I have encountered a AWOLEE overseas while on business travel (in such a remote country that I believe he is the only S'porean there !!!).Originally posted by kengkia:does anyone awol fleeing to overseas???...if so how they have done it?
I believes that he had given up his Singaporean citizenship..Originally posted by specfore:I have encountered a AWOLEE overseas while on business travel (in such a remote country that I believe he is the only S'porean there !!!).
He told me he left S'pore in early 70s, went over to Holland and then "disappeared" from there eversince. Never returned to S'pore but his family will go out to visit him from time to time. He has settled down and married a caucasian woman (nice lady helping him with his business). He told me that he was lucky that he could afford to pay for his mother to visit him outside S'pore once every few years.
Nowadays with mobile phone, he can call back to chat with his relatives. Basically he had to give up contact with all his friends. Sad and lonely.
Advice: Don't mess around with your exit permit, either...hmmm..how come?Originally posted by Moxie:AWOL = up to 2 years' imprisonment, with conviction.
Desertion = up to 10 years' imprisonment, with conviction.
Failure to willfully report or take action to apprehend a deserter/absentee = up to 2 years' imprisonment, with conviction.
[Source: SAF Act, Chapter 295]
Advice: Don't mess around with your exit permit, either.
Yeah. my friends doing NS complains abt the low salary, can we submit petition to goverment for a raise?Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:some of the key reason why pple AWOL is simple
the NS allowance low and pple dun receive a salary!
$500 only..if pple were to graduate..they would earn about $1.5k
and opportunity cost of 1k go wherE?
i suggest the govt spend more on improving NS pay!
Even israeli and korean compulsory ns pay it's troopers more decent pay!
Last time the NS excuse is used because singapore is poor..
should stop now..
furthermore..i think insurance payout for deaths should be MORE!
Ministers earn $1million SGD per year yet heng yeow peow who died $30,000
And we should give insurance to more NS Man should they die in training!
Nevertheless, our NS allowance don't match our cost of living!
$500 take bus here and there..eat..food..lodging..expenses...
handphone bill..
Suggest we lower down the cost of living like last time and...increase pay..
1 Car or motorbike cost so much nowadays!
Suggest we specially lower prices for cars for NS man only..
So many NS man die because they use motor chiong back to base
feel sad for them
rumours always remain rumours...how long have this type of rumours been circulating around...none came true....Originally posted by chikopek:There are rumours that allowances will be rose to $455 come next month
You can try those communist countries especially North Korea.Originally posted by kengkia:do u noe wad is e best country to "survive" in after awolling?
I strongly believe you are in a "no-win" situation if you try to AWOL. I have travelled and worked in many countries (almost the whole of Western Europe, some parts of Asia, the US ...). The problem with going to these countries is that they have a strict immigration and work permit policy. No way you can get a job legally. So if you escape to these countries, you got to find a legal way to stay on. Otherwise, you will also be worrying about the local police catching up with you, besides worrying about being deported back to S'pore to face detention.Originally posted by kengkia:do u noe wad is e best country to "survive" in after awolling?
How can u kena DB in the first place if you dun have a vocation yet? you mean go DB during BMT?Originally posted by kengkia:i recently heard tat as ;long u go DB issit true tat u wun kana chiong sua kinda stuff??..will u be posted to things like driver storeman and all these??
kengkia bo yong leh ahhahaahOriginally posted by kengkia:i juz finish my bmt now trade cos....if someone go DB during trade course..den wad will happen after u come out??.cos i got a fren juz cum out of DB mah...so i wanted to noe more abt this.
Not too sure... But the guys in my unit who went DB for theft came back and resume what they were doing before... except with no hair loh... If can chao keng by going DB few weeks, think a lot of ppl will go... So dun think will be transferred anywhere just because go DB...Originally posted by kengkia:i juz finish my bmt now trade cos....if someone go DB during trade course..den wad will happen after u come out??.cos i got a fren juz cum out of DB mah...so i wanted to noe more abt this.