if offered to attend medical board, but condition have recovered, can still ask medical board not to downgrade? so that can recourse BMT
cannot lah... mindef wants to play safe...
if not, later u become pikachu (bai ka bai chu), or worse, another tekong RIP guy...
wanna serve country, mindef also dun allow?
Hi.
I am currently a pre-enlistee, waiting to enlist on June 5th. I have developed a foot problem which I suspect is a stress fracture. I only took notice of this as it wasn't really painful from the start (which was 1 1/2 months ago). It got worse ever since I started jogging (to which I have stopped a week ago). When I put pressure on the ball of my right foot, i will feel a sharp pain. Of course, the degree of pain varies with the activities concerned, but even so, basic stuff like walking down a single flight of stairs will cause sharp pain.
I was worried that it will cause more pain (and permanent damage) if I went through BMT with all the physical aspects on marching, running etc. As such, I was hoping for a temporary downgrade of my PES from BP.
I have called the CMPB MCC hotline to inform them about this. They recommended that I go see the MO at CMPB with a memo from a specialist instead of going to CMPB empty handed hoping for a referral.
Questions
1.) How long would a polyclinic referral take, suppose I notify them of the urgency behind this case (not long from conscription) ?
2.) What is the likely PES classification I would get supposing it is a fracture.
3.) Will I need to recourse my BMT if I went thru the Modified BMT under a temporary PES C grading?
4.) Will I make it in time I went to a specialist at CGH straight away?
5.) Will they give me a PES D grading if I approached CMPB first (to obtain a referral)?
Thanks and sorry for the long list of questions!
Originally posted by Papercreme:Hi.
I am currently a pre-enlistee, waiting to enlist on June 5th. I have developed a foot problem which I suspect is a stress fracture. I only took notice of this as it wasn't really painful from the start (which was 1 1/2 months ago). It got worse ever since I started jogging (to which I have stopped a week ago). When I put pressure on the ball of my right foot, i will feel a sharp pain. Of course, the degree of pain varies with the activities concerned, but even so, basic stuff like walking down a single flight of stairs will cause sharp pain.I was worried that it will cause more pain (and permanent damage) if I went through BMT with all the physical aspects on marching, running etc. As such, I was hoping for a temporary downgrade of my PES from BP.
I have called the CMPB MCC hotline to inform them about this. They recommended that I go see the MO at CMPB with a memo from a specialist instead of going to CMPB empty handed hoping for a referral.
Questions
1.) How long would a polyclinic referral take, suppose I notify them of the urgency behind this case (not long from conscription) ?
2.) What is the likely PES classification I would get supposing it is a fracture.
3.) Will I need to recourse my BMT if I went thru the Modified BMT under a temporary PES C grading?
4.) Will I make it in time I went to a specialist at CGH straight away?
5.) Will they give me a PES D grading if I approached CMPB first (to obtain a referral)?
Thanks and sorry for the long list of questions!
1) As usual, at least 2 weeks to refer from polyclinic visit to hospital appointment date.
2) It's within temporary PES C range.
3) You will only need to undergo BMT once, regardless of PES changes.
4) Yes, you will. But it will be cosier without a referral letter from polyclinic, as you will be billed as a private patient instead of a subsidised patient, since if you are a walk-in case into the A & E of a hospital.
5) Most likely a No.
1) As usual, at least 2 weeks to refer from polyclinic visit to hospital appointment date.
2) It's within temporary PES C range.
3) You will only need to undergo BMT once, regardless of PES changes.
4) Yes, you will. But it will be cosier without a referral letter from polyclinic, as you will be billed as a private patient instead of a subsidised patient, since if you are a walk-in case into the A & E of a hospital.
5) Most likely a No.
Hey, thanks for the prompt reply!
But just to clarify some of my doubts.
1.) Will a referral at CMPB be quicker or should I just head over to a polyclinic?
2.) Will the overall process be fast enough suppose I took the polyclinic/CMPB referral route? Fast enough for CMPB to respond before my enlistment date?
Thanks once again!
Originally posted by Papercreme:Hey, thanks for the prompt reply!
But just to clarify some of my doubts.
1.) Will a referral at CMPB be quicker or should I just head over to a polyclinic?
2.) Will the overall process be fast enough suppose I took the polyclinic/CMPB referral route? Fast enough for CMPB to respond before my enlistment date?
Thanks once again!
1) It's the same waiting time using both options. Unless you walk-in at A&E, priority given but you pay more since you will be billed as private patient.
2) It's once you get the specialist memo, head down immediately to CMPB to hand in the memo. Most important is the specialist clinic appointment date.
But if say I don't make it in time for CMPB to do anything (only obtaining a memo right before enlistment), will the MO at Tekong be able to downgrade me or will he have to bring it forward to the medical board for review?
I'm really quite worried now and I plan to see a polyclinic doc tomorrow for a referral. Also, seeing a specialist directly would be too expensive for me.
How long would it take for CMPB to review my PES once they receive the memo from a specialist?
Downgrades are ONLY by medical board and medical board only meets once a month so that the earliest time it would take for them to consider your case.
<!-- /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:"MS Mincho"; panose-1:2 2 6 9 4 2 5 8 3 4; mso-font-alt:"ï¼ï¼³ 明æœ�"; mso-font-charset:128; mso-generic-font-family:modern; mso-font-pitch:fixed; mso-font-signature:-1610612033 1757936891 16 0 131231 0;} @font-face {font-family:"\@MS Mincho"; panose-1:2 2 6 9 4 2 5 8 3 4; mso-font-charset:128; mso-generic-font-family:modern; mso-font-pitch:fixed; mso-font-signature:-1610612033 1757936891 16 0 131231 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"MS Mincho"; mso-fareast-language:JA;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} -->
Greetings, Sir,
During my BMT, I fell and injured my ankle. I
went to see my specialist, and he gave me a full cast and said that the injury
(which he says is a torn ligament) could be due to a loose ankle from the
pervious, much more serious complete ligament tear injury. My specialist wanted
to give me a MC, but I felt embarrassed to take it. However, in camp, the itch
in my cast got very bad, but I managed to brace through till book out (It was
only three days, as my attend C from my send out lasted till then, and even
though it was just three days, the inability to bath and itch in my cast was
getting horrible)
After I booked out, I went to a nearby GP to ask
for medication for my itch. To my amazement, the GP gave me 6 days of MC (which
I ready took because I realized that, with my cast, staying in camp was too
tough); because the GP said that I should rest and elevate my leg to reduce the
swelling.
This is my first day of attend C and I am getting
worried. Is a GP's MC valid in NS? Also, regarding the loose ankle, should I
get my specialist to write a report, or would it be a waste of my money (I may
have to pay for the report as the specialist is a private specialist)?
Thank you, Sir.
Originally posted by MeltyBlood:<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:PunctuationKerning /> <w:ValidateAgainstSchemas /> <w:SaveIfXMLInvalid>false</w:SaveIfXMLInvalid> <w:IgnoreMixedContent>false</w:IgnoreMixedContent> <w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText>false</w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables /> <w:SnapToGridInCell /> <w:WrapTextWithPunct /> <w:UseAsianBreakRules /> <w:DontGrowAutofit /> <w:UseFELayout /> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:LatentStyles DefLockedState="false" LatentStyleCount="156"> </w:LatentStyles> </xml><![endif]--> <!-- /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:"MS Mincho"; panose-1:2 2 6 9 4 2 5 8 3 4; mso-font-alt:"ï¼ï¼³ 明æœ�"; mso-font-charset:128; mso-generic-font-family:modern; mso-font-pitch:fixed; mso-font-signature:-1610612033 1757936891 16 0 131231 0;} @font-face {font-family:"\@MS Mincho"; panose-1:2 2 6 9 4 2 5 8 3 4; mso-font-charset:128; mso-generic-font-family:modern; mso-font-pitch:fixed; mso-font-signature:-1610612033 1757936891 16 0 131231 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"MS Mincho"; mso-fareast-language:JA;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} --> <!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} </style> <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <o:shapedefaults v:ext="edit" spidmax="1026" /> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <o:shapelayout v:ext="edit"> <o:idmap v:ext="edit" data="1" /> </o:shapelayout></xml><![endif]-->
Greetings, Sir,
During my BMT, I fell and injured my ankle. I went to see my specialist, and he gave me a full cast and said that the injury (which he says is a torn ligament) could be due to a loose ankle from the pervious, much more serious complete ligament tear injury. My specialist wanted to give me a MC, but I felt embarrassed to take it. However, in camp, the itch in my cast got very bad, but I managed to brace through till book out (It was only three days, as my attend C from my send out lasted till then, and even though it was just three days, the inability to bath and itch in my cast was getting horrible)
After I booked out, I went to a nearby GP to ask for medication for my itch. To my amazement, the GP gave me 6 days of MC (which I ready took because I realized that, with my cast, staying in camp was too tough); because the GP said that I should rest and elevate my leg to reduce the swelling.
This is my first day of attend C and I am getting worried. Is a GP's MC valid in NS? Also, regarding the loose ankle, should I get my specialist to write a report, or would it be a waste of my money (I may have to pay for the report as the specialist is a private specialist)?
Thank you, Sir.
I don't see why not?
I am concerned about the duration of the MC given.
Originally posted by MeltyBlood:I am concerned about the duration of the MC given.
as long as the doctor is registered with www.smc.gov.sg can liao...
Hi...
Since when I was in primary school, I discovered my joints would pop easily. I don't know it this is a condition or what.
Almost all my joints would pop when I bend it to the limit, especially my knees. Foot on floor, and I try to twist my whole leg, my knee would pop very loudly. Sometimes my joint would feel very tight, and popping releaves the sensation.
I also have neurofibromatosis, heriditary condition from father's side. Have some
neurofibromas on my arms, head and thigh. The thigh one causes pain when I press on it, and sometimes my whole leg goes numb and can't move bcause the tumour is pressing on other nerves. Need few minutes to regain sensation and movement. Also notice half of my face is not as "movable" as the other half. If I smile, my smile is somewhat lobesided unless I make a concious effort to smile on the other side of my face too.
I'm going in in July. Any recommendations?
Originally posted by MrNameless:Hi...
Since when I was in primary school, I discovered my joints would pop easily. I don't know it this is a condition or what.
Almost all my joints would pop when I bend it to the limit, especially my knees. Foot on floor, and I try to twist my whole leg, my knee would pop very loudly. Sometimes my joint would feel very tight, and popping releaves the sensation.
I also have neurofibromatosis, heriditary condition from father's side. Have some
neurofibromas on my arms, head and thigh. The thigh one causes pain when I press on it, and sometimes my whole leg goes numb and can't move bcause the tumour is pressing on other nerves. Need few minutes to regain sensation and movement. Also notice half of my face is not as "movable" as the other half. If I smile, my smile is somewhat lobesided unless I make a concious effort to smile on the other side of my face too.I'm going in in July. Any recommendations?
Hi, I am enlisting in June 5..
Actually i always have problem that needs to be fix, you know.. ocd.. and the condition is getting bad.. please don't laugh at me..
i planned to consult the psychiatrist silently without SAF notice in order to avoid the 'black mark' record by SAF. So I declare i am very healthy. I already consulted the polyclinic doc and obtained a referral letter for an appointment to a psychiatrist from NUH. The appointment is 3 months from the referral letter and I waited since April(Yeah i know its quite long) but to my surprise, the enlistment letter came before i expected and informed me that i will be enlisting in June 5(Pes B). That acutually made me kinda worried because I haven't fixed my problem and I doesn't want to go inside want to go inside without even having at least a therapy for my problem.. So I plan to take a private one and they told me its on May 20 but it is a consultation from a psychiatrist consultant before going to the actual psychiatrist for therapy AGAIN. What I am i gonna do?? I doesn't want NS to know but my enlistment date is coming.. Is it possible to tell the CMPB to delay a 1 or 2 months? Must i really declare? please advise me because i even had a hard time typing this question..
Originally posted by ProC:Hi, I am enlisting in June 5..
Actually i always have problem that needs to be fix, you know.. ocd.. and the condition is getting bad.. please don't laugh at me..
i planned to consult the psychiatrist silently without SAF notice in order to avoid the 'black mark' record by SAF. So I declare i am very healthy. I already consulted the polyclinic doc and obtained a referral letter for an appointment to a psychiatrist from NUH. The appointment is 3 months from the referral letter and I waited since April(Yeah i know its quite long) but to my surprise, the enlistment letter came before i expected and informed me that i will be enlisting in June 5(Pes B). That acutually made me kinda worried because I haven't fixed my problem and I doesn't want to go inside want to go inside without even having at least a therapy for my problem.. So I plan to take a private one and they told me its on May 20 but it is a consultation from a psychiatrist consultant before going to the actual psychiatrist for therapy AGAIN. What I am i gonna do?? I doesn't want NS to know but my enlistment date is coming.. Is it possible to tell the CMPB to delay a 1 or 2 months? Must i really declare? please advise me because i even had a hard time typing this question..
You can try to arrange for another medical review with CMPB, maybe u'll get downgraded.
This is a yet another typical case of non-declaration...
I always strongly urge all here to honestly and truthfully declare, declare and declare right from the start at CMPB.
Now, you can only call CMPB Medical Centre @ 6373 1340 during official office hours to seek an urgent medical review, for now this time, to make an honest and truthful declaration of medical conditions to CMPB.
There is 100% absolutely nothing to affect your civilian life after ORD, Mindef will NOT disclose anything to any employer. What's done inside the military will remain inside and within the military only.
For more information, please refer to:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
thanks guys.. the sentences green made my doubts away too.. But i doesn't have a memo but only a referral letter.. just call them? what will happen if i call them for another medical reivew..? like give me an appointment or..?
ya, they will advise u on the appointment date and time... just call them...
I don't see why you should worry about people laughing at you having OCD nor why you would hide it from the MO. I don't know why OCD will make it hard for you to even post here since you are unlikely the 1st OCD person or for that matter people with psychological problems who post here for help.
As eac mentioned, declaring of all medical problems is important. There are too many cases of people didn't declare because they worry about affecting their future, affecting their chances to become officers etc and later lead to more serious problems happening to them due to them not declaring during the initial medical checkup.
good day eac
sir i got a few things that i need to asked about for medical checkup as its coming already (25 may 2009)
1) im borned with dyslexia and ADD and i got phycologist report on it so does that give me a chance to go to a lower pecs?
2)i am have allgerys to dust mites and have sinest (im so sorry i cant spell well) and i undergo operation in the past and the surgeon removed one of my nose bones and also means my nose bleed easily with just reasonablely hard hit
3)i got this weird rash since pri 5 and its been on my body (not face) and at times it tends to be painful escpailly when theres a change in tempreture and its like tons of needles pokeing me. i did highlight this to 2 doctors but they cant cure it
4) i got this skin problem on my right foot for about 2 years and i seen two doctors about it but the medicalion they gave dun seem to work
what is your view on this sir?
Originally posted by maxmax12:good day eac
sir i got a few things that i need to asked about for medical checkup as its coming already (25 may 2009)
1) im borned with dyslexia and ADD and i got phycologist report on it so does that give me a chance to go to a lower pecs?
2)i am have allgerys to dust mites and have sinest (im so sorry i cant spell well) and i undergo operation in the past and the surgeon removed one of my nose bones and also means my nose bleed easily with just reasonablely hard hit
3)i got this weird rash since pri 5 and its been on my body (not face) and at times it tends to be painful escpailly when theres a change in tempreture and its like tons of needles pokeing me. i did highlight this to 2 doctors but they cant cure it
4) i got this skin problem on my right foot for about 2 years and i seen two doctors about it but the medicalion they gave dun seem to work
what is your view on this sir?
Skin problems most prob u can try going to the National Skin Center for checkup etc and maybe they can give you a letter etc to get you excuse uniform/boots if you want.
Sinus and allergy is still mostly PES B unless you have a specialist letter that recommends you for stayout if not it won't have much effect i think.
hi sir, i just got my mri report stating that i have mild diffuse disc bulge at l4/l5 causing minial thecal indentation. what pes will i get? is it a confirm downpes case since mo said that he needs to check the medical directive.
thx in advance
Originally posted by kid to be:hi sir, i just got my mri report stating that i have mild diffuse disc bulge at l4/l5 causing minial thecal indentation. what pes will i get? is it a confirm downpes case since mo said that he needs to check the medical directive.
thx in advance
It's within PES C range.