Originally posted by ltensail:
Hi all,
I currently have a gastronology apptment scheduled in july. Illness is GERD. I had this diagnosed when i went to A&E in SGH with chest discomfort and breathing difficulty.
Was given 1week of Omeprazole. Symptoms were lifted significantly. Wasnt given memo. i discharged after seeing the general practitioner and given medicine.
After around 1 week of finishing my medication, i'm experiencing same feeling as before.
What shld i do?
Btw i have a bit of wheezing now and then, shaking hands when i got accelerated heart rates but all like minor cases. So never mentioned to anyone.
Go see your neighbourhood GP 1st for the common medication.
What if i need to go on constant medication?
Is my condition serious to warrant a medical review?
do i have to wait for my spec's apptment to get a memo?
sry for throwing qns at u
Originally posted by ltensail:What if i need to go on constant medication?
Is my condition serious to warrant a medical review?
do i have to wait for my spec's apptment to get a memo?
sry for throwing qns at u
Then continue the medication until the doctor tells you to stop.
Whatever it is, if you want a PES medical review, you should just get a specialist memo as a supporting document.
Just click here:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
eh, very tiu lian question here, but i have to ask lah.
BMI over 32 Downgradable right? i am in that range now hahaha
Downgrading is the only way i got chance to get transfer to CSH man, dream reservist posting for me.
the pes for obese is only pes Bp right?
Hi I would like to ask something but let me first give y'all a brief background.
I'm pes C1L2 for hearing loss. 3 weeks ago some fker misfired a blank at my ear. I've been having vertigo (spinning+dizziness) and tinnitus since then. I went to Tekong MO and they referred me to MMI. So on Wednesday, I went to MMI as instructed by SAF and after checkups, the doctor told me that I should see a specialist at CGH which i went before a year ago to get my pes status (that old dog told the CMPB to upgrade me from pes E wtf). So now here's my question, I just went to CGH today to see the specialist and he told me to come one month later to monitor my vertigo. I'm sick of going there. Would I be charged if i don't go one month later? The thing now is, the SAF din instruct me to go to CGH and I actually 'paid' using 11B. So is the checkup under my own free will to go or instructed by SAF?
Originally posted by eimerz:Hi I would like to ask something but let me first give y'all a brief background.
I'm pes C1L2 for hearing loss. 3 weeks ago some fker misfired a blank at my ear. I've been having vertigo (spinning+dizziness) and tinnitus since then. I went to Tekong MO and they referred me to MMI. So on Wednesday, I went to MMI as instructed by SAF and after checkups, the doctor told me that I should see a specialist at CGH which i went before a year ago to get my pes status (that old dog told the CMPB to upgrade me from pes E wtf). So now here's my question, I just went to CGH today to see the specialist and he told me to come one month later to monitor my vertigo. I'm sick of going there. Would I be charged if i don't go one month later? The thing now is, the SAF din instruct me to go to CGH and I actually 'paid' using 11B. So is the checkup under my own free will to go or instructed by SAF?
Of course it will be billed to Mindef for it's referred by SAF / MMI.
Since the appt is already booked for you 1 month later, please do go follow up.
Or else, if your condition is worsened later, you can't fault Mindef since you are the one who didn't follow up on the scheduled appt.
Originally posted by Rednano:the pes for obese is only pes Bp right?
thats pre enlistment, if you went through Obese BMT and end day BMI still >30+, you downgrade le.
thats why i not too sure the ruling for NSmen is wat
Hi.
I will be going for my pre-enlistee medical check up soon. I am asthmatic and have been so since I was a child.
I have been seeing a respiratory specialist for some years. I was diagnosed with mixed obstructive and restrictive ventilatory defect. I have also been diagnosed with moderate volume dependent airway collapse. My specialist believes I should avoid vigorous physical exercise.
Should I bring my specialist's letter as well as medical reports to my medical check up? I understand there are lots of different tests that are carried out...when should I pass these documents to the staff there? Should I pass it directly to the doctor at the end or is there some other procedure to follow?
Also, what would my likely PES status be? I doubt I would be PES A...would I be downgraded to PES C given my condition?
Thks for any and all help.
Originally posted by lugubrious:Hi.
I will be going for my pre-enlistee medical check up soon. I am asthmatic and have been so since I was a child.
I have been seeing a respiratory specialist for some years. I was diagnosed with mixed obstructive and restrictive ventilatory defect. I have also been diagnosed with moderate volume dependent airway collapse. My specialist believes I should avoid vigorous physical exercise.
Should I bring my specialist's letter as well as medical reports to my medical check up? I understand there are lots of different tests that are carried out...when should I pass these documents to the staff there? Should I pass it directly to the doctor at the end or is there some other procedure to follow?
Also, what would my likely PES status be? I doubt I would be PES A...would I be downgraded to PES C given my condition?
Thks for any and all help.
Yes, of course you must bring all your supporting documents such as specialist letters/ memos/ medical reports to show the CMPB doctor. You pass all those directly to the doctor in his consultation room.
It should be within PES C range.
Hi eac,
I went for an ECG recently and results show RBBB. My BP is slightly high 140/90. I experience chest pains and shortness of breath. I am waiting for my appointment to consult a cardiologist.
Will I be downgraded based on my condition? I am a NSmen.
Many Thanks!
Originally posted by happycat:Hi eac,
I went for an ECG recently and results show RBBB. My BP is slightly high 140/90. I experience chest pains and shortness of breath. I am waiting for my appointment to consult a cardiologist.
Will I be downgraded based on my condition? I am a NSmen.
Many Thanks!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Right_bundle_branch_block
It can be within PES C range.
Hi.
Thks for the reply to my original posting above. I have a couple of other queries. I've read your general guidelines on medical board reviews and you say that its best to have your specialist specifically address the medical review board and specifically say that you should have your PES downgraded - would the same apply for pre-enlistee check-up? Should I get my specialist to mention that I shouldn't do vigorous physical exercise and also recommend PES C? Or should he just do the former?
Second, you said that my condition "should be within PES C range"? Does that mean that there's a good chance I might be PES B as well? If I do get PES C, would C1 be the most likely?
Thks!
Originally posted by lugubrious:Hi.
Thks for the reply to my original posting above. I have a couple of other queries. I've read your general guidelines on medical board reviews and you say that its best to have your specialist specifically address the medical review board and specifically say that you should have your PES downgraded - would the same apply for pre-enlistee check-up? Should I get my specialist to mention that I shouldn't do vigorous physical exercise and also recommend PES C? Or should he just do the former?
Second, you said that my condition "should be within PES C range"? Does that mean that there's a good chance I might be PES B as well? If I do get PES C, would C1 be the most likely?
Thks!
Yes, the guideline applies to pre-enlistees too.
Yes, please include about exercises too.
The specialist might not specifically write "PES C" in the memo. Typically, specialists will usually write "As the patient is diagnosed with ______, hence, please place/ downgrade patient accordingly."
All I can say is it's within PES C range. As to what PES C level, it's really dependable on what and how the specialist memo says. (As pointed out in point no. 7 in the guideline.)
I've got a burning question and I earnestly hope that you guys could help.
I've been 'medical boarded' for 6 months excuse stay-in status, due to severe/extensive atopic dermatitis - allergens being dust/heat/stress.
I'd really wish to know the odds of 'passing' this medical board... It's been worrying for me.
Please advise..
Originally posted by Verloren.Hoop:I've got a burning question and I earnestly hope that you guys could help.
I've been 'medical boarded' for 6 months excuse stay-in status, due to severe/extensive atopic dermatitis - allergens being dust/heat/stress.
I'd really wish to know the odds of 'passing' this medical board... It's been worrying for me.
Please advise..
You already excuse liao...what do more you wished to know.
Originally posted by tarutaru:You already excuse liao...what do more you wished to know.
Nonono.. I'm not..
The board got to determine if they are going to grant me my excuse.. hence the question
whats the odds?
lets see... half ball? one ball? one n half ball?
all depends on the medical board lah...
machiam like asking the general public pple will ur 4D number open this weekend or not... who knows sia... only singapore pools people knows...
=
Hi eac, i will like to ask on behalf of my friend,
he was diagnosed with kidney stones from the past the past few months and he still have yet to recover from his illness.His kidney feel painful most of the time,can he be downgraded for this illness? how serious is this illness and can kidney stone develop to a kidney failure?
Tanx....
Originally posted by Ferman 8:Hi eac, i will like to ask on behalf of my friend,
he was diagnosed with kidney stones from the past the past few months and he still have yet to recover from his illness.His kidney feel painful most of the time,can he be downgraded for this illness? how serious is this illness and can kidney stone develop to a kidney failure?
Tanx....
He should get a specialist memo as a supporting document and pass it to the camp MO.
Please click here for more info:
hello im here to ask advice for my friend who is serving his NS...
My friend was posted to an infantry unit after his BMT and prior to that he didn't have any chest or heart medical history. When my friend started his training in his unit, he suffered from frequent chest pain and the pain worsened while running or doing strenuous exercises, causing him to fall out for all the runs. He went to the MO once but the MO asked him to take an ECG. The ECG turned out normal and my friend was put on drip (he told me it was freaking painful when they poke him for it) and observed for 4 hours before he was let go without status. Subsequently, the pain continued and he went to the MO a second time despite being afraid of the drip and sent to the sickbay again as the pain was really great and he was really worried. This time the ECG done turned out to be abnormal and the doctor says his heart is beating too fast. The doctor sent him to sickbay (again!) for observation and took a blood test for some thyroid thing. After about 3 hours, the doctor noticed that my friend's hands were trembling and his pulse was super fast and advised him to go see the A&E department of any hospital.
So my friend went to SGH and they realised that his blood pressure is quite high and did ECG and chest xray for him. But eventually they found nothing and he was sent home. They suspect that the chest pain was musculo-skeletal in nature and said that the pain should stop after awhile. However, my friend still continue to experience chest pain while running or walking at a fast paced and keeps falling out from runs. He was also accused of malingering many times by his platoon mates and he feels very upset and depressed about it. My friend is now very worried about his condition and the numerous trainings he has missed. He also hope to revocate to a less physically-taxing vocation so that his pain will not act up and he can serve his NS with a peace of mind but he doesn't know how to go about it.
Does anyone here have any advice for my friend?
Originally posted by puzzledd90:hello im here to ask advice for my friend who is serving his NS...
My friend was posted to an infantry unit after his BMT and prior to that he didn't have any chest or heart medical history. When my friend started his training in his unit, he suffered from frequent chest pain and the pain worsened while running or doing strenuous exercises, causing him to fall out for all the runs. He went to the MO once but the MO asked him to take an ECG. The ECG turned out normal and my friend was put on drip (he told me it was freaking painful when they poke him for it) and observed for 4 hours before he was let go without status. Subsequently, the pain continued and he went to the MO a second time despite being afraid of the drip and sent to the sickbay again as the pain was really great and he was really worried. This time the ECG done turned out to be abnormal and the doctor says his heart is beating too fast. The doctor sent him to sickbay (again!) for observation and took a blood test for some thyroid thing. After about 3 hours, the doctor noticed that my friend's hands were trembling and his pulse was super fast and advised him to go see the A&E department of any hospital.
So my friend went to SGH and they realised that his blood pressure is quite high and did ECG and chest xray for him. But eventually they found nothing and he was sent home. They suspect that the chest pain was musculo-skeletal in nature and said that the pain should stop after awhile. However, my friend still continue to experience chest pain while running or walking at a fast paced and keeps falling out from runs. He was also accused of malingering many times by his platoon mates and he feels very upset and depressed about it. My friend is now very worried about his condition and the numerous trainings he has missed. He also hope to revocate to a less physically-taxing vocation so that his pain will not act up and he can serve his NS with a peace of mind but he doesn't know how to go about it.
Does anyone here have any advice for my friend?
He should get a specialist memo as a medical supporting document and pass it to the camp MO.
Please click here for more info:
8 Simple Rules to Medical Board (Genuine Medical Cases)
Thank you for your reply...
I just called my friend in camp and he told me he has seen a specialist last week but the specialist couldn't find out what is wrong with him. He didn't know if he should ask for a letter to revocate since the specialist said he will be fine. However, he is still experiencing chest pain now though. My friend wants to find out if revocation to a physically less taxing vocation such as driver require a specialist's memo as well since it does not involve a downgrade of pes status.
Most revocations are done on medical bases and if there is no way he can prove that his health is affected by his current vocation, its hard for to to get a revocation.