You mean the AH-64 or the evaluating UH-60/70? UH-60/ 70 can replace the AS332 as well at 1 go to reduce maintenance cost (Evident as they are only willing to use 2 type of fighter jet in future. If in this case, F-15 is a better choice as they can share the AIM missiles)Originally posted by eurofighter:Many reasons...probably so that the planes would not be destroyed in an artillery strike at such short range.
RSAF planes mounting an air-strike have to travel all the way up there- more reaction time plus more chance of facing anti-aircraft fire though RSAF could travel through South China Sea.
They are neutral especially when chinese and malays fight.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:i got questions regarding Gurkhas..
1. What are they used for?
2. What do they do in times of wartime?
3. Why LKY use them?
4. Are they the last line of defense?
5. Who is their "true loyalty"?
I mean the new naval chopper. Its the SH-60. The most cost-effective choice will be the Cougar, with commonality with the SPs, though my preffered choice would be the NH-90, which like the others in competiton also have army variants.Originally posted by sbst275:You mean the AH-64 or the evaluating UH-60/70? UH-60/ 70 can replace the AS332 as well at 1 go to reduce maintenance cost (Evident as they are only willing to use 2 type of fighter jet in future. If in this case, F-15 is a better choice as they can share the AIM missiles)
Well, possible. But from here to Kuantan takes 9 mins in Mach 2 speed
Well, SH-60 is the brother of UH-60 and UH-70... It is best if they replace UH-1H and SP together as like the fighter jets to save cost. Note that I am using the word IF. A-4 and F-5 may be replaced together to save maintenance costOriginally posted by eurofighter:I mean the new naval chopper. Its the SH-60. The most cost-effective choice will be the Cougar, with commonality with the SPs, though my preffered choice would be the NH-90, which like the others in competiton also have army variants.
They are looking to replace the hueys not the SPs
Your RMAF planes are certainly not gonna travel at mach 2 all the way. They dun have supercruise capability.
SP hasn't reached its ops cap yet. UH has. And we don't need to look into cougars when we already have them.Originally posted by sbst275:Well, SH-60 is the brother of UH-60 and UH-70... It is best if they replace UH-1H and SP together as like the fighter jets to save cost. Note that I am using the word IF. A-4 and F-5 may be replaced together to save maintenance cost
TUDM dun have? F-16 not also right? Wait, you mean RSAF or RMAF?
Actually, what I find is that they should cut mainteanance cost by sharing the same resourcesOriginally posted by kopiosatu:SP hasn't reached its ops cap yet. UH has. And we don't need to look into cougars when we already have them.
we say UH here in camp, doesn't matter as long as we understand what we're referring to.Originally posted by sbst275:Actually, what I find is that they should cut mainteanance cost by sharing the same resources
BTW, dun use UH... UH means Uitity helicopter
UH-1H - Huey (Bell 212)
UH-60 - Black Hawk
UH-70 - Sea Hawk
Of course lah, UH-1H is the only UH hereOriginally posted by kopiosatu:we say UH here in camp, doesn't matter as long as we understand what we're referring to.
I don't know about the Seahawk, no brief done at all yet.
But i do know that the SP isn't an LST kind of aircraft. That's why they want a chopper for the navy only.
hey guys,Originally posted by kopiosatu:But i do know that the SP isn't an LST kind of aircraft. That's why they want a chopper for the navy only.
i think same as the U.S. the navy will have their own pilot..Originally posted by sprocket:hey guys,
Just wondering, who would be flying the naval choppers?
AF pilots?
came? as in the RSAF? It didn't come at 1984. 125 wasn't even set up until 1985. And the first batch ordered were Pumas.Originally posted by sbst275:Of course lah, UH-1H is the only UH here
SeaHawk can be the SH-60 or older UH-70...
SP can't even be better than UH-60 Black Hawk. Cougar came in 1984, shld retire liao
I hope Singapore gets CH-53
don't think so.Originally posted by YI:i think same as the U.S. the navy will have their own pilot..
Is it? What i know was our 1st batch consisted of 18 Ms and 4 Bs. But they are still SP standard, not Puma standard?Originally posted by kopiosatu:came? as in the RSAF? It didn't come at 1984. 125 wasn't even set up until 1985. And the first batch ordered were Pumas.
first batch were Ms... that's the SP.Originally posted by eurofighter:Is it? What i know was our 1st batch consisted of 18 Ms and 4 Bs. But they are still SP standard, not Puma standard?
No Bs... Only M and M1Originally posted by eurofighter:From what I have gathered, 4 B versions were among the 22 bought back then. The rest were M.
utimately the MPA still belongs to the air force.. do you think the same will goes for the naval helicopter or an air wing within the RSN?Originally posted by eurofighter:Pilots supplied by RSAF and crew will be from RSN, just like the Fokker 50 MPAs.
oh yeah.. tri-service. so the pilot along with its helicopter will only be stationed onboard the frigate as required and not always lah..Originally posted by kopiosatu:don't think so.
the SAF doesn't work like the USA
where the 3 forces are their own individual organisation. Here we are supposed to combine all 3 forces to become one.
No, the MPA belongs to the navy.Originally posted by YI:utimately the MPA still belongs to the air force.. do you think the same will goes for the naval helicopter or an air wing within the RSN?
No Bs... Only M and M1Dunno leh. I read a couple of articles said we bought a small number of B in the 1st batch.
never heard of it. since the first day till now, its first batch M. second batch M1.Originally posted by eurofighter:Dunno leh. I read a couple of articles said we bought a small number of B in the 1st batch.
why then does the MPA falls under RSAF order of battle? why then doesn't the MPA show up on the RSN architecture?Originally posted by eurofighter:No, the MPA belongs to the navy.
Super Puma is a medium lift helicopter.Originally posted by sbst275:Puma is heavy lift helicopter... Super Puma is UH types