if you are to become a specialist you will be posted to BSLC (SISPEC). if you are to be a man, you will go straight to the unit.Originally posted by StRiKeMaN:Hi, i'm enlistin in next 2 yrs time.(Maybe).
Abt SISPEC thingy, is it dat after 3 mnths BMT, den they posted to BSLC all dese? i thought like they posted us straight to infantrys/guards.
as a trainee, or course must stay in lah.Originally posted by plenoptic:Do all these camps have in-camp bunks? Do they have to stay overnight?
After being a trainee leh?Originally posted by Gordonator:as a trainee, or course must stay in lah.
think too much liao u....Originally posted by plenoptic:Is SOC a must for BSLC? What if i fail my SOC?
yes its a must. u can almost say soc is a must for your entire ns stint. they are going to train you and train you hard so you will pass.Originally posted by plenoptic:Is SOC a must for BSLC? What if i fail my SOC?
hard to say. depends on where u get posted to actually. if u get posted to those HQs as admin spec then it's 8 to 5 with occasional stay in depending on the need. as a instructors, think must stay in with your men.Originally posted by plenoptic:After being a trainee leh?
if u combat side u probably posted to combat unit. then for 2years u work with the same bunch of people. you will have a pc. you will have men to train and take care of lor.. basically combat unit is also stay in your camp everyday.Originally posted by plenoptic:After being a trainee leh?
Indeed.I had a friend from my Obese BMT batch who thought going to OCS meant he was free from the clutches of that island..little did he know he was going back, and to lead obese recruits too.Talk about serendipity.Originally posted by sarius:from 8th BSLC (Alpha) and 8th ASLC (Golf).
SISPEC was still in PLC then. Now they want to shift back. What can I say...
Btw, can you imagine the life of an NSF who went to tekong for his BMT. Carried on to BSLC. Then ASLC. Finally posted to BMT/SISPEC as an instructor?
I mean, his entire 2 and a half years (now only 2 years right?) spent in Tekong? Must be bloody sian.
that's exactly what happened to my friend, BMTC BSLC ASLC posted to SISPEC HQ.Originally posted by sarius:Btw, can you imagine the life of an NSF who went to tekong for his BMT. Carried on to BSLC. Then ASLC. Finally posted to BMT/SISPEC as an instructor?
I mean, his entire 2 and a half years (now only 2 years right?) spent in Tekong? Must be bloody sian.
take the 1st train every morning and hopefully u wont miss the feeder bus at pasir ris terminal and tat ferry. he will be able to reach sispec before 8am.Originally posted by Gordonator:that's exactly what happened to my friend, BMTC BSLC ASLC posted to SISPEC HQ.
at least been an instrustor there is not as bad as one can stay in. but imagine my friend who is a admin spec at SISPEC HQ. which means he gets to book out everyday (or almost everyday i'm not sure). somemore he live in the west. can u imagine the hours of travelling time he spent getting to tekong?
Maybe me and my friends are exceptions. However i'm sure that there are more to come.Originally posted by Gordonator:the truth is, malay specialist don't have chance to go to support formation like engineers, signal and artillery and combat formation like armour unlike their chinese, indian BSLC mates.
that's why there's isn't any malay specialists in engineers and armour. most likely they'll be posted to infantry/guards/BMTC.
officers go through OCS.Originally posted by jonalim:if i want to sign on as naval officer...do i still go thru BSLC?
and if i dun get into OCS? me dream is over eh?Originally posted by Gordonator:officers go through OCS.
Originally posted by Gordonator:*bah* CPL Alan Phua and Alvin Ng obviously have not been for AHM before.
[b]The SISPEC 22 km Milestone Run
8/8/2005
Chief of Army (COA), MG Desmond Kuek visited the School of Infantry Specialists (SISPEC) on 19 July to join the trainees for a 22-kilometre run. The run was more than just a normal run to keep fit it carried extra significance as the trainees' Advanced Section Leader Course graduation run.
The 22-km run takes the trainees around the island of Pulau Tekong and past landmarks and places that they would be familiar with from their Basic Military Training (BMT) and SISPEC experiences. The trainees thus get to relive the journey they have taken so far in the Army.
Past the halfway mark, the trainees are reminded that it is a mind game they have to overcome. Nearing the end of the run, the trainees will their bodies on through a gruelling uphill run before they finally reach the finish line at SISPEC. Commanding Officer of SISPEC, LTC Ng Heng Chew said, Through the run, we want to send a message to the trainees: that the mind is very powerful. After the run, they come out with a tremendous sense of achievement.
CPL Alan Phua said, As I ran, it was a time to recap all I did in BMT, and a time to understand how much I've grown. CPL Calvin Ng also noted, The run has taught us how to lead our men and how to mentally and physically prepare them. Hopefully they can also look up to us and say, if our instructor can do it, we can do it as well!
At the end of the run, COA congratulated the sergeants-to-be on finishing the run. He said, Soon you will be in charge of other soldiers their welfare, their lives. This run is something that you can remember and take out of Pulau Tekong, which can define your experience in SISPEC.