Originally posted by gunner1976:Hi,
i m a navy combat nsman, recently during a health screening, i was discovered that my ECG was abnormal. After being referred to see a cardiologist, i found out that my condition was confimed as MVP (Mitral Valve Prolapse).
I would like to ask if my condition warrants a PES downgrade?
thanks
in pes c range.
during my ns time last time, one of the storemen has this too...
thanks for ur reply..
how shd i go abt doing it? my cardiologist did not mention anything abt PES downgrade. my ippt window opens in june 09, will i be liable to pass it?
as i am now an nsman, how do i inform my ict unit abt my condition? pls advise..thanks
Originally posted by gunner1976:thanks for ur reply..
how shd i go abt doing it? my cardiologist did not mention anything abt PES downgrade. my ippt window opens in june 09, will i be liable to pass it?
as i am now an nsman, how do i inform my ict unit abt my condition? pls advise..thanks
I believe this link shoud be able to fully answer your questions
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
As for the IPPT window,yes,you will be liable to pass it until they have officially downgraded you to C2 and below or the specialist/MO has excused you from IPPT for at least 6 months consecutively or 9 months worth of accumulated excuse in the same window.Do note,a temporary excuse IPPT does not mean that you will be automatically excused from other subsequent windows.If the excuse is not issued by the SAF MO,you will have to get it endorsed by one or it won't count.
Read the below link from the ns.sg website for more info:
http://www.ns.sg/publish/NSPORTAL/public/all_services/index/Phase2_NonIctIpptRt/faq/medical_excuse_and.html
can i check with u mitral valve prolapse and shin splint can down till what status?
Originally posted by IvanTan:can i check with u mitral valve prolapse and shin splint can down till what status?
minimum in pes c range lah...
maximum in pes e range lor...
its all depends on the severity of the conditions and what the specialist had written in the specialist memo...
more info: http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
hi guys,
just to check, is hyperlaxed ligaments a condition elligible for downpes?
Originally posted by kkw09:
hi guys,
just to check, is hyperlaxed ligaments a condition elligible for downpes?
Yes, it can be within PES C range, subject to the level of severity and the specialist memo.
For more information, go to: www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
sprain ankle can downgrade?
Originally posted by IvanTan:sprain ankle can downgrade?
U wan chao keng ah, every small matter u wan downgrade. You might as well ask whether cough and flu can pes E anot then the entire sg army will be full of PES E/F ppl...
ya lor... sprained ankles at most doctor give u excuse boots and excuse lower limb activities for a few days nia... kengster sia...
So will the cardiologist recommend for downgrade automatically for mitral valve prolapse patients?
Is there a need to specifically request from the cardiologist?
Originally posted by gunner1976:So will the cardiologist recommend for downgrade automatically for mitral valve prolapse patients?
Is there a need to specifically request from the cardiologist?
Go get a Specialist memo...
For more information, go to: www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
I took my ECG
Normal Sinus Rhythm
Possible Right Ventricular hypertrophy
Nonspecific ST abnormality
Abnormal ECG
What is Possible Right Ventricular Hypertrophy
One memo showed "above has been seen in our clinic for
anxiety symptoms".
This memo from govt specialist clinic .I am on med currently
Should i pass this memo to Camp mo?
Kindly advise.
Thanks
Originally posted by Limlimlimsun:
I took my ECG
Normal Sinus Rhythm
Possible Right Ventricular hypertrophy
Nonspecific ST abnormality
Abnormal ECG
What is Possible Right Ventricular Hypertrophy
One memo showed "above has been seen in our clinic for
anxiety symptoms".
This memo from govt specialist clinic .I am on med currently
Should i pass this memo to Camp mo?
Kindly advise.
Thanks
Yes, definitely you must hand in this memo to the camp MO.
Right Ventricular Hypertrophy:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ventricular_hypertrophy
http://www.echoincontext.com/int2/skillI2_03.asp
http://www.downloadheart.us/right-ventricular-hypertrophy-a-rare-but-fatal-disease.html
Originally posted by eac:
http://www.downloadheart.us/right-ventricular-hypertrophy-a-rare-but-fatal-disease.html
I think my friend also have this le
Originally posted by eac:
For the Right ventrucular hypertrophy
I dun have memo on it, I only have the ECG report
and the dr(who is not a cardio dr at all) told me it is ok one.
ECG report quoted abnormal but dr say ok?
So what should i do in this case
Thanks
just show the memo lah to the camp doctor... try try no harm...
Originally posted by Rednano:just show the memo lah to the camp doctor... try try no harm...
Wat about the ECG report , it is not a proper memo at all
Will the Mo just accept this kind of report?
Originally posted by Limlimlimsun:
Wat about the ECG report , it is not a proper memo at allWill the Mo just accept this kind of report?
Please go read here: http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224
Originally posted by Rednano:
ok thanks
ok thanks
think
ok thanks
think i
Hi there,
I would really appreciate if anyone could shed some light here..
In Oct 2008, i was called up for my ICT but i succesfully deferred due to a newly established business.
Shortly after, i was sent another notice for my ICT on 1st July 2009. However, this time around, i am scheduled for a knee surgery (likely to be on clutches for about 2 weeks) a week before the 1st of July. The camps MO has also reviewed my medical condition, posted me to the medical board for a downgrade from B to C2L2 and given me excuses for IPPT, marching, jumping, etc. for 3 months, ending August.
I have applied for another deferment through ns.sg and submitted 2 documents, my hospital surgery admission form and th MC from my camp's MO.
Now, my questions is how likely am i to get my deferment request approved again this time? I am in the rsaf and was an aircraft techician (non combat) before. I hear that the upcoming ICT may involve being in some national day preps.
Thanks in advance!!
to the above, pick ur choice:
yes/ no/ maybe/ perhaps/ so-so/ 50-50/ i dont know/ no idea/ hard to say/ not up to us to decide/ no comments
Hi, I am currently an NSF serving ns in the saf bands. I am pes B and am an A level holder but will be doing an mbbs in a reputable uni in london after I ord. I'm ording in a couple of months and I would like to ask a few questions regarding my reservist/rt.
1. After doing some research on google, is it true that when i come back after graduating with an mbbs, i will have a choice of opting for either reservist MOCC or to do reservist as a combatant? Saf bands currently do not have any reservist vocation but they are thinking of setting up a reservist band, but requirements for entry into that are different (they need a music grade which i do not have).
2. During my 5-6 year mbbs course, will i still be called up for reservist/rt if i fail my yearly ippt? Or can i ask them to defer it all until after i graduate? Cause having to do reservist (wherever i get posted to) or rt while still in the course is detrimental to my studies. I mean, even though I have summer and christmas breaks, might they still call me back during this period?
3. Will the "no reservist for people who earn alot" rule apply to me if i opt NOT to do reservist MOCC and get posted to be a combatant? I mean, the graduate pay of doctors is around 4k+, but does it mean that after say 5-8 years of working, IF say I start earning a salary of like 10k or something, will they stop calling me back for reservist?
4. Do i still have to pass my ippt every year without fail even during my period of studies? Im pes b but im one of those who can pass every station (some even with gold standard) but who always fail to pass the 2.4, hence resulting in me having to take the whole test again. Plus, training for the 2.4 for me will require at least 4 weeks of 3 times a week running before the ippt test, so i fear it might again be detrimental to my studies even during my holidays. (Im not the kind of person who runs comsistently)