fresh ration is extremely appealing, especially after days of cold and sticky combat ration.Originally posted by specfore:Hey guys,
when you have been away from Singapore these many years like me, even the picture of the food at the start of this thread looks yummy. Doesn't matter if it is cold or hot, which incidentally, I don't think is such a issue when you are eating lunch on some bare top hill in the midday sun !
ditto that, my time we pull out plastic bag to cover mess tin and get cold rice and food donked in it. The grasshoppers jump in and out of the food. Dont complain laOriginally posted by specfore:Hey guys,
when you have been away from Singapore these many years like me, even the picture of the food at the start of this thread looks yummy. Doesn't matter if it is cold or hot, which incidentally, I don't think is such a issue when you are eating lunch on some bare top hill in the midday sun !
He ORD long time ago liao..kekekeOriginally posted by Gordonator:oh u eat out?![]()
but then he's still working for SAF right?Originally posted by laurence82:He ORD long time ago liao..kekeke
Cannot then use hands liao.Originally posted by GenX:have not tried it yet but guess the only thing i will miss about the styrofoam box is the ability to just tear off the corner and use it as a make shift spoon.very useful when as usual logistic cock up and we dun get enough plastic spoons.Wonder if that can be done with these paper boxes.
Wah, plastic spoons!!! You guys had it good. We just rub sand into our metal spoons and douse it with a little water and put it back into our packs.Originally posted by GenX:have not tried it yet but guess the only thing i will miss about the styrofoam box is the ability to just tear off the corner and use it as a make shift spoon.very useful when as usual logistic cock up and we dun get enough plastic spoons.Wonder if that can be done with these paper boxes.
reservist lahOriginally posted by Xprobe:Wah, plastic spoons!!! You guys had it good. We just rub sand into our metal spoons and douse it with a little water and put it back into our packs.
why rub sand into the spoons? won't cleaning the spoon by rubbing against our no.4 be more hygienic?Originally posted by Xprobe:Wah, plastic spoons!!! You guys had it good. We just rub sand into our metal spoons and douse it with a little water and put it back into our packs.
not when your no. 4 has gone through sweat and soil.Originally posted by Gordonator:why rub sand into the spoons? won't cleaning the spoon by rubbing against our no.4 be more hygienic?![]()
wow, u all still can use plastic bag to cover mess tin 2 eat ar...when we were recs we were nt allowed to do that. They wan us to wash like siao after eating. Still rem 1 big bucket of dirty soap water w pieces of sponge in it next to e food tonner. But e specs n officers hve a gd life of using styrofoam boxes. Eat n throw.Originally posted by Xprobe:ditto that, my time we pull out plastic bag to cover mess tin and get cold rice and food donked in it. The grasshoppers jump in and out of the food. Dont complain la
soap water and sponge? we just used water from our bottles to wash, no matter how oily the food was. wash, then keep. anyway no one cares about the oil on the utensils, when we are going to eat again, and when we are outfield. already alot of other things go into our mouths together with your food.Originally posted by contact_thatslife:wow, u all still can use plastic bag to cover mess tin 2 eat ar...when we were recs we were nt allowed to do that. They wan us to wash like siao after eating. Still rem 1 big bucket of dirty soap water w pieces of sponge in it next to e food tonner. But e specs n officers hve a gd life of using styrofoam boxes. Eat n throw.
neber hear b4...e mi fun never pass dwnOriginally posted by specfore:What ever happened to "CB" leaf tissue paper and palm frond spoons? The old soldiers used to teach us recruits to wipe stuff with the large leaves from the CB bush, and to cut the end of the stems from a palm frond... it is semi-hollow and can be used as a small scoop... to use as a spoon !
Whether the food in a camp is good depends on the camp.......Originally posted by LazerLordz:Heh.But the main thing is that the food must taste good.![]()
Between my fking dirty uniform and the hot sand under the sun, you bet it is a safer way to keep the utensils "clean"Originally posted by wuming78:not when your no. 4 has gone through sweat and soil.
Well, my camp is supplied by SFI.Had western menu a few days back, the dinner was salmon burger patties with fries, nuggets, scrambled eggs with peas and carrots.Nightsnack was apple pie.I must say we often complain too much about the food.If you go and ask your older folks, they would say that soldiers today have a real nice spread for cookhouse food.Originally posted by one-niner:i think food prepared by NTUC is many times nicer than the SFI. NTUC really bortheres to cook proper food, BMT, SISPEC, Selerang Camp are all prepared by SFI, and i swear to u, they are gd stuff. I don't noe abt the rest of u ppl, Selerang Camp Cook house offers a self service counter for senior WOSEs and officers.
but having the food served to men are also as good, how often do u get yong tofu, laksa with fried drumstick for lunch, fish and chips with lemon and tartar sauce, Bak Kut Teh,herbal ginseng chicken soup, duck rice, kway chup, fried half chicken with chips, spicy chicken curry (it rivals that in food court)
Hay mee for breakfast, roti prata (kosong) with curry, mee rubus, meesiam,
haha my fren in 41 SAR was cursing at the food we had, even those for the wkend was nicer than their regular meals..
now got western menu some more. Thus I have decided from now onwards, I will not be sympathetic to any complaints from any current NSF.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Well, my camp is supplied by SFI.Had western menu a few days back, the dinner was salmon burger patties with fries, nuggets, scrambled eggs with peas and carrots.Nightsnack was apple pie.I must say we often complain too much about the food.If you go and ask your older folks, they would say that soldiers today have a real nice spread for cookhouse food.![]()