Next week.Originally posted by kengkia:when it will be implemented???..
My encik says it applies to allOriginally posted by Doenitz:Our new PM said "5-day week...for schools and army camps". But my boss said it only applies to regulars?
Originally posted by Gordonator:it is possible if there are no exercises.
my camp still no word leh. i think it depends on your unit. PM Lee only say 5 days week is acceptable now, but he [b]did not say all companys in singapore must follow...
for example, most combat units and operational units very hard to change to 5 days week cos they must stay operational at all time...[/b]
2 year service, 5 day week, still ask for long weekend? ki si lah.Originally posted by Gordonator:then our long weekend how?![]()
x 2. i love working on saturdays.Originally posted by kopiosatu:dun like 5 day week... just heard the new plans... work longer hours... i rather have 5 1/2
Originally posted by Gordonator:he said the civil service will implement the 5 day work week when they are ready. it means all government bodies will implement that, as long as they are ready to do so.
my camp still no word leh. i think it depends on your unit. PM Lee only say 5 days week is acceptable now, but he [b]did not say all companys in singapore must follow...
for example, most combat units and operational units very hard to change to 5 days week cos they must stay operational at all time...[/b]
U r mad.......Originally posted by wuming78:x 2. i love working on saturdays.![]()
Originally posted by larrenV2.003:U r mad.......i used to report sick on Sat when i was a recruit & get MC also.
I prefers taking MC from outside during Sunday thus don't need to book in on Sunday night.Originally posted by larrenV2.003:U r mad.......i used to report sick on Sat when i was a recruit.
in my unit, we must pass IPPT to get long weekend. i work so hard to earn my long weekend. now all wasted...Originally posted by ditzy:2 year service, 5 day week, still ask for long weekend? ki si lah.![]()
no its not entirely up to the commander's discretion. this is a service wide directive. the discretion only lies in deviations from the norm for good reasons.Originally posted by Ponders:the 5 day week thing is actually up to CO/Comd discretion for his unit. if he feels like switching to 5 day but does not compromise his unit's operational status... he would just go ahead.
For schools, they most probably stick to 5.5 day because after the 2 year cut, they actually have to revamp the syllabus to shorten the courses... now with 5 day week... its hard to make adjustments again. unless the trainee dun mind night training everyday.
correct. now that NS have been reduced to 2 years, schools need to train trainees faster as to push them into command schools like SISPEC or OCS in order to maintain the manpower needed.Originally posted by wuming78:no its not entirely up to the commander's discretion. this is a service wide directive. the discretion only lies in deviations from the norm for good reasons.
for schools, it makes sense for them to retain the original 5.5 days, esp. with the reduction in ns duration.