Who is HPL?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I was at HQ MES before my vocational training, another fella who went there with me was a SPH scholar.We were in the same BMT coy too.Ayer Rajah Camp has a lot of rich clerks and white horses.Who's Lee Sheng Wu btw, LHL's son?There was a armament spec trainee at OETi a few months back, who drove a BMW Z4 roadster..
Anyway, the son of HPL's boss is in Nee Soon Driclad Centre, so I've heard.
MAJ-GEN Lim Bo Seng will be happy for his grandson, whereever he is watching from, knowing that the sacrifices he made were not in vain.Originally posted by IAF:Lim Bo Seng's grandson? Wow.. that's some heritage
Seems also that this warrior's path is similar to that taken by israeli army officers from elite units as they rise to the top.. armour is like the key station of the cross to go thru' in order to get the brass ring..
Well, retired BGs tend to be given some senior post elsewhere upon retirement from the SAF, such as CEO, director or VP of some GLC or ministry. So i suppose that still entitles you to white horse treatment...Originally posted by snk86:well, just wondering, if your dad WAS a BG(as in dad retired liao), would you still kinda get white hourse treatment? and does a BG really retire?
Lim Bo Seng was a MAJ-GEN!?Originally posted by LazerLordz:MAJ-GEN Lim Bo Seng will be happy for his grandson, whereever he is watching from, knowing that the sacrifices he made were not in vain.![]()
a white horse is a person who is the son of a very a highly respectable person. for example SAF officers of rank COL and above, ministers, doctors and CEOs.Originally posted by hopy:for starters..
wat is a white horse?![]()
oic...Originally posted by Gordonator:a white horse is a person who is the son of a very a highly respectable person. for example SAF officers of rank COL and above, ministers, doctors and CEOs.![]()
sadly, i'm just a white elephant.Originally posted by hopy:oic...
then i think im a brown bunny![]()
wah... white elephant v the rare de wor~ shld be happy mahOriginally posted by Gordonator:sadly, i'm just a white elephant.
haha. ya, better then black sheeps...Originally posted by hopy:wah... white elephant v the rare de wor~ shld be happy mah![]()
yupOriginally posted by Gordonator:haha. ya, better then black sheeps...
Originally posted by one-niner:no. im referring to the other one, the younger one, who will be 18 this year.
[quote]Originally posted by HENG@:
[b]hmmm. my brother was LHL's son's classmate. that counts? i've been to mr LHL's home once to pick my bro up with my mom, when LHL's son had his birthday party.[/qoute]
are you refering to LHL's son who is an albino ? [/b]
I was part of the troops when COL Lim TY went for his Armour conversion course .... He merely go thru the motion by sitting on the cargo hatch of the M113 giving voice procedure ...Originally posted by Gedanken:Then again, our OC at the time was CPT Lim Teck Yin, who, as Lim Bo Seng's grandson, probably had enough heritage to be a WH. He was originally a Guards officer, converted to Commandos and is now a Colonel in Armour. His beret may be black now, but he'll take a little bit of red with him when he gets his star.
Hmm. Sounds very different from the guy I had as OC. Then again, by that point, he would have been going through the conversion in a GS, rather than company command, capacity, wouldn't he?Originally posted by flash9933:I was part of the troops when COL Lim TY went for his Armour conversion course .... He merely go thru the motion by sitting on the cargo hatch of the M113 giving voice procedure ...
When he was the CO in 46SAR, he still wore his red beret till one of the senior officer give him some "left, right and centre" before changing to black beret.
He is such a big frame that I wonder whether he will suffocate anyone during any actual overturning. I think currently he is holding some staff appointments now in MINDEF afte being the brigade commander in 4 SAB and 56 SAB.Originally posted by Gedanken:Hmm. Sounds very different from the guy I had as OC. Then again, by that point, he would have been going through the conversion in a GS, rather than company command, capacity, wouldn't he?
I've heard different accounts regarding the red/black issue. Did you actually see him getting a dressing down from a senior officer?
Come to think of it, one thing's always puzzled me - who the hell saw fit to squeeze a guy that size into a tiny tank?!For those who don't know, COL Lim was on the national water polo team and he's built like a tank.
Man, news must travel slowly at SAFTI. We knew that shortly after starting BMT.Originally posted by Master -_-:WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!![]()
COL LIM is LIM Bo SENG grandson!?!?!?!?!??!?!!?!?
OMG!!!! He is now the Commandant of SCSC in SAFTI. Wah lau!! I had such the honour of talking to him and going to his house sia!!!!!!!!!!!! Very very nice guy man!! one of the officers i miss most when i left SAFTI...![]()