Originally posted by asdaa:Is serious migraine eligible for down PES? I have actually fainted due to the migraine attack. I have 2 more months till my specialist review. So during this time should i request for long status?
Yes, it is downgradeable, when supported by the specialist memo.
Meanwhile, u can try to extend ur current temp status (if any), backed with a memo from a specialist or ur attending doctor (e.g. GP).
Originally posted by Enquiry09:Thanks for your reply.
Even with the referral letter from the polyclinic, it take about 2 months before i can see the specialists regarding my conditions. But, the problem i now face is that i am due for enlistement and i have no time to wait 2 months for the hospital appointment. What should i do?
Tell the MO at CMPB first so that they can refer me to hospital for checking or go to polyclinic to get it done? Which is faster?
4 likely options:
1) go polyclinic 1st is better and faster.
2) see a private specialist (when u can afford)
3) a memo from ur family doctor (e.g. GP),
(a GP memo is better than nothing, at least for ur BMT period)
4) Self check-in at a hospital A&E.
Try to call CMPB the 1st thing in the morning ASAP to ask them for further instructions. Otherwise, u can only just enlist 1st and in the meantime book ur specialist appt. Anyway, it's a little late to do anything now if you already know your enlistment date / enlisting in just a few weeks time.
If u r already given an official PES by CMPB, the question is why didn't u voice out ur 2 problems to the CMPB MO in the 1st place?
Even so after the CMPB checkup, u can always call the general line of CMPB Medical Classification Centre @ 6373 1340 to at least get a fax no. to fax over a specialist memo to back up ur medical problems.
Note: The CMPB MO can't do much with just all your explanations on just symptoms alone.
It's puzzling on how you can actually be bochup about not wanting to know what is the actual name of the clinical diagnosis / illnesses / medical conditions you are suffering from after all these years...
Originally posted by Enquiry09:Sorry for the late reply.
First I wish to answer to your previous post. I did tell the MO that my leg will feel pain, but he said: ‘ok’ then he just type something into the computer which I do not have any idea of what he type. In addition, as I am currently undergo medical attention regarding my other medical problem (not those above), he just give me PES D in order for me to obtain the memo from the specialists for my other medical problem. So, I do not know how come they did not refer me to the specialists for my leg problem.
Secondly, with regard to the chest and heart pain, the pain normally come after and during PE lesson, then I ask the PE teachers, they say that it is normal, so I assume that it is normal since it did not cause me any difficulty in breathing as the pain only occur around my chest areas. But again, after the medical checkup, the pain seen to have worsen to the state that is it causing difficulty in breathing.
Therefore, I decided to visit the GP at the polyclinic regarding my conditions (both) last week. First, I told the GP about my pain around the chest, but when I wanted to tell him about my leg problem, he stopped me. So in the end, I was checked for the chest problem (since I think that it is more serious and more important).
After going through ECG and chest X Ray, he told me nothing wrong. Then I ask him why I feel pain, he said ‘should be some muscle’, then I ask him why I fainted twice, he said ‘no idea’ and refuse me of further checking at hospital.
What should I do? I really got no ideas. Please help
I was told by the specialist (for the other medical problem) that I maybe upgraded from PES C to PES B by MO (maybe during or after BMT). What I wanted to know, is there a
consequences (if any) if you are upgraded from PES C to PES B, e.g. doing PES B BMT despite the fact that you completed PES C BMT? Can someone tell me more about this upgrading.
Your reply is greatly appreciated.
Regards,
John
dude... cmpb give u pes D while at cmpb is to give u time to get a specialist memo on ur own... cmpb dun waste taxpayers' money on a pre-enlistee... because the only exclusive time where 100% free medical subisidy is during that 2 years where u r really serving the nation... else... no talk...
Originally posted by Enquiry09:Sorry for the late reply.
First I wish to answer to your previous post. I did tell the MO that my leg will feel pain, but he said: ‘ok’ then he just type something into the computer which I do not have any idea of what he type. In addition, as I am currently undergo medical attention regarding my other medical problem (not those above), he just give me PES D in order for me to obtain the memo from the specialists for my other medical problem. So, I do not know how come they did not refer me to the specialists for my leg problem.
Secondly, with regard to the chest and heart pain, the pain normally come after and during PE lesson, then I ask the PE teachers, they say that it is normal, so I assume that it is normal since it did not cause me any difficulty in breathing as the pain only occur around my chest areas. But again, after the medical checkup, the pain seen to have worsen to the state that is it causing difficulty in breathing.
Therefore, I decided to visit the GP at the polyclinic regarding my conditions (both) last week. First, I told the GP about my pain around the chest, but when I wanted to tell him about my leg problem, he stopped me. So in the end, I was checked for the chest problem (since I think that it is more serious and more important).
After going through ECG and chest X Ray, he told me nothing wrong. Then I ask him why I feel pain, he said ‘should be some muscle’, then I ask him why I fainted twice, he said ‘no idea’ and refuse me of further checking at hospital.
What should I do? I really got no ideas. Please help
I was told by the specialist (for the other medical problem) that I maybe upgraded from PES C to PES B by MO (maybe during or after BMT). What I wanted to know, is there a
consequences (if any) if you are upgraded from PES C to PES B, e.g. doing PES B BMT despite the fact that you completed PES C BMT? Can someone tell me more about this upgrading.
Your reply is greatly appreciated.
Regards,
John
Refer to the general guidelines here:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
Perhaps u can request for some blood tests to check for conditions/illnesses (if any) detectable by blood.
Consult another specialist then, for a second opinion. If there is still nothing diagnosed by the other specialist(/s), then there is nothing I can suggest. It maybe all based on your own, e.g. psychological mind, threshold of pain...etc.
No, once u passed a BMT course, there's no need to undergo a BMT recourse of another PES categories.
Originally posted by Enquiry09:go private specalists? cos the blood test at ns got no problem
so even if u r updated from pes c to b during pes c bmt, u only need to finish pes c bmt only..that all rite... then wat abt posting?
Blood test at CMPB doesn't check for all medical conditions/illnesses.
It only check for HIV, G6PD, haemoglobin and blood grouping.
Simple urine tests to detect the presence of blood, protein and glucose (sugar) will also be carried out.
Just worry abt things 1 step at a time...
wth... ask already, got replied, then delete entries...
want to use "psychological over-exaggerate" of physical pain to keng out sia...
Hi guys,
recently I went for my medical checkup and they told me I have blood in my urine. Thus they booked another appointment for me 2 weeks after and I went for it yesterday.
When I got there, I went straight to the urine test station and did the test. The person just told me everything is fine now and that I can go.
So is there no documents to tell me which PES am I in?
Another question is, I have an ongoing problem with my arm but haven't consulted a doctor yet. If I do have a serious problem with it, do I need to report anything to them to tell them?
Thanks!
Originally posted by technoboy:Hi guys,
recently I went for my medical checkup and they told me I have blood in my urine. Thus they booked another appointment for me 2 weeks after and I went for it yesterday.
When I got there, I went straight to the urine test station and did the test. The person just told me everything is fine now and that I can go.
Another question is, I have an ongoing problem with my arm but haven't consulted a doctor yet. If I do have a serious problem with it, do I need to report anything to them to tell them?
Thanks!
juz wait for the cmpb pes letter in ur letterbox liao lor...
common sense leh... of cos u report to them abt it to declare lah...
Hi,
I was referred to CGH by my camp doc for checkup. After a series of checkups, the doc diagnosed me with 135/89 daily avg BP, diagnosed hypertension and recommended my gp to increase my med dosage.
What must I do from here? Wait for camp call up? Or do I go back on myself to the camp doc? Was temporarily downgraded before the referral. I have been on temp status all the while when I am on medication. Will it continue this way? Or will they send me back to CGH specialist again?
Thanks in advance for any advise.
hi i would like to know what p tagged actually means.
i was told it excuses the person from combat vocation, is it true?
Originally posted by this_ml:hi i would like to know what p tagged actually means.
i was told it excuses the person from combat vocation, is it true?
P-tagged is just to note the personnel medical file as psychological.
partially true. Depending on case-by-case severity, the person can still be posted to a vocation in Combat Service Support.
Originally posted by srage:Hi,
I was referred to CGH by my camp doc for checkup. After a series of checkups, the doc diagnosed me with 135/89 daily avg BP, diagnosed hypertension and recommended my gp to increase my med dosage.
What must I do from here? Wait for camp call up? Or do I go back on myself to the camp doc? Was temporarily downgraded before the referral. I have been on temp status all the while when I am on medication. Will it continue this way? Or will they send me back to CGH specialist again?
Thanks in advance for any advise.
what if the person was p tagged by the saf pyschiatrist when already in combat vocation, would he be posted out of combat vocation to service side.
Originally posted by this_ml:what if the person was p tagged by the saf pyschiatrist when already in combat vocation, would he be posted out of combat vocation to service side.
it depends on what's written on the memo, which is to be given to the camp MO. e.g. diagnosis, whether it's a temp or perm case basis.
usually, the person will remain in the current vocation (sometimes temp attach to company HQ to do misc work) ;
with assistance in terms of counselling from the camp MO, coping interviews with PC, OC... and periodic medical review consultations with both the camp MO and the saf psychiatrist.
hi,
need to ask,if pes e for anxiety ,is it hard to join organsiations like SPF and ICA?
Originally posted by Sakuragi86:hi,
need to ask,if pes e for anxiety ,is it hard to join organsiations like SPF and ICA?
I guess it would the Job Scope you are looking at.....
Originally posted by technoboy:Hi guys,
Thanks!
Hi guys, I had posted this few days ago.
Suddenly, I received a red letter today asking me to go for the re-test! And I thought everything was already settled that day!
Anyone knows what's the reason for this? That person didn't record that I went for the appointment?
Originally posted by technoboy:Hi guys, I had posted this few days ago.
Suddenly, I received a red letter today asking me to go for the re-test! And I thought everything was already settled that day!
Anyone knows what's the reason for this? That person didn't record that I went for the appointment?
just go lor... no choice... its an order...
Hi Eac,
I am about to have my very first medical check-up with CMPB on 30th Jan. I have some valid concerns that I believe may affect my PES status.
Just a few weeks ago, I sought my family doctor for strong relief against a bout of conjunctivitis that lasted nearly 4 months. I have had allergic conjunctivitis since young and have been consulting this doctor since 2004. For more than half a decade, most of my relief have been coming from over-the-counter ocular drops that contain a combination of vasoconstrictors and anti-histamines. Of course, I should not be relying on such medication as it is known to be harmful in the long-run. So due to the longevity of the reaction this time, my doctor prescribed the strongest yet medication* given to me. I was also prescribed Nasacort AQ (triamcinolone acetonide) that I have to use faithfully everyday for 6 months. All this medication cost well over $200. I also requested a medical referral to an eye-specialist, which granted a 1-page hand-written letter from my doc - I have not seen its contents; as far as I know, my doctor has the records of my visits to him since 2005, but I do not know if such information was included in the letter.
You might be surprised to hear that I have never seen an ocular specialist of any kind despite having so many problems with my eyes. This is partly due to uncertainty, largely due to procrastination and perhaps a slight fear of potential fiscal burden.
I have 2 questions:
(1): With the given knowledge, what PES do you think I might end up in?
(2): Should I seek an ocular specialist before the medical check-up, or should I depend on the medical referral?
I also have myopia [780/840] and actively use computers (I do design)
Thanks
Hendrik
*Xyzal, Prednisolone, Neuzym, Optodexine (potent ocular drops)
Originally posted by hendrik8877:Hi Eac,
I am about to have my very first medical check-up with CMPB on 30th Jan. I have some valid concerns that I believe may affect my PES status.
Just a few weeks ago, I sought my family doctor for strong relief against a bout of conjunctivitis that lasted nearly 4 months. I have had allergic conjunctivitis since young and have been consulting this doctor since 2004. For more than half a decade, most of my relief have been coming from over-the-counter ocular drops that contain a combination of vasoconstrictors and anti-histamines. Of course, I should not be relying on such medication as it is known to be harmful in the long-run. So due to the longevity of the reaction this time, my doctor prescribed the strongest yet medication* given to me. I was also prescribed Nasacort AQ (triamcinolone acetonide) that I have to use faithfully everyday for 6 months. All this medication cost well over $200. I also requested a medical referral to an eye-specialist, which turned out to be a 1-page hand-written letter by my doc - I have not seen its contents. As far as I know, my doctor has the records of my visits to him since 2005, but I do not know if such information was included in the letter.
You might be surprised to hear that I have never seen an ocular specialist of any kind despite having so many problems with my eyes. This is partly due to uncertainty, largely due to procrastination and perhaps fiscal burden.
I have 2 questions:
(1): With the given knowledge, what PES do you think I might end up in?
(2): Should I seek an ocular specialist before the medical check-up, or should I depend on the medical referral?
I also have myopia [780/840] and actively use computers (I do design).Thanks
Hendrik
*Xyzal, Prednisolone, Neuzym, Optodexine (potent ocular drops)
FYI, PES is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PULHHEEMS.
Minimum within PES C range;
Might even go further to within PES E range.
Photocopy the referral letter to give the CMPB MO a copy for his reference.
If the specialist appt is before the CMPB checkup, even better, ask the specialist to write a memo for the CMPB MO.
If the specialist appt is after the CMPB checkup, need not worry. Just call 6373 1340 to ask for a fax number to fax over the specialist memo for the CMPB MO.
sorry to bother you eac again with my questions. My other dudes refuse to sign up for this forums and asked me to ask you 2 things.
1. Guy A is mildly deaf. Given PES C1L2 excused from explosives and loud noise vocations. His titinnus that causes his deafness just got worst again and he's going for BMT on the 28th. Is there anyway that he could be downgraded to L3 to excuse from firearms? He claims that firing, even tho there's ear plugs, is still kinda loud and may harm his ears :S
2. Guy B has necrophobia and claustrophobia (like seriously) but not medically shown. He's going to book out on Friday (i think. he's pes B or something) and he wants to ask is there anyway to voice out these phobias in camp 'cos he kept worrying that he may run and die in there or smth (no kidding. pls don laugh thanks. i thought it was funny at first but it seems that he has some serious phobias).
any advice? thanks
Originally posted by eimerz:sorry to bother you eac again with my questions. My other dudes refuse to sign up for this forums and asked me to ask you 2 things.
1. Guy A is mildly deaf. Given PES C1L2 excused from explosives and loud noise vocations. His titinnus that causes his deafness just got worst again and he's going for BMT on the 28th. Is there anyway that he could be downgraded to L3 to excuse from firearms? He claims that firing, even tho there's ear plugs, is still kinda loud and may harm his ears :S
2. Guy B has necrophobia and claustrophobia (like seriously) but not medically shown. He's going to book out on Friday (i think. he's pes B or something) and he wants to ask is there anyway to voice out these phobias in camp 'cos he kept worrying that he may run and die in there or smth (no kidding. pls don laugh thanks. i thought it was funny at first but it seems that he has some serious phobias).
any advice? thanks
1) http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
2) Speak to the Platoon Sect Comd, PS, PC and Tekong MO 1st;
Next, higher up are OC and BMT Orientation Officer (OO).