Originally posted by Rednano:
the packages r based on age and the pricings...more tests, more pricey... and MRI scan arent cheap... its quite expensive... so the MRI scan is in the more pricey packages in the health screening range.. such as in the e.g. deluxe, platinum, gold, titanium packages and $ in the the thousands...
basic ones for blood tests and general well being is already in the hundreds $ range liao...
Originally posted by marcteng:
can i ask, are you a doc? lol
nope, read b4 such hospital brochures in the specialist clinic while waiting for the doctor's appt time...
Originally posted by Rednano:
and as advised by eac, directly go A&E chop chop even faster to book specialist appts...advises prompts r given, whether u take it or leave it, up to u...
I will go for A&E when I really cant take it anymore... But have to queue whole day leh and dunno whether will get early appt or not... How fast wil the appt be generally?
I dunno, why dun u ask them lol. checkup need to use MRI? not X-Ray? need diagnostic radiological?
i will be studying bio sci at NTU. Lol my results not gd enough to study medicine la... And my strength does not lie there either...
Originally posted by eac:
You should follow the instructions from the camp MO then.
The thing was that the Camp mo also excuse me
from firearms too..
Arent that weird?
Excuse ICT , still excuse firearms for ?
unless maybe after all he decided i still can go?
Originally posted by unclebutcher:eh HH, dun bother waiting for the MO referred specialist. go to polyclinic ask for referral. the MO one will take aroudn 2mths to see. polyclinic referred one is alot faster.
How much faster are polyclinics compared to MO? I thought both also must wait for a few months for the appt?
If excuse outfield what are the possible combat vocations one can end up with?
Originally posted by HH:If excuse outfield what are the possible combat vocations one can end up with?
Depend on what combat vocation you are talking about
Originally posted by tarutaru:Depend on what combat vocation you are talking about
Lol.. ya i am asking that wad. i am asking which combat vocation i may end up with?
Originally posted by HH:Lol.. ya i am asking that wad. i am asking which combat vocation i may end up with?
Seriously, unless medical board recommend or else u cannot get revocate.
hi guys, i've a qns about my knee condition, hopefully the MOs in the house can help me out here =)
during bmt field camp i started to experience pain in my left knee but i thought it was just a strain or smthing so during block leave i went for an xray and the report says :
mild degenerative changes are seen in the knee joints with osteophytic lipping at the superior articular margins of both patellae. no calcified intra-articular loose bodies are seen. bony alignment is maintained.
so basically the pain mostly occurs during/ after exercise, standing, going up/down stairs and squating. however the pain is not to the extent of excruciating.
am i entitled to a down pes since this is a long term problem although pain is not that significant yet?
many thanks!!!!!
Originally posted by Alvin koh123:hi guys, i've a qns about my knee condition, hopefully the MOs in the house can help me out here =)
during bmt field camp i started to experience pain in my left knee but i thought it was just a strain or smthing so during block leave i went for an xray and the report says :
mild degenerative changes are seen in the knee joints with osteophytic lipping at the superior articular margins of both patellae. no calcified intra-articular loose bodies are seen. bony alignment is maintained.
so basically the pain mostly occurs during/ after exercise, standing, going up/down stairs and squating. however the pain is not to the extent of excruciating.
am i entitled to a down pes since this is a long term problem although pain is not that significant yet?
many thanks!!!!!
sure why not. you should see a specialist, ask your camp MO to refer to one.
Originally posted by HH:Lol.. ya i am asking that wad. i am asking which combat vocation i may end up with?
how we know sia lol, depends on MINDEF.
Originally posted by HH:If excuse outfield what are the possible combat vocations one can end up with?
combat medic u want or not lol
Originally posted by HH:How much faster are polyclinics compared to MO? I thought both also must wait for a few months for the appt?
i dunno abt MO, but polyclinic can make appointment and tell you date and time of the appointment liao. can you take off or leave to polyclinic?
but then if you go to polyclinic, pls inform your medical centre that, if not they also made an appointment for you.
i went for a specialist alr, but he gave me 3 mth physio and excuse and refused to let me go for a MRI. he gave me the impression that if the pain is gone, the problem is gone as well, however from what i know, in the majority of the cases of osteoarthritis, suffers do not feel pain.
since the degeneration of cartilage and osteophyte lipping are signs of osteoarthritis why is he unable to diagnose me and just give me a more definite answer like, remain in pes/down pes or anything since physio might not help to recover my cartilage too.as far as i know, osteoarthritis is a long term problem, just because its prolly a mild early case, does it mean that i should continue to use my knee till its badly busted? wouldn't that be too late?
another qns, will going to a private specialist with my xray report be sufficient for any action to be done?
thanks in advance guys!
Originally posted by Alvin koh123:i went for a specialist alr, but he gave me 3 mth physio and excuse and refused to let me go for a MRI. he gave me the impression that if the pain is gone, the problem is gone as well, however from what i know, in the majority of the cases of osteoarthritis, suffers do not feel pain.
since the degeneration of cartilage and osteophyte lipping are signs of osteoarthritis why is he unable to diagnose me and just give me a more definite answer like, remain in pes/down pes or anything since physio might not help to recover my cartilage too.as far as i know, osteoarthritis is a long term problem, just because its prolly a mild early case, does it mean that i should continue to use my knee till its badly busted? wouldn't that be too late?
another qns, will going to a private specialist with my xray report be sufficient for any action to be done?
thanks in advance guys!
If the private specialist recommends u for downgrade then u have a case lo. If he also say just rest for a few months will do then u wasted your money. Remember that going private specialist u cannot claim from SAF.
Originally posted by Alvin koh123:i went for a specialist alr, but he gave me 3 mth physio and excuse and refused to let me go for a MRI. he gave me the impression that if the pain is gone, the problem is gone as well, however from what i know, in the majority of the cases of osteoarthritis, suffers do not feel pain.
thanks in advance guys!
well, u can try... going to a private specialist loh...
since u r paying more money for its services, u may get a strongly worded specialist memo to give to camp MO for PES review lor...
hmmm seems like experience of a specialist with the SAF system does make a big difference?
but i think saf will trust govt hospital more.
Seem like govt hosp less likely to send patients for further test and also not so willing to give a report for down PES
seems possible, any ideas about temp down pes? if its like for a yr i heard they prolly wont post you out AGAIN after that period, just rumours tho
Originally posted by Alvin koh123:seems possible, any ideas about temp down pes? if its like for a yr i heard they prolly wont post you out AGAIN after that period, just rumours tho
just go and get as many specialist memos as possible lah... solve ur problem...
private / govt hospital up to u...
simply said, no specialist memo, no talk...
just get a strongly worded memo from the doctor...
private will be easier to get a memo from what i heard, but it going to cost alot more.
even for geninue cases, govt specialist will "play down" your conditon citing that you will be alright... quite reluctant to send you for tests etc....unlikely will get a specialised memo from them.
i dunno abt MO, but polyclinic can make appointment and tell you date and time of the appointment liao. can you take off or leave to polyclinic?
but then if you go to polyclinic, pls inform your medical centre that, if not they also made an appointment for you.
I am OOCed liao. The MO recommended OOC and revocation for me due to allergic rhinitis and conjuctivitis. My OC say he just submitted the report to HQ and in 2 weeks time or so i will be posted out. Any idea what are the likely vocations i will be posted to?