im sure with ur specialist letter the tekong MO will have to do a med board for u - provided ur condition is serious enough and the specialist made it explicit in the letterOriginally posted by ah-soh:I have some questions that needs everyone's help:
I will be enlisting next Wednesday at BMTC 2 and I had some medical problems in my spine. I was given a PES B after the medical checkup and not long ago I went to CMPB for a medical review after visiting specialist with the X Rays and specialists' letter.
However the CMPB MO just browse the letter for a few seconds and said that he can't downgrade my PES and tell me to see MO in Tekong when your situations worsens.He didn't even take a look at the X-Ray.
I plans to see the Tekong MO soon after the enlistment but I am worried whether the MO will not put me on medical board? Or the MO will insist me to continue my military training even though my backpain is getting severe?
yes indeed. without a good health, how can u serve ur nation properly? anyway not only is it your right to bring up ur conditions, it is ur responsibility too - to ur parents, to ur commanders, etc. imagine wat happens if something happens to u (touchwood)!Originally posted by LazerLordz:Sometimes, you have to be insistent and persistent.This is within your rights to have proper medical care and attention.Do not let fear or loss of confidence be complicit in aggravating your back.Your health comes first, NS a distant second. Do consult your specialist on how he thinks your MO should treat your condition.A good specialist will not shirk from the diagnosis and try to "help" the Army.I have heard cases of MOs in Tekong who reject specialist letters without due cause, this is wrong.Ask Saabster, our forum MO and he'll tell you so too. Good luck to you and hope you clear up your medical doubts soon.
You know BMT got many types?Originally posted by ah-soh:A hundred thanks for the concerns and suggestions from everyone here!
So if my new PES is determined and I was posted out, will I need to return to Tekong someday for a recourse as I have heard about the word 'recourse'? How long will the recourse be?
A hundred thanks for answering my questions!
A hundred thanks to your valuable info!Originally posted by Doenitz:You know BMT got many types?
"Combat" BMT alonegot a few types:
1)Enhanced(the most shiong and longest duration of 10 weeks-i went through this one)all those air level and poly guys will go to this type usually held at tekong
2)Standard-for those monointake batches i.e enlist direct into your unit not tekong,usually for less qualified people,duration is 7 weeks but Combat training conducted
3)obese-4 months at tekong for those overweight guys
4)standard recourse-"combat" bmt for recourse people i.e the whole company all recoursees,no fresh recruits.One of my friends went for this when he nearing his ORD date.So when he POPed,other companies shouted "POP loh!" those super lao jiao recourse guys shouted "ORD loh"!
Non-combat BMT
1)Pes C BMT:7 weeks right? most of the time do area cleaning 1
2)Pes C BMT recourse:the whole company all recourse personnel
2)Pes E BMT-i dunno much coz not it was not around when i was still serving
So if you managed to downgrade to PES C and below,you will go for non combat BMT,but if your condition improves and your Pes status is upgraded,then all the best to you!
wow. not bad for someone who has yet to enlist.Originally posted by Doenitz:You know BMT got many types?
"Combat" BMT alonegot a few types:
1)Enhanced(the most shiong and longest duration of 10 weeks-i went through this one)all those air level and poly guys will go to this type usually held at tekong
2)Standard-for those monointake batches i.e enlist direct into your unit not tekong,usually for less qualified people,duration is 7 weeks but Combat training conducted
3)obese-4 months at tekong for those overweight guys
4)standard recourse-"combat" bmt for recourse people i.e the whole company all recoursees,no fresh recruits.One of my friends went for this when he nearing his ORD date.So when he POPed,other companies shouted "POP loh!" those super lao jiao recourse guys shouted "ORD loh"!
Non-combat BMT
1)Pes C BMT:7 weeks right? most of the time do area cleaning 1
2)Pes C BMT recourse:the whole company all recourse personnel
2)Pes E BMT-i dunno much coz not it was not around when i was still serving
So if you managed to downgrade to PES C and below,you will go for non combat BMT,but if your condition improves and your Pes status is upgraded,then all the best to you!
I yet to RE-enlist,you mean.Originally posted by wuming78:wow. not bad for someone who has yet to enlist.
oh paiseh. i mixed u up wif someone else i guess.Originally posted by Doenitz:I yet to RE-enlist,you mean.My first enlistment date is 8 Dec 98 leh...
recourses are the same as normal bmt courses, without the ptp o cos.Originally posted by ah-soh:By the way I have some question to ask on the recourse part:
1) How long is the recourse for a)PES A/B recourse b)PES C recourse?
2) When will we be required to return for the recourse?
3) After the recourse, will we be able to return to the unit that we were being posted to before?
A hundred thanks for answering my auestions!![]()
hm.. u mean halfway through bmt u got downgraded? ok.. not sure den if u need to go for the pes c bmt cos of that. i think it will depend on when u downgrade in this case.Originally posted by ah-soh:So if I was being downgraded from PES B to PES C in PTP/BMT after OOC then I will be turing for PES C recourse right?
Sorry for too many questions though.![]()
Yeah, what I mean is that halfway through BMT/PTP I got downgraded.Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. u mean halfway through bmt u got downgraded? ok.. not sure den if u need to go for the pes c bmt cos of that. i think it will depend on when u downgrade in this case.
if right from the start u get downgraded to pes c den u will jus go for the pes c bmt lor.Originally posted by ah-soh:Yeah, what I mean is that halfway through BMT/PTP I got downgraded.
If on the beginning of PTP I went to see the MO (I have my X Rays and specialist letters prepared) and eventually left Tekong after OOC (with PES downgraded if necessary), will the chance of returning back to Tekong to recourse very high?
Thanks for answering my doubts...
So if let's say, after just 3 weeks of enlistment, I get OOC and downgraded eventually, can I go for PES C BMT straight away, and there's no need to do recourse in the later stage of NS?Originally posted by wuming78:if right from the start u get downgraded to pes c den u will jus go for the pes c bmt lor.
is there something u are trying to achieve or not achieve?
if u wanna get it over and done wif quick, the best thing to do is to get downgraded even b4 u enlist. the next best thing is to report sick on the first dae wif a specialist letter, and become ooc immediately.Originally posted by ah-soh:So if let's say, after just 3 weeks of enlistment, I get OOC and downgraded eventually, can I go for PES C BMT straight away, and there's no need to do recourse in the later stage of NS?
I don't think that I would like to do a recourse and it would be the best if I can settle my BMT earlier.
But if I was required to do recourse so be it. However the first priority is my health. However it would be even better if I can complete BMT earlier without recourse.
Sorry for so many questions though.![]()
Actually I did went to CMPB to request for a medical review with the X Rays and Specialist letter but the MO there just browse through the letter within 5 seconds, loking reluctantly without even looking at the X Ray and told me to refer to Tekong MO during enlistment.Originally posted by wuming78:if u wanna get it over and done wif quick, the best thing to do is to get downgraded even b4 u enlist. the next best thing is to report sick on the first dae wif a specialist letter, and become ooc immediately.
hm.. in tt case it will have to be option 2.Originally posted by ah-soh:Actually I did went to CMPB to request for a medical review with the X Rays and Specialist letter but the MO there just browse through the letter within 5 seconds, loking reluctantly without even looking at the X Ray and told me to refer to Tekong MO during enlistment.
so if I choose option 2, can I go straight away to PES C BMT immediately if I got downgraded eventually?Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. in tt case it will have to be option 2.
No,it's up to the manpower department.So it is better you go for the pes c bmt while you are still pes c.If your pes c expires,then quickly go see the MO again if you are still not combat fit of course.If not you go for the combat bmt!Originally posted by ah-soh:so if I choose option 2, can I go straight away to PES C BMT immediately if I got downgraded eventually?
Thanks for your efforts on answering my questions.![]()
But the problem is -- I am currently PES B but due to my problems in spine deformity my shoulders will be very painful when carrying heavy things so I doubt I can cope with BMT.Originally posted by Doenitz:No,it's up to the manpower department.So it is better you go for the pes c bmt while you are still pes c.If your pes c expires,then quickly go see the MO again if you are still not combat fit of course.If not you go for the combat bmt!