal?
2. What should i do next?
3. When will medical board usually come? And how to know immediately whether im downgraded? Because by the time the admin lapse and send the letter to tell me my pes, its already too late.
4. The difference between me and me probably 1 month later is - same medical condition, but one PES B(now), one PES E(1 month later). So i just cant understand why i cannot be excused..
with ORD in less than a month, i suggest u just bear with it. use wisely your offs and annual leave days.
with isotretinoin-takers sensitive to sunlight, hence the best u can do is to try to get the sentry post.
normally, medical board meet is held within a day once a month. so if ur case pending is not scheduled this month, then will be next month's.
hi MO i have mild psoriasis problem and severe acne condition. and i ate isotretinoin before my enlistment , btw i am a 1month+ tekong recruit now. my problem is this , i plan to tell my GP to prescribe me isotretinoin again. because my acne scars have become more and more worst , espicially last few days when we practise our dummy grenade and we will have to crawl on the sand and mud , after going back to my bunk , i found out that my pimple keep popping out a lot and my scar become more red and also very itchy. i seen the MO in my camp , and he excused me camou for one month and prescribe me those antibiotics pill which is green in colour , i ate that before , and it dosent have any effects on me. i am worried abt my field camp , i cant imagine how my face will turn out after the 6 days field camp. i know i will get downpes and will be OOT from tekong , shld i do it now or after i pop during the 1 week block leave? pls advise. Thanks a lot..
Originally posted by Resentment:hi MO i have mild psoriasis problem and severe acne condition. and i ate isotretinoin before my enlistment , btw i am a 1month+ tekong recruit now. my problem is this , i plan to tell my GP to prescribe me isotretinoin again. because my acne scars have become more and more worst , espicially last few days when we practise our dummy grenade and we will have to crawl on the sand and mud , after going back to my bunk , i found out that my pimple keep popping out a lot and my scar become more red and also very itchy. i seen the MO in my camp , and he excused me camou for one month and prescribe me those antibiotics pill which is green in colour , i ate that before , and it dosent have any effects on me. i am worried abt my field camp , i cant imagine how my face will turn out after the 6 days field camp. i know i will get downpes and will be OOT from tekong , shld i do it now or after i pop during the 1 week block leave? pls advise. Thanks a lot..
if u want to save money, u can get a referral letter from camp MO or polyclinic to book appt at national skin centre.
alternatively, for GP specialising in acne, i recommend this clinic:
Dr Chan Clinic Pte Ltd
Blk 212 Hougang St 21 #01-327
Singapore 530212
Tel: 62882340
Operating Hours
Monday - Thursday: 8.30am - 12.00pm; 2.00pm - 4.30pm; 6.15pm - 8.00pm
Friday - Sunday: 8.30am - 12.00pm
then Mr Mo,
Is it on very serious condition
then mo will medical excuse one chap from ICT?
thanks
then Mr Mo,
Is it on very serious condition
then mo will medical excuse one chap from ICT?
thanks
any medical conditions, the most preferred is always the specialist memo...
pls read here: 8 Simple Rules to Medical Board (Genuine Medical Cases)
Originally posted by eac:
any medical conditions, the most preferred is always the specialist memo...
pls read here: 8 Simple Rules to Medical Board (Genuine Medical Cases)
Thank you
but seriously will the unit overrule the Mo decision?
Thank youbut seriously will the unit overrule the Mo decision?
no
for isotretinoin user , do they get downpes permanently or temp? will they 100% get a perm/temp downpes if they declare? and what are the pes u will get? pes C range? thx MO
Originally posted by Resentment:for isotretinoin user , do they get downpes permanently or temp? will they 100% get a perm/temp downpes if they declare? and what are the pes u will get? pes C range? thx MO
temp downgrade.
refer to examples of Frosthell and winterblade.
i urge u to give the clinic above a try. he will prescribe alternative tablets after knowing ur acne medication history. he will also prescribe his range of facial cleanser and night cream. and total cost per month around $50 only.
Hi Mr MO,
Need your professional advice here...
I've got a medical memo from SGH ENT specialist dated 4th SEP 2006. Yup, the memo is dated 2yrs ago b'cos I've lost it due to misplacement and just found it again recently while packing my stuffs. Below is what has been written in the memo:
The Patient has moderate obstructive sleep apnea with an AHI of 21 and lowest oxygen desaturation of 86%. He is exploring the use of CPAP.
So my questions
Thanks in advance!
Originally posted by 19.rong.78:Hi Mr MO,
Need your professional advice here...
I've got a medical memo from SGH ENT specialist dated 4th SEP 2006. Yup, the memo is dated 2yrs ago b'cos I've lost it due to misplacement and just found it again recently while packing my stuffs. Below is what has been written in the memo:
The Patient has moderate obstructive sleep apnea with an AHI of 21 and lowest oxygen desaturation of 86%. He is exploring the use of CPAP.
So my questions
- Is the 2yr old memo still valid? (I didn't followup after that year)
- What are chances of being downgrade? (I'm age 30 & currently doing my reservist)
Thanks in advance!
1) u r advised to get an updated latest memo from a specialist, preferably from SGH again since SGH have ur medical records. do a comparsion between the 2 memos, see whether no change/improve/worsen, if no change/worsen, then it's recommended to book a medical review.
2) as long as u r medically unfit, u can seek for a medical review.
See here: 8 Simple Rules to Medical Board (Genuine Medical Cases)
i was medical excused from the mo
for ICT , so the unit will put me for next ICT?
or so call make up?
i was medical excused from the mo
for ICT , so the unit will put me for next ICT?
or so call make up?
using common sense, unit have the right to put u on the next ICT / MUT (make up training) after the expiry of the excuse.
want to excuse again, book for medical review to request another extension
Dear Mr MO,
I am on my mc for 9 days two weeks ago and bcos my knee cannot band due to tendonitis. (IT band symdrome). Since bmt i suffer knee pain when bending my legs and standing for long. As my knees are very weak, i kept falling and lost my balance during training and further injured myself. i used to fell down from the top of the balancing beam and had a very painful fall. my knees used to swell but now it is gone. i keep taking painkiller in bmt so that i can carry on the training until pop so that i can pass out as pte. However, during block leave and in new unit in armor camp, my knee worsen, one month ago i started to,
However,there is no swelling now and Xray shows that i am ok. i used to run a lot last time (can run 5 times a week and at least 1hr) in polytechnic since i got depression( not certified ) in 2005. i run, gym and play table tennis very often as the councellor told me that exercising is a good way to figth depression.
On top of that, i just got my appendicitis surgery last week 15oct, will i get to downpes? my wound on my flesh and inside the stomach still painful when i use clutches, stretch, cough, sneeze or jump.
Can you please help me??? I really injured everywhere oready.....
2 MO suspected that there is cartilage or meniscus wear, but there is no swelling. MRI may not show any prob also. so how??? i dunno wat to do.... i really cannot walk properly oready.
if i continue to train now, i afraid my wound might burst or open. will be painful when carrying heavy stuffs....
Originally posted by Kibukun:2 MO suspected that there is cartilage or meniscus wear, but there is no swelling. MRI may not show any prob also. so how??? i dunno wat to do.... i really cannot walk properly oready.
if i continue to train now, i afraid my wound might burst or open. will be painful when carrying heavy stuffs....
MRI dun show anything
means gone case
MO want proof one
but i cant walk properly for 2 months, tendon got inflammation.
Originally posted by Kibukun:Dear Mr MO,
I am on my mc for 9 days two weeks ago and bcos my knee cannot band due to tendonitis. (IT band symdrome). Since bmt i suffer knee pain when bending my legs and standing for long. As my knees are very weak, i kept falling and lost my balance during training and further injured myself. i used to fell down from the top of the balancing beam and had a very painful fall. my knees used to swell but now it is gone. i keep taking painkiller in bmt so that i can carry on the training until pop so that i can pass out as pte. However, during block leave and in new unit in armor camp, my knee worsen, one month ago i started to,
- limp when walking with a lot of pain
- can only bend my knee a little abt 15degrees,
- large clicking sound when walking.
- very stiff knee
- loose and instable knee
- be on clutches
However,there is no swelling now and Xray shows that i am ok. i used to run a lot last time (can run 5 times a week and at least 1hr) in polytechnic since i got depression( not certified ) in 2005. i run, gym and play table tennis very often as the councellor told me that exercising is a good way to figth depression.
On top of that, i just got my appendicitis surgery last week 15oct, will i get to downpes? my wound on my flesh and inside the stomach still painful when i use clutches, stretch, cough, sneeze or jump.
Can you please help me??? I really injured everywhere oready.....
8 Simple Rules to Medical Board (Genuine Medical Cases):
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
Get the specialist to write you a memo which is to be given to SAF MO.
Request the specialist to write about reviewing of PES and medical board / anything specific such as any excuses to your conditions.
Originally posted by noahnoah:MRI dun show anything
means gone case
MO want proof one
yes, u r right.
Give the MO whatever supporting documents you have in hand. E.g. Specialist memo/report (most usually the case and highly recommended).
really ar??? i got a feeling that if i request for review or exemptions the specialist will think that i wanna keng. can appendectomy downgrade me??