I was also in my final year at poly when I got the enlistment letter, no worries.Originally posted by bismarck:i still in my final year at poly..
the last para..Originally posted by Moxie:It's detailed in the "Shoulder To Shoulder" NS Journal book they sent out to every serving citizen a couple of years back. Visit a library if you can't borrow a copy yourself.
The physical examination decides your PES classification. It's modelled on the British PULHEEMS system...
P - physical characters (height, weight, etc.)
U - upper limbs
L - lower limbs
H - hearing
E - eye, right
E - eye, left
M - mental state
S - stability
...plus one additional checkup item (dental condition), according to the book. The procedure's also supposedly made more transparent, with enlistees told of their "problem areas" on the spot & a health counselor available nearby for follow-up enquires.
The aptitude test is officially called MAPAS (Manpower Aptitude Assessment). It's computer-administered & seeks to assess the cognitive ability to process information quickly & accurately: memory, speed of response, abstract reasoning, ability to follow complex instructions, ability to solve mathematical problems, mental spatial ability, etc. I understand it can take quite a while, but there's no reason to get panicky over it.
You take years to process something like:Originally posted by bismarck:the last para..
damn...when under stress, i take years to process stuff.. damn..i will be the first 1 to die in war
i understood maths probs as differentiating long eqns..analyze situations like from a pic..give me a report etc..Originally posted by ditzy:You take years to process something like:
13 + 22 = ?![]()
They give u simple simple questions, not those use fourier functions or sorts one lah. Mostly common sense questions, you wonder why they ask in the first place.Originally posted by bismarck:i understood maths probs as differentiating long eqns..analyze situations like from a pic..give me a report etc..
reasoning? i think time to trash out my thoughts..
Just go there dressed nicely like how you go to school every other day. But comb your hair nicely hor, coz got photo to take for ur 11B.Originally posted by bismarck:alright...besides the pants tip..
is there any tips for it ? i mean i remember hearing abt bringing extra pants or something abt pants while doing the check.
btw go into details abt the pants tip i mentioned in first line, if too hard to say, PM me. i mean i dun want any assumptions and things like that.
Med exam: learn to look to the left and cough while the doc squeeze your ballsOriginally posted by bismarck:in the letter it said that i need to got for medical examination, photo taking and aptitude assessment.
for the med examination, what is required of me to do? i mean do what ? napfa meh? cant be right?
then what's this abt aptitude assessment? i love NS ?
pengz..4hrs..haiz..got my final year proj have to do.
Originally posted by Xprobe:Med exam: learn to look to the left and cough while the doc squeeze your balls![]()
see la, ur choice one la...Originally posted by weidev:i also juz receive the letters...
er... so wear shorts go or wear jeans?
Anything comfortable, you're gonna spend nearly half a morning there.Originally posted by weidev:i also juz receive the letters...
er... so wear shorts go or wear jeans?