its been some time for me, but i will try to remember some things here and there.Originally posted by Malcolm84:Will be going for the 7-days field camp coming 22nd OCT. Heard from my PC that the reclaimed land areas are real hot and stuffy. How can I prepare for my field camp? What will be taking place during this 7 days?
And also, what are things that I should avoid or take precautions on? Things like my rifle, MAG, my belongings etc...
And what are the little bits a recruit can initiate or volunteer to do to prove his worth during this period?
Me x2Originally posted by thoreldan:wah i outdated liao....didnt know now recruits got 7day outfield
Finally!Originally posted by Ponders:things like using civilian items, going back bunk to bathe are history already.
Since the new BMTC Comd and COs... he warned all OCs against doing this. even now, all instructors are to stay outfield for the 7 days.
meaning... no more sleeping in bunk overnight and return outfield in the morning.
You use spoon to dig shellscrape? 10 hours?Originally posted by pkchukiss:Dug a shellscrape and firetrench in one day, all with a naggy sergeant on my back, then endured countless rifle jumping jacks because we couldn't finish the shellscrape and firetrench. I took 10 hours to dig my shellscrape, and got "personal attention". Then I got too shacked and fell asleep after RO without hugging my rifle.
Depends on ur company, gt welfare or nt. Sme company like mine dun even allowed an additional pack of tissue papaer (only use e one provided in ur combat ration pack) further more talk about bringing wet tissue. Just only dream on!Originally posted by WrX_STi:bring more tissues, and save the troubles of bring rolls of toilet paper. wet tissue oso try to bring to wipe of camou from ur face to haf a gd slp at nite. haha..
LOL! i wear my camou to sleep everynight from day 2 to day 6. from day 2 onwards everything is in a rush. we didn't even do powder bath and brush our teeth anymore after day 2. we were that tired!Originally posted by WrX_STi:...wet tissue oso try to bring to wipe of camou from ur face to haf a gd slp at nite. haha..
usually no matter how tired, will wipe off camo, else very gao wey.Originally posted by Gordonator:LOL! i wear my camou to sleep everynight from day 2 to day 6. from day 2 onwards everything is in a rush. we didn't even do powder bath and brush our teeth anymore after day 2. we were that tired!![]()
Ehm...Taurus Coy? lol...Originally posted by contact_thatslife:Check w ur pc wt can n cannot bring to ur field camp. Diff comp gt diff rules. Sme r stricter than e others.
Like mine, a siong company in sch 2, only SAF issued items were allowed. We were nt even allowed to bring extra packet of tissue paper (only can use e single pack included in e combat ration package) n no outside brand powder like snake powder. My friend company good sia, his pc still told them to bring wet tissue along 4 field camp.
4 us, they did a major check on e 1st day of field camp , everything out fm ur field pack, they oso went through all ur pockets in e sbo n physically pad dwn on ur lng 4 2 ensure nothing were hidden in e pockets.
If u kana a siong company, n only can use saf issued items, do not bring anything that is nt saf issued on e 1st day. But on e following days secretly ask 1 of e out of course personnel to bring in 4 u when they deliver stuff. But dun get caught!
But oct field camp still nt so bad as compared to us in dec. 1 day a lot of CAT 1, smetimes in e middle of e nite, hve to wake up, in FBO walk far far away to shelter. N unlike other companies just leave their field pack in e bashar, we brought ours along too. N we oso were nt allowed to wear our ponchos (last time no goretex jacket), e poncho just only added extra weight in our super wet (soaked in e rain) sbo. n oso do expect a lot of tekan like everything in" in 30 secs, n "everything out" fm ur field pack in 30 secs. But e field pack u all r using nw, hve longer pockets on both sides, so more space, therefore easier when kana "everything in" tekan. During our time, e side pockets were only half e length of nw.![]()
u from taurus coy?!?! this year or last year?Originally posted by deathscythe99:Ehm...Taurus Coy? lol...
For me, mine was in the Feb period, after Chinese New Year, and I endured 6 hellish days of non-stop rain/CAT I till the very last day (BIC). And it was sad to know that other coys could have a nice quick water bath in the middle of the camp, heard some *ahem* coy got 2! And we had ours only on the very very last night of camp.
Digging of selfscrapes and fire trench was done on the 2nd last day, and it was really bad 'cos our commanders were angry at some ppl who were joking whilst digging, making a lotta noise, so much so that we ended up having to fall in, fill up the self-scrapes & fire trench at 6 plus, then fall in, pack our bashas, and then redig our self-scrapes and fire trench in the dark. And we slept the last night without pitching basha. We were damn tired sia... Just lay ground sheet and sleep liaoz.
Mohawk lah. During my time e OC gt only 2 kit kat bars. Nt even a CPT. But when we were about to pop, a new OC cme in. Wow, he was really v good, sit on e floor w e recs @ e basket ball court n chit chat together. Run in e rain to arrange tonners 4 us. During rd march, walk behind to encourage those weak recs to keep it up. N always stay until around 8+ b4 leaving e island, unlike e old 1, 5+ zhao liao. N he was a CPT smemore. 3 full bars.Originally posted by deathscythe99:Ehm...Taurus Coy? lol...
For me, mine was in the Feb period, after Chinese New Year, and I endured 6 hellish days of non-stop rain/CAT I till the very last day (BIC). And it was sad to know that other coys could have a nice quick water bath in the middle of the camp, heard some *ahem* coy got 2! And we had ours only on the very very last night of camp.
Digging of selfscrapes and fire trench was done on the 2nd last day, and it was really bad 'cos our commanders were angry at some ppl who were joking whilst digging, making a lotta noise, so much so that we ended up having to fall in, fill up the self-scrapes & fire trench at 6 plus, then fall in, pack our bashas, and then redig our self-scrapes and fire trench in the dark. And we slept the last night without pitching basha. We were damn tired sia... Just lay ground sheet and sleep liaoz.
haha.. i get wad u mean. i juz completed my cdo bmt. =.= now in bct liaoz. goin for all out exercise soon...Originally posted by Gordonator:LOL! i wear my camou to sleep everynight from day 2 to day 6. from day 2 onwards everything is in a rush. we didn't even do powder bath and brush our teeth anymore after day 2. we were that tired!![]()