why not send them an e-mail and ask them?Originally posted by JavierQ:is 25 signing on a little too late? im considering too..
can. but u must 1st be an existing NSF officer, an Officer Cadet or likely to be selected for OCS training.Originally posted by firewizard:can poly students sign on as officer?
i reenlisted at the age of 26, and am happily a regular now.Originally posted by JavierQ:is 25 signing on a little too late? im considering too..
is it? is that a new policy? during my time (2001) when i went to OCS, i had peers who had already signed on as officers. and since the recruitment drive during BMT took place in the middle of it, that meant they probably signed on as officers before they knew they could get to OCS.Originally posted by Gordonator:can. but u must 1st be an existing NSF officer, an Officer Cadet or likely to be selected for OCS training.
meaning to say, u cannot sign on straight as officer before enlistment. u must be selected for OCS after BMT before u can sign on.
Why? Yr family still so traditional meh? Anyway now no more iron rice bowl even if u sign on..Originally posted by JavierQ:being a soldier is my childhood ambition.. but family all object to this career![]()
what is the reason for their objection? and well, one should be able to talk this over with family as grown ups. afterall, this is one's aspirations and career preference.Originally posted by JavierQ:being a soldier is my childhood ambition.. but family all object to this career![]()
with the increasing education standards of our population in general, and the continued emphasis at least in part on education background of those who are interested in joining the force, i must say yes, you will face stiff competition if you choose to pursue a career with the SAF. however that does not mean that you do not stand a chance at all. but do remember to temper your own expectations.Originally posted by JavierQ:As i'm not very educated (higher nitec only), they think that i wont be promoted.. i thought they have like a scheme till retirement? why not iron rice bowl? Forgive me for my ignorance
then like that who would want to sign on as specialists anymore. everyone will be thinking, sign on as officer better.Originally posted by wuming78:is it? is that a new policy? during my time (2001) when i went to OCS, i had peers who had already signed on as officers. and since the recruitment drive during BMT took place in the middle of it, that meant they probably signed on as officers before they knew they could get to OCS.
not necessarily true. there are definitely people who do not want to become officers for various reasons - more responsibilities, shorter career span, etc. at the same time, not all those who want to sign on as officers will get to do so.Originally posted by Gordonator:then like that who would want to sign on as specialists anymore. everyone will be thinking, sign on as officer better.
Hmm i hear from someone that if a diploma sign on as officer it is not advisable....cause u will be competing with others who r scholars and degree holders....dun noe how true...Originally posted by firewizard:can poly students sign on as officer?
Well it's like that everywhere, not just in the SAF isn't it? Paper qualifications are everything.Originally posted by kaka_22:Hmm i hear from someone that if a diploma sign on as officer it is not advisable....cause u will be competing with others who r scholars and degree holders....dun noe how true...
that is not really the case.Originally posted by LazerLordz:And how many SAFOS guys actually study military history or war?Most of them are studying engineering and business. That shows the direction our forces are going, getting them ready for the private sector because we can't afford to have every regular stay in the Corps until they are old and grey.
if you have doubts as to whether you can cope with this job, what makes you think you will be able to cope with any other jobs? furthermore, this is the job you have been aspiring to since young!Originally posted by StRiKeMaN:I Was Thinking Of Singing On too. But 1 Thing i Afraid Is Dat Wat If I Cant Cope Da Job? I Did Try To My Best Remove Dat Kind Of Thinking Out Of Ma Head. Me nOw In Nitec ActuaLLy. U Think I Can Sign During Higher Nitec? I Wanna FulFill My Amibiton In Army Career Ever Since When I was Small.![]()
Good point in the last paragraph.I was just trying to highlight how few scholars choose West Point or Sandhurst over the usual glamour universities.Originally posted by wuming78:that is not really the case.
if the SAF restricts its potential scholars to studying only military-related degrees, it will be limiting the pool of talents it can tap on - in singapore, how many people are going to limit their own options by diving into such a specific field?
furthermore, it does not take a person to have a military basic degree to perform well or better than those without one in the military, and neither is it true that those without such a degree will lose out or perform worse. our past SAF leaders would be able to prove this point, and so, i believe, do the soldiers from other professional armies in the world.
it would be more prudent if the force can take in bright undergraduates from various fields, so as to have diverse viewpoints and backgrounds, and subsequently award a postgraduate military scholarship to those who have outstanding performance and indicated interest in a long term career with the armed forces.
So, u mean is, jus face it no matter wat lah? dun mind arr, me take time to udnestand.Originally posted by wuming78:if you have doubts as to whether you can cope with this job, what makes you think you will be able to cope with any other jobs? furthermore, this is the job you have been aspiring to since young!
why do you have doubts about your own capability? is it just a unsubstantiated fear? examine this and perhaps you would be more confident of your career move.
you mentioned you were afraid you could not cope with the job, even though it is something you have been aspiring to. why is that so?Originally posted by StRiKeMaN:So, u mean is, jus face it no matter wat lah? dun mind arr, me take time to udnestand.![]()