We were not slaves. We were just the unwilling victims of a necessary evil.Originally posted by tetsumi:cool it guys...
anyway... we r not paying the recruits the $$ wat...
we r all brothers of slavery... (although i have enlist yet, but enlisting soon..)
pay got increase anot we have no choice but to wait for the official announcement...
i started this thread cos i tot it may be gd to share wif other forumites wat i noe n hope they can share wif me wat i noe...
anyway....
/me shouts NS s.u.c.k.s!
absolutely. so lets accept the situation and get on with it!Originally posted by noel:We were not slaves. We were just the unwilling victims of a necessary evil.![]()
Originally posted by kindaichi83:I totally agree with you, especially the fact that logistics and maintenance do form the backbone fo the SAF, and without us, the combatants would be fighting with guts and bare hands.Many do not like to face this fact, but who does the grunt work for the combatants to fire their weapons, drive their Bionixes, sleep in their bunks, eat at the cookhouses, jump out of a plane and land safely...the list goes on.
I am saying that once they confirmed that only combat will be getting the 'pay rise', I will write to complain.
My agruements:
1)[b] The service personnel, especially those in the logisitics and maintainence have to do lots of physical work everyday. Including carrying of heavy loads, cleaning up big tanks, loading supplies. They are as physically exhausting as those in combat side. Compares tp those instructors who sit around doing nothing all day., they deserved better.
2) Those in clerks vocations, have tons of paperworks to do. Some of which are very important and they always have to rush reports. This no doubt gives them mental stress so they deserved better.
3) Most combat personnel get to stay in. They don't need to have transportation allowances. Service personnel are likely to go home everyday. They need their transportation fees and of coz dinner... Combat get 3 meals a day. Service only gets lunch.
4) They already have their combat pay. What more they want? Service are as dangerous as combat. Some deal with ammo, some deal with tanks, some deal with heavy machinery, some deal with tons of highly sensitive paperworks, all these are as dangerous as those in combat.
5) Service personnel are always the ones to be tasked to do sai kang. Because combat people are more important, sai kang always left to the service personnel.
In other words, SAF SUCKS!!!!!! They looked down on service personnel. Without us, the SAF could'nt work at all. GO TO HELL, top personnel of the SAF. [/b]
huh? u signed on?Originally posted by guardsmen:Just thinking when i will get promote and get my salary increase?![]()
yes, what I am saying is not that combat do not deserve their combat pay but we in the service side are always deem as 'lower class'. The combat look down on us because we don't do all those 'fighting'... people preceive as weak.. yet without us.. SAF will crumble...Originally posted by LazerLordz:I totally agree with you, especially the fact that logistics and maintenance do form the backbone fo the SAF, and without us, the combatants would be fighting with guts and bare hands.Many do not like to face this fact, but who does the grunt work for the combatants to fire their weapons, drive their Bionixes, sleep in their bunks, eat at the cookhouses, jump out of a plane and land safely...the list goes on.
Maintaining the increasingly lethal and complex weapon systems is no mean feat.There is a reason why NSF technicians and ammo personnel are given Specialist ranks..Due to the very specialised and vital tasks of their jobs.How many combatants do understand the whole process of getting that often- IA SAW or L7A1 GPMG fixed?They merely see the process of sending that defective weapon to the unit armourer, then their loop is closed.Do they see the high stress level involved in shouldering the repair and upkeep of the entire SAF's inventory of small arms and heavy arms? The term "Service" is a misnomer.We are not living in wonderland as most uninformed combatants perceive us to be.Yes, the only privilege we may get over the combat vocationalist is the higher chance of staying out in a 8-5 job.But our work is just as onerous.
This is not to say that we are bitter towards our brothers in combat, its more of a deal which has been found wanting for a very long time.Put us in company-level combat SOP and we might screw up the whole show, place a Guards BRC to interact with DSTA, ODE or ST Logistics, or handle the documentation, maintenance programs and perform BCMIS costing for a whole formation, and he might be at a complete loss.We perform equal but dissimilar tasks, and furthermore as conscripts, we do not have a choice in our posting or vocation.What is needed is fair remuneration.Any increase in pay should not allow too much of an imbalance between vocations and smart pay polices to compensate at unique levels of need are required.If there is a pay increment, it should be across the board.Nothing more, nothing less.We serve the country, let her be an appreciatve mistress.![]()
Hmm... I would say that such an increase for officers might be an overkill... Sadly speaking, as would some from service vocations would state, such a skewered increase would be an unfair proposition biased towards the pyramid peak of the whole armed forces, leaving the base of the pyramid with a rawer deal. We see this even in everyday life: CEOs earning the top dollar, all the while common workers for the same company earn multiple times smaller, but do more work.Originally posted by edLow:Source I heard:
MEN/SPECIALISTS: add $150
OFFICERS: add $300 to $400
For the men/specialists' increment, it's likely confirm. My frd heard it from his CO parade already, but the amount isnt confirm.
As for the officers' increment, I have no idea. They shouldnt increase the officers allowance. Becos there are too many of black sheeps among them whom are doing nothing except wasting SAF resources
Yes, I fully agree with you that drivers are very important too. How do I know? I am a bike rider, so I know the risks drivers face. I have seen fellow platoon mates, tired from training, drive from the expressway lane 3 to 2, and sometimes tailgate other vehicles in their semi-conscious states.Originally posted by Master -_-:Then do you think about our drivers? They drive almost everyday and face different risky situations everyday. Sometimes they drive at night oblivious to the many dangerous obstacles facing them. Drivers are not regularly promoted and receive service pay yet they receive more risks than some combat vocations. They are essential to SAF. Would rather want to route march yourself from Hendon to Changi? Even bus drivers get more![]()
not cos of take over. if there is its more cos of the better economy.Originally posted by tetsumi:any regulars here?
regulars pay got increase anot?
i always meet up wif my army/police frens
then 1 police fren told me his pay increase
then that air force fren oso told me his pay increase oso
cos y?
cos DPM Lee is taking over PM Goh
got such thing 1 meh?
take over = pay rise?
now tt is bizarre!Originally posted by BMEngineer:just went to updat my bank book.....allowance decreases instead of increasing!!! Got 310++ only.....haiz....
You got buy the SAF/Aviva Insurance issit?Originally posted by BMEngineer:just went to updat my bank book.....allowance decreases instead of increasing!!! Got 310++ only.....haiz....
haha..no lah...i mean my job in the civilian lifeOriginally posted by wuming78:huh? u signed on?
U're riteOriginally posted by Draculax:You got buy the SAF/Aviva Insurance issit?