constant and consistent training.Originally posted by trueno86:Hi guys,
Need advise on how to improve 2.4 km timing. Currently best timing abt 11min 15 sec. Perform 2.4 km run 3 times a week in a stadium, as well as pull ups and sit ups. My target is below 9 min 30 sec. Thanks in advance.
i thought abt tis b4 as i saw other runners did, btw wat is the length of rest between each round, also do u mean sprint for the 1st 300m then slow down for the rest of 100m?Originally posted by wuming78:constant and consistent training.
2.4 is about speed hence tt is wat u haf to train - short but fast.
interval trg helps alot. 300 m sprint (timed) + 100 m , repeated for 6 rounds, with rest between each round. o cos the timing for each sprint should be faster wif each round.
other than tt is running about the same dist (say 3 km) and decreasing the timing progressively.
many do not realise tt warm ups jus b4 the 2.4 is crucial too. tt is one of the purposes of the 20 min rest after the static stations b4 the run. make full and good use of it to warm up ur body and leg muscles totally. it will help.
thanksOriginally posted by ditzy:Woah, you're aiming for a gold timing man. Keep practising, you'll realise soon enough you can go faster and cut precious seconds.
I wasn't a good runner back then but after training I managed to cut all the way back below 10mins too. Great achievement. Keep going, its something you can be proud of.![]()
length of rest can really does not matter - jus as long as u dun totally cool down. i think around 2 - 3 mins will be ok. and yes, its sprint the 300 m and jog for the rest of the 100 m. o cos the sprint should be timed to the speed u wish to achieve too.Originally posted by trueno86:i thought abt tis b4 as i saw other runners did, btw wat is the length of rest between each round, also do u mean sprint for the 1st 300m then slow down for the rest of 100m?
btw how old r u this year? shouldnt be THAT young since u r reservist? heh.. for cat y1 the gold timing is 10 mins.Originally posted by trueno86:thanks...actually more like aiming for the $400..
thanks for the tips...will start "implementing" it this wed...me cat y this year, y1 next year...i belong to guards...so it's 9 min 30 sec this year and 9 min 45 min next year...my plan is to take ippt at the end of this window and beginning of next window...best is to book like few days difference...$800 dollars man...consider it bonus for poor nsmen from saf...Originally posted by wuming78:btw how old r u this year? shouldnt be THAT young since u r reservist? heh.. for cat y1 the gold timing is 10 mins.![]()
well im sorrie. this has obviously been thought of before, as there is a compulsory interval of at least 3 mths between subsequent tests.Originally posted by trueno86:thanks for the tips...will start "implementing" it this wed...me cat y this year, y1 next year...i belong to guards...so it's 9 min 30 sec this year and 9 min 45 min next year...my plan is to take ippt at the end of this window and beginning of next window...best is to book like few days difference...$800 dollars man...consider it bonus for poor nsmen from saf...![]()
Originally posted by wuming78:well im sorrie. this has obviously been thought of before, as there is a compulsory interval of at least 3 mths between subsequent tests.![]()
where u training?? anywhere in jurong area?? i need to train too.. my window closing already.. die leh....Originally posted by trueno86:thanks for the tips...will start "implementing" it this wed...me cat y this year, y1 next year...i belong to guards...so it's 9 min 30 sec this year and 9 min 45 min next year...my plan is to take ippt at the end of this window and beginning of next window...best is to book like few days difference...$800 dollars man...consider it bonus for poor nsmen from saf...![]()
hw soon ur windows end? i hope it's at least 2 mths...wat's ur weak stations? me running around at yishun stadium...Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):where u training?? anywhere in jurong area?? i need to train too.. my window closing already.. die leh....![]()
3 more mths.. dun have really weak station lah. just need to start my engine again.. and aiming for pass only.. yishun.?? sianz too far.... anyone in jurong??Originally posted by trueno86:hw soon ur windows end? i hope it's at least 2 mths...wat's ur weak stations? me running around at yishun stadium...
its always easier to go for consistency rather than last minute effort.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):3 more mths.. dun have really weak station lah. just need to start my engine again.. and aiming for pass only.. yishun.?? sianz too far.... anyone in jurong??![]()
YES SIR!!! haha that is what i told my men last time lor.. but... sighz.. work work work.. rot to the core now..even got coy best PT b4.. but now... worrying can pass or not.. sighz...Originally posted by wuming78:its always easier to go for consistency rather than last minute effort.
im sure its not THAT difficulty to exercise at least once or twice a week? over the wkends? in the evenings?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):YES SIR!!! haha that is what i told my men last time lor.. but... sighz.. work work work.. rot to the core now..even got coy best PT b4.. but now... worrying can pass or not.. sighz...![]()
p.s anyone know a chio bu personal trainer??![]()
haha u know the meaning of rot to the core?? haha i know lah my fault lah ....Originally posted by wuming78:im sure its not THAT difficulty to exercise at least once or twice a week? over the wkends? in the evenings?
dont be too gan jiong and there is no need to run 2.4 every other dae to see how much u haf improved. do the interval trg and normal runs instead. remember progressive trg. and always remember also to warm up and cool down properly b4 and after trg, and hydrate urself properly.Originally posted by trueno86:10 min 49 sec today! Forgot to use the interval training method after 1st round (1 min 45 sec), so just pia all the way. 1 more min to go!![]()
Yes sir, will do next time. Attire wise, cos I m flat footed, so cannot wear those high tech Nikes. Got New Balance 855 instead. Also, I always wear long sleeves t shirt so that i can sweat more. Of cos, must drink tons of water b4 run.Originally posted by wuming78:dont be too gan jiong and there is no need to run 2.4 every other dae to see how much u haf improved. do the interval trg and normal runs instead. remember progressive trg. and always remember also to warm up and cool down properly b4 and after trg, and hydrate urself properly.
oh and ur attire (wat u wear and ur shoes) matter too.
there r certain features to look for in running shoes. the brand and price does not matter. NB, in my opinion, makes quite decent running shoes. so shouldnt be too off wif tt choice.Originally posted by trueno86:Yes sir, will do next time. Attire wise, cos I m flat footed, so cannot wear those high tech Nikes. Got New Balance 855 instead. Also, I always wear long sleeves t shirt so that i can sweat more. Of cos, must drink tons of water b4 run.
Last time my unit got this hokkien peng storeman smoke like dragon,seldom did PT and his 2.4km timing was less than 7.5-8 minutes.No bullshit,I ran with him before and I always lost him while running(of course la my timing was 10.5-11 minutes leh!)Originally posted by trueno86:Hi guys,
Need advise on how to improve 2.4 km timing. Currently best timing abt 11min 15 sec. Perform 2.4 km run 3 times a week in a stadium, as well as pull ups and sit ups. My target is below 9 min 30 sec. Thanks in advance.
i noe wat u mean, these "misfits of science" actually have to smoke a stick or two just before the run...it's beyond explanation...Originally posted by Doenitz:Last time my unit got this hokkien peng storeman smoke like dragon,seldom did PT and his 2.4km timing was less than 7.5-8 minutes.No bullshit,I ran with him before and I always lost him while running(of course la my timing was 10.5-11 minutes leh!)
Moral of story:smoke more?![]()