Can anyone tell me why 24 SA no big guns? What do they do?
erijazz
SPY DETECTED!!!!!
erijazz
cutebug
Is SA stand Singapore Artillery?
Ponders
being a arty unit doesn't mean it has to have big guns.
there are so many air force squadrons that dun have aeroplanes.
if you know what i am getting at..... yah.. think that direction.
laurence82
Some units are mortars too...
Master -_-
The reason is that they don't have big guns is because they hid it
maxsee
mortars no more....i am from 21sa....the last of the mortar unit....after that convert to guns....and then howitzer......
Moxie
I don't think it's any secret here; there's MINDEF-sanctioned articles/books, both printed & online, publicly hinting at what 24SA do. Just don't reveal the actual equipment or SOP's, that's all.
To the o/p: Artillery is probably the most technical-skilled of all the combat formations; you just don't fire a 155mm round over 20 clicks & expect it to hit the target dead-on. There's a fair amount of mathematical & metrological data required for calculation, & 24SA helps provide that. It's not a "sexy" job, but I've seen them "take-action" & they kena takan like the rest of us gunners ...
s|nNeD
all i can say is that life in 24SA is just like any other artillery unit...
cutebug
do they operate TPQ 36 and 37?
foga
x2
4 words -> "need to know basis"
pertaining to technical & tactical related information, stuffs like what they do, what they have, especially in the area of counter bat fire, pls do take into consideration the 4 words "need to know basis".
Originally posted by s|nNeD:
all i can say is that life in 24SA is just like any other artillery unit...
LazerLordz
They are Arty without them guns.Go along this thread and make your own assumptions.Need to know basis.If you're a true military enthusiast, you would understand how these four words can potentially save lives.
baer
Originally posted by cutebug:
do they operate TPQ 36 and 37?
They also operate landrover, unimog, mark 1 eye-ball.
Ah lah mak, if the ISD haven't knock on your door yet hurry burn all the pono magazines and pour tinner on your XXX CD collection, bcos the people who never sleep want to test their new sleep deprevation methods on some stoopid sod like you.
Don't wish for anything too hard, you may getit.
chengyu
Besides TPQ 36 and 37, Unimog, there is a new addition called ARTHUR (Artillery Hunting Radar). It was featured in an article in the Straits Times a few days before Army Open House and was also on display there.