u said no one bothers about war anymore?Originally posted by kindaichi83:Anyway, to the noname guy who said there are still wars going on...
of course war will only happened if people who have no heart decided to start one.. just like worst fu**ing son of a b&$ch.... GWB... I hope he died a tragic death.... and Singapore will never win a war....
here is something amazing.There is? Name me one, preferably one with a 4m population or so & also self-reliant on its own sovereignty defence.
there are nations that have lots and lots matured adults
even without a national service!
of course no ns does not mean a seamless transition into working life.Convince me: How do they exactly mature, if I set the bar at age 20-21 (usual ORD time)?
but then again, if we are to take those 2 years,
then either way you do mature.
hmm..
how do i teach the concept of relativity?
------ps----ss--ts--ns--un-------------------------------------------------------wk
------ps----ss--ts--un--wk-------------------------------------------------------wk
yeah, teens are immatured.No, that's a fallacy of slothful induction, since our NS is neither novel or recent. See my earlier post. The pre-enlistment social mores & occupational trends I highlighted have historical precedent, objectively studied by local sociologists & psychologists (eg. Leong Choon Cheng's late-'70s "Youth in the Army") to help profile youthful aspirations for the area of policy-planning. While ever evolving, it's still already a case of been there/done that. Hollow point unless you're arguing from experience, which you're not.
but when they are forced into the working world,
within a year, they realise, damn! daddy and mummy were right!
and if ns is really that educational,Deja vu - seems like it's every year that letter writers would comment the same to the Straits Times forum age. To clarify (again): NS is primarily for military defence; that's separate from even nation-building designs (local context), let alone as vehicle for "educational experience" or gender emancipation. The top priority is a fighting-fit organization - & hence why the SAF doesn't call up not just females, but also 1st-generation naturalised citizens & the older new permanent residents.
why not send girls in too?
not for direct ns,
but for the experience it grants?
unless you like having double standards of course.
sense of patriotism, national consciousness - patriotism is childish. you should go for ns not because you love the country, but because you want to protect your loved ones. =)I think you're confusing patriotism with something else - that worked up? ~roflamo~ P.S. I "go for ns" cuz I answered the call, that's all. So, on behalf of all who's served/is serving the country, we have to "explain ourselves to a man who rises & sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom we provide, then questions the manner in which we provide it"? (paraphrasing Jack Nicholson.) Lemme guess, you're gonna be like one of the selfish ang-mo who sneaked away back in January 1941.
let me tell you something.Well, you're not making a strong case for convincing at all.
its effective, but ns is not the only place where people mature.
it does work very well,
but if you are going in for that,
well, you will like it,
OTHERS DON'T!
AS AMAZING AS IT SOUNDS!
Haha... Glad you guys can see my point...Originally posted by kindaichi83:Anyway, I agree with CPL Ho.. I never for once, at least up to now, sabo any of my fellow collegues.. I do whatever sh&& that is being forced upon me.. it's sad but true...
Anyway, here are the reasons why Singapore will never win a war...
10) Not enough water
9) Not enough foodNot enough people
7) Not enough nature habitat to hide and plan an ambush
6) Too many flats.. just a few more 911 and we'll have to surrender
5) Our army only trained us mainly in jungle warfare which is only useful if we go to other countries and attack them.. if some other country come and attack us, it will be so bloody useless
4) Most of our people prefer to flee than to stay on and fight and most have the capital to do it
3) Our country is too small, one bomb and we chui already...
2) Everyone thinks we are very secured so when war comes, no one will be prepared..
1) Alot of people hate NS so they would not even want to fight for Singapore.. to show how wrong Singapore is for implementing this kind of thing..
Quite true.However, the flaw we see here today is that we might not have placed enough emphasis on urban counter-insurgency defence in case of a terrorist attack inside our soil.It is good that we are taking concrete stpes to fortify our homeland installations.To fight a conventional war on home soil already means that you are close to defeat.But the former scenarios need to be planned out against too, no matter how unlikely.We do live in interesting times, as the ancient Chinese adage goes.A well-trained CQB force can serve dual roles as a POI force in peacetime, and a harrassment/aggressor force should we ever have to fight a hypothetical conventional war at our doorsteps or in any peacekeeping mission overseas.Originally posted by Cpl Ho:Haha... Glad you guys can see my point...But just in case you all think I'm a siow on guy or what, just look at my signature... It's a poem that I read on the wall at FIBUA village... some 'lao jeow qian bei' wrote it and it describes how i feel at that time during NS and sometimes during work now... Anyway, I have the same words pasted on my table at work... Hope my department head reads it....
Okie, now let's discuss your point about S'pore winning a war and how we planned to meet the challenge if it arrives... Btw, it's not my theory, it's SAF theory adopted from the Israelis, I think...
10) That's why we will move up to Johor once any enemy threaten that state.
9) Most of our food is imported, so same point as 10) and our navy will secure the Straits of Malacca.This is the reason for the numerous pro-family policies today. eg. 5 day working day. And a very lax immigration laws for Chinese nationals.
7) 6) and 5) same point as 10, we will be fighting in the jungles of Malaysia and mayb even as far as Thailand...
4) Yes! This is a big concern.. Hence we have NE in schools, and they make sure S'poreans' money is stuck with their flat and in their CPF. For the very rich, no problem, but for majority, where can we go with no money...
3) same point as 10
2) Eh... dun sabo leh... you lidat say I'll have more mob leh...
1) Military analysts have mentioned this is SAF's biggest weakness... SAF is a untested army... no one really knows how good is the fighting spirit... But SAF seems to believe technology can overcome this, ie. hit the enemy without having to see him eyeball to eyeball, which we will definitely lose... cos I feel other countries' soldiers are much more garang...
Most of my points come from Tim Huxley's book, defending the lion city... very detailed... must give credit...
Well, IMHO, when it comes to matters of defence and security, S'pore is definitely an overkill... Long term detention of alleged communists for indefinte periods, hijackers with penknife and firecrackers killed by SOF, anti-war protestors arrested even though there were only a handful of them outside the American embassy, and the latest JI members detained even before they finish sketching their plans... Our ISD seems damn efficient... or is bcos they xiao on nothing to do always in search for 'enemy of the state'...Originally posted by LazerLordz:Quite true.However, the flaw we see here today is that we might not have placed enough emphasis on urban counter-insurgency defence in case of a terrorist attack inside our soil.It is good that we are taking concrete stpes to fortify our homeland installations.To fight a conventional war on home soil already means that you are close to defeat.But the former scenarios need to be planned out against too, no matter how unlikely.We do live in interesting times, as the ancient Chinese adage goes.A well-trained CQB force can serve dual roles as a POI force in peacetime, and a harrassment/aggressor force should we ever have to fight a hypothetical conventional war at our doorsteps or in any peacekeeping mission overseas.
Cos if we fight in S'pore, our country will be devastated because we're so small and congested with flats, like what you said...Originally posted by kindaichi83:Fight in Thailand or Malaysia? Why would we fight in these countries when our country is being attacked? We have to fight in our own 'small' land which is pratically useless. A tank can't even move with these flats around. Just a few '911' and Singapore will have to surrender.
True.The politico-security apparatus is too efficient in my opinion.They could very well spend their resources on foreign counter-intle instead of wasting time targeting legitimate acts of political disagreement.The police is there to provide peace patrol.Originally posted by Cpl Ho:Well, IMHO, when it comes to matters of defence and security, S'pore is definitely an overkill... Long term detention of alleged communists for indefinte periods, hijackers with penknife and firecrackers killed by SOF, anti-war protestors arrested even though there were only a handful of them outside the American embassy, and the latest JI members detained even before they finish sketching their plans... Our ISD seems damn efficient... or is bcos they xiao on nothing to do always in search for 'enemy of the state'...
My point is I cannot foresee having to fight infiltrators in S'pore loh... Unlike US, S'pore is so damn small, I dun see how they can slipped into S'pore unnoticed... Probably that's why the terrorist attacks in our region is at Indonesia.... And in typical kiasu fashion, S'pore has taken the necessary precautions...
This is the 1st TIME, SBSK is going to stop talking cock.Originally posted by kindaichi83:Fight in Thailand or Malaysia? Why would we fight in these countries when our country is being attacked? We have to fight in our own 'small' land which is pratically useless. A tank can't even move with these flats around. Just a few '911' and Singapore will have to surrender.
There is? Name me one, preferably one with a 4m population or so & also self-reliant on its own sovereignty defence.so how do our girls mature, since they did not go ns?
by going into the working and getting hell. and eventually sobering up.
Convince me: How do they exactly mature, if I set the bar at age 20-21 (usual ORD time)?
Deja vu - seems like it's every year that letter writers would comment the same to the Straits Times forum age. To clarify (again): NS is primarily for military defence; that's separate from even nation-building designs (local context), let alone as vehicle for "educational experience" or gender emancipation. The top priority is a fighting-fit organization - & hence why the SAF doesn't call up not just females, but also 1st-generation naturalised citizens & the older new permanent residents.isn't that my point?
I think you're confusing patriotism with something else - that worked up? ~roflamo~ P.S. I "go for ns" cuz I answered the call, that's all. So, on behalf of all who's served/is serving the country, we have to "explain ourselves to a man who rises & sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom we provide, then questions the manner in which we provide it"? (paraphrasing Jack Nicholson.) Lemme guess, you're gonna be like one of the selfish ang-mo who sneaked away back in January 1941.lemme guess, you are one of those people whose brain stop working after a few seconds of thinking.
No, that's a fallacy of slothful induction, since our NS is neither novel or recent. See my earlier post. The pre-enlistment social mores & occupational trends I highlighted have historical precedent, objectively studied by local sociologists & psychologists (eg. Leong Choon Cheng's late-'70s "Youth in the Army" to help profile youthful aspirations for the area of policy-planning. While ever evolving, it's still already a case of been there/done that. Hollow point unless you're arguing from experience, which you're not.ns did all those because it was compulsory.
There is nothing wrong with saying patriotism is childish.It's precisely how many people choose to define patriotism, that makes it childish at times because it demands unflinching and brain-dead loyalty.Patriotism can be evil when it makes up the primary motivating force to move beyond acceptable human conduct and into the realm of being a beast.War is never a good thing, and one more pecenik is more than welcome than those who seek to dominate through acts of violence which only expound our base nature.Originally posted by Moxie:Apollo861,
Whether you realized it or not, you're fitting exactly into the character profile I've posted earlier about the pre-enlistees. You're no different, period. Guess things really hasn't changed after 30 years.
I don't wish to pick a fight, esp. with a keng chio kia who isn't arguing from evidence & is now going off-tangent into worldly philosophy. F^uck this "hypothetical situation" (your quote) business.
If you haven't done it, go through NS first - or detention-barracks or exempted status or overseas absconder or whatever - come back wiser, & we'll exchange notes again. Put some hair on them chest, fire in them belly, meat in them loins - before you show up again on a SAF board that's lurking with citizen soldiers (inc. present & ex-DI's who drummed sense into a lot of recruits), & try to play hantam-bola about "patriotism is childish".
At least, with Kindaichi83, he's spewing out his frustrations while in the service.
Patriotism can be evil when it makes up the primary motivating force to move beyond acceptable human conduct and into the realm of being a beast.War is never a good thing, and one more pecenik is more than welcome than those who seek to dominate through acts of violence which only expound our base nature.Patriotism's not so hawkish, lah. It's simply devotion to one country & its fundamental values & principles, plus it's also parochial in outlook. Civil ideals, good citizenship, public-spiritedness, community-mindedness, loyalty - all of them are patriotic values.
USELESS CAUSE?!!?!!?! well fuck. if it wasn't for the SAF, you wouldn't be sleeping in your bed peacefully, if it wasn't for the SAF, you wouldn't be out clubbing and hooking up females like Mr.Slick. if it wasn't for SAF, we might be living under another country's flag. Wake up your fucking idea kid. No one is going to protect your home for you. YOU do IT YOURSELF. You don't know how it's like to have lost a loved one. Lost cause, my fuckin' ass.Originally posted by boy in blues:i got only 1 reason. waste of time for a useless cause
Not really , we wouldn't be under another countries's flag.Originally posted by -zefiris-:USELESS CAUSE?!!?!!?! well fuck. if it wasn't for the SAF, you wouldn't be sleeping in your bed peacefully, if it wasn't for the SAF, you wouldn't be out clubbing and hooking up females like Mr.Slick. if it wasn't for SAF, we might be living under another country's flag. Wake up your fucking idea kid. No one is going to protect your home for you. YOU do IT YOURSELF. You don't know how it's like to have lost a loved one. Lost cause, my fuckin' ass.
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:nb
[b]Not really , we wouldn't be under another countries's flag.
1. Malaya kicked us out of the Federation in 1965 August 9 ,
a so called "divorce"
Comments: Why would they occupy us again , after they kick us out?
You don't know how it's like to have lost a loved one
2. I believe you are a guy here , nope , in war-time, the enemy wouldn't
rape the females first , note that before the "Rape of Nanjing" in WWII
The japanese killed all ABLE-BODIED men before raping the women
Comments: So you wouldn't get any chance know how it's like to lose a loved one
3. USELESS CAUSE?!!?!!?! well fuck. if it wasn't for the SAF, you wouldn't be sleeping in your bed peacefully, if it wasn't for the SAF, you wouldn't be out clubbing and hooking up females like Mr.Slick
Comments : Not just SAF, but singapore police force and SCDF and ambulance
Originally posted by larrenV2.003:I rather be mr.kindaichi the detective and posted to japan..for SAF duties
Little boy Kindaichi pls listen to this NSboy with 6 month of service left....
Upon the first day of enlistment. Juz tell the officer, specialist or warrant...that NS sucks big time & see what they would do to you.
I can tell u that in the 1990's there is a case where got one Encik lock up the Chao recruit in the pitch dark container chamber for 3 days for opposing against NS.
The recruit cried soppishly until he call out for his mummy & daddy.....by the third day he threatened to bang his head against the wall as an act of suicide. Then the Encik let him out & then charge him for suicidal act. Thus the NSboy developed mental distress that distroyed his well being with continuous offences he made.
Fortunately the NSboy ORDed [b]6 years later mind u....this is as good as sign on as regular.
NOW u should be considered yourself darn lucky that all the guai lan encik is out of service & are all trained in counselling. Now all NSF wif attitude problems has to go through continous counselling b4 their officer can pose the tio chargestatus on them if matters turn for the worse.
Maybe u should consider NS as your 2nd shelter above you instead of the torture camp mentality which you have.
Put yourself in that NSboy who serve 6 years & your 99% guaranteed that your balls will fly to no where.[/b]
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Juz to let ya know that the word "SACK" for NSFs is not in the SAF dictionary.
I rather be mr.kindaichi the detective and posted to japan..for SAF duties
can sian japanese charbor..
wahahahahhahahahaaaaaaaawahhahwhahah
officer say what, just obey lor..
If got chance, don't reincarnate as a singapore guy..
go reincarnate as a japanese guy like takashi sorimachi.
Free jap chiobu somemore
[b]Here's a tip from SBSK
1. Go buy toto and win $10 million and fly to japan =D
2. Declare that your chinese-american and fly to USA
3. Go malaysia ,and be a citizen there whahwhahwhhhhwhahahah
4. Go over-seas studies and dont' come back(we don't need humji kias)
5. Go to a political party..and outsource our defense to China
and be a vassal state of China , and "por lampa" and ask them to defend
us (as if they will)
To all pple reading my above 5 points(all talking cock), reading his ANTI ns posts really lower morale in SAF forums leh..
I rather we have more warriors rather then pple who is humji..
Should sack them outta NS, having them do NS only make morale lower..
EXILE them lor, or "Qiang bi" the old communist way.. =DOriginally posted by larrenV2.003:Juz to let ya know that the word "SACK" for NSFs is not in the SAF dictionary.![]()
Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:You are such a genius.. you knew all my thinking...
I rather be mr.kindaichi the detective and posted to japan..for SAF duties
can sian japanese charbor..
wahahahahhahahahaaaaaaaawahhahwhahah
officer say what, just obey lor..
If got chance, don't reincarnate as a singapore guy..
go reincarnate as a japanese guy like takashi sorimachi.
Free jap chiobu somemore
[b]Here's a tip from SBSK
1. Go buy toto and win $10 million and fly to japan =D
2. Declare that your chinese-american and fly to USA
3. Go malaysia ,and be a citizen there whahwhahwhhhhwhahahah
4. Go over-seas studies and dont' come back(we don't need humji kias)
5. Go to a political party..and outsource our defense to China
and be a vassal state of China , and "por lampa" and ask them to defend
us (as if they will)
To all pple reading my above 5 points(all talking cock), reading his ANTI ns posts really lower morale in SAF forums leh..
I rather we have more warriors rather then pple who is humji..
Should sack them outta NS, having them do NS only make morale lower..