it depends on what the person signs on as. if he signs on as a spec successfully, he will either be posted to aslc, or to the relevant school of the chosen arm for more advanced training before he is promoted to sergeant. if he signs on as man, he will simply stay as CPL.Originally posted by Gordonator:if a CPL ORD liao and decides to sign as a specialist in the army. where will they post him to 1st?
will he have to go through ASLC?
got people sign on as man on meh ? ... the pay good meh?Originally posted by wuming78:it depends on what the person signs on as. if he signs on as a spec successfully, he will either be posted to aslc, or to the relevant school of the chosen arm for more advanced training before he is promoted to sergeant. if he signs on as man, he will simply stay as CPL.
certainly there are! why not? as for the pay, i cannot comment cos i have no idea, and it depends on what you mean by good, and what the person is "worth" outside SAF.Originally posted by kwlee:got people sign on as man on meh ? ... the pay good meh?
quite nice to be man at times too.Originally posted by wuming78:certainly there are! why not? as for the pay, i cannot comment cos i have no idea, and it depends on what you mean by good, and what the person is "worth" outside SAF.
adf lor...Originally posted by kwlee:got people sign on as man on meh ? ... the pay good meh?
no. the SAF only offers contracts to combat fit applicants.Originally posted by martin_lim85:vocations like clerk, pes E personnel can sign on a not???
wah like that i jobless after my NS liaoOriginally posted by wuming78:no. the SAF only offers contracts to combat fit applicants.
of course there are. i saw 1 fellow from 1Bn ADF in his no.3. he got a 10 years service bar but his rank is still CPL.Originally posted by kwlee:got people sign on as man on meh ? ... the pay good meh?
Originally posted by martin_lim85:wah like that i jobless after my NS liao
Originally posted by Gordonator:of course there are. i saw 1 fellow from 1Bn ADF in his no.3. he got a 10 years service bar but his rank is still CPL.
so in BSLC, since he already has a CPL rank, will he be in a company specially for regulars or will he mix with the NSF?Originally posted by Ponders:basically if he got his CPL from a "non-leadership" training... he have to go BSLC first to sign on as a combat spec.
Originally posted by Gordonator:so in BSLC, since he already has a CPL rank, will he be in a company specially for regulars or will he mix with the NSF?
when you go on course, you become a trainee regardless of your rank.Originally posted by Gordonator:so in BSLC, since he already has a CPL rank, will he be in a company specially for regulars or will he mix with the NSF?
oh .. o cos if u already are a CPL u will go for ASLC instead of BSLC.Originally posted by Gordonator:then won't it be a bit strange? becos u past out of BSLC to get your CPL rank, but this fellow already is a CPL.![]()
not really... it is HOW you get the CPL rank..... one can be a storeman and earned his CPL rank but know nuts about section movement..... so have to go BSLC first.Originally posted by wuming78:oh .. o cos if u already are a CPL u will go for ASLC instead of BSLC.
x2Originally posted by Ponders:not really... it is HOW you get the CPL rank..... one can be a storeman and earned his CPL rank but know nuts about section movement..... so have to go BSLC first.
every BSLC you will see funny ranks. My BSLC, i got a fellow trainee who is a 2SG, the BSLC after mine, there was a SSG (who eventually OOC after a bad fall from AOC).
All these people are those who converted their vocations from service to combat.. that's why they need combat training.
then why doesn't he consider cdo? and just go infOriginally posted by Ponders:i guess depends on how he got his CPL.
if he got the CPL from BSLC... then he will go ASLC if he sign on Inf/Guards Spec.
if he CPL from his rifleman time or non-combat vocations.. he will have to go thru B and ASLC.
basically if he got his CPL from a "non-leadership" training... he have to go BSLC first to sign on as a combat spec.
my ex-CSM is a weird case, he was guardsman during NSF.. then ord liao cannot find job outside, then no guards opening for a period of time so he suck thumb sign on Inf spec..... now he is a Green beret with a guards tag.