Let them think what they want....i gave up.Originally posted by Doenitz:From what I can see,many of them think it is something very fun to be in.They think it is something like those camps you used to have in high school.
Whenever I hear of such views,I tell them to visualize booking in on Sunday morning for COS duty or having night range in Saturday.But still,they don't understand.
While you are hot,sweaty,thirsty,tired,hungry,dirty on a Saturday night with "everything on" in the jungle while other people are chilling out at Orchard,very fun right?
Same here,hi 5!Originally posted by M©+square:Let them think what they want....i gave up.![]()
hm.. i think not all of them think this way, esp those who has someone close to them in ns. they prob think it more a rite of passage for the guys and appreciate that they do not have to go through it. and they prob think it a nuisance too if they are separated from their loved ones due to it.Originally posted by Doenitz:From what I can see,many of them think it is something very fun to be in.They think it is something like those camps you used to have in high school.
Whenever I hear of such views,I tell them to visualize booking in on Sunday morning for COS duty or having night range in Saturday.But still,they don't understand.
While you are hot,sweaty,thirsty,tired,hungry,dirty on a Saturday night with "everything on" in the jungle while other people are chilling out at Orchard,very fun right?

My OC used to tell us it is only because we are are hot,sweaty,thirsty,tired,hungry,dirty on a Saturday night with "everything on" in the jungle that those people at Orchard can chill out peacefully.Originally posted by Doenitz:From what I can see,many of them think it is something very fun to be in.They think it is something like those camps you used to have in high school.
oh yes .. haha.. but i think we all wish to be out there at orchard chilling out rather than being hot,sweaty,thirsty,tired,hungry,dirty on a Saturday night with "everything on" in the jungle .Originally posted by Doenitz:My OC used to tell us it is only because we are are hot,sweaty,thirsty,tired,hungry,dirty on a Saturday night with "everything on" in the jungle that those people at Orchard can chill out.![]()
Case studyOriginally posted by wuming78:hm.. i think not all of them think this way, esp those who has someone close to them in ns. they prob think it more a rite of passage for the guys and appreciate that they do not have to go through it. and they prob think it a nuisance too if they are separated from their loved ones due to it.
typical of girls....Originally posted by Doenitz:Case study
I chatted with this gal about job prospects after our graduation.She bemoaned the fact that guys have a higher starting salary in the public sector.I said it is because of the 2.5 years of our youth being sacrificed,she said "that's you guys' problem"
I rest my case.![]()
not all gals are tt shortsighted and unappreciative lah... im sure there are those who understand the things guys go through, and the purpose of it all.Originally posted by Doenitz:Case study
I chatted with this gal about job prospects after our graduation.She bemoaned the fact that guys have a higher starting salary in the public sector.I said it is because of the 2.5 years of our youth being sacrificed,she said "that's you guys' problem"
I rest my case.![]()
Told ya to gib up.Originally posted by Doenitz:Case study
I rest my case.![]()
Ya,I told her our 2.5 years count as "work experience" but she was still not convinced.Originally posted by wuming78:not all gals are tt shortsighted and unappreciative lah... im sure there are those who understand the things guys go through, and the purpose of it all.
actualli its not a higher starting salary - it just levels it so that guys will have similar salary scale as gals of their age, so as not to penalise guys for the 2 yrs spent in ns (so for guys their starting pay is the amount as though they had spent 2 yr working)
but remember - that applies ONLY to the public service, and not the private sector.
Some gals become ladies by spending a few K on some pieces of clothing that look no different from those sold at pasar malams.Originally posted by bismarck:typical of girls....
btw it shld also be
girls becomes ladies ?
dont tell me they do this in ochard road ?
their version of training?
Then ask her come and experience being hot,sweaty,thirsty,tired,hungry,dirty on a Saturday night with "everything on" in the jungle .Originally posted by Doenitz:Ya,I told her our 2.5 years count as "work experience" but she was still not convinced.
tell her if she is so hung up about it she should complain to the government lor. and see what kind of response she gets.Originally posted by Doenitz:Ya,I told her our 2.5 years count as "work experience" but she was still not convinced.
i think the case in point here is whether guys are proud to serve ns - the issue here is wat gals in singapore think of ns. and doenitz cited an example of a gal he knew.Originally posted by FireIce:i jus dun understand how come our guys are not proud to serve NS......
I'm proud serving my country.Originally posted by FireIce:i jus dun understand how come our guys are not proud to serve NS......
precisely..Originally posted by Doenitz:Some gals become ladies by spending a few K on some pieces of clothing that look no different from those sold at pasar malams.![]()
there are things we do that others dont appreciate..Originally posted by ChrisYX:I'm proud serving my country.
Just that, there are some things to grumble about lar.... like being hot,sweaty,thirsty,tired,hungry,dirty on a Saturday night with "everything on" in the jungle .
Ah, the things we do for our country.![]()
Not until they have experienced what we have to do through.Originally posted by bismarck:there are things we do that others dont appreciate..
i also dun understand why girls like to remark aganist the 'compensation' for NS men in the public sector when the time was spent serving the nation while others arentOriginally posted by FireIce:i jus dun understand how come our guys are not proud to serve NS......
As an aside,do you guys feel that you got funny stares when you were in No 4 in public places?Originally posted by bismarck:there are things we do that others dont appreciate..