Originally posted by fatone:eagle vs MohamedF is a hell in cell, coming this December to a big screen near you
get lost...
Originally posted by eagle:yawns
You still lose to Gazelle at speakers corner for it. He did both and more.
Didn’t even bother me a single bit.
wow... most people would care a little bit when their face is linked as a child molester...
Originally posted by MohamedF:wow... most people would care a little bit when their face is linked as a child molester...
Btw, I still dun understand why you want to go off tangent and bring the discussion to the seriousness of defamation when it wasn't even it in the first place
Not only once leh...
Originally posted by MohamedF:get lost...
make me
Originally posted by fatone:make me
1...2...3... poof!
ok, lost ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:Btw, I still dun understand why you want to go off tangent and bring the discussion to the seriousness of defamation when it wasn't even it in the first place
Not only once leh...
Originally posted by MohamedF:
I HATE DEFAMERS!!! I would know... my entire religion have been the subject of defemation for over 7 years now...
Originally posted by eagle:1...2...3... poof!
ok, lost
still here![]()
Originally posted by fatone:still here
damn
Originally posted by eagle:damn
with my sledgehammer and my crowbar and me
Originally posted by MohamedF:I HATE DEFAMERS!!! I would know... my entire religion have been the subject of defemation for over 7 years now...
Don't see how that justify the switching to a topic (seriousness of defamation) in which I didn't have any differing opinions from you leh...
Originally posted by eagle:damn
I tot u went to sleep, eagle.. lol
Originally posted by bambina:
I tot u went to sleep, eagle.. lol
afternoon nap made me awake...
Think I better go sleep... heh... if not my workout tmr not good liao...
Nights...
Originally posted by eagle:afternoon nap made me awake...
Think I better go sleep... heh... if not my workout tmr not good liao...
Nights...
want to run together? i later running @ 5am. do u live in the west side?
Originally posted by fatone:want to run together? i later running @ 5am. do u live in the west side?
5am run where??? He is at the east.
Originally posted by bambina:
5am run where??? He is at the east.
oh then forget it. morning run bah.
Originally posted by fatone:oh then forget it. morning run bah.
I wonder if I cld wake up at 7am to run at the park.... hahaha
Originally posted by eagle:Don't see how that justify the switching to a topic (seriousness of defamation) in which I didn't have any differing opinions from you leh...
I was trying to give you a sense of seriousness of defemation so you understand how the victim feels... but apparently you're immune to that, but for some people who's livelyhood depend's on public perception, its a very serious problem, and someone but be held responsible to making that defemation... and someone must be responsible in making sure if defemation occurs, it is rectified...
or else, the internet would be a free for all types of information crime...
Originally posted by MohamedF:I was trying to give you a sense of seriousness of defemation so you understand how the victim feels... but apparently you're immune to that, but for some people who's livelyhood depend's on public perception, its a very serious problem, and someone but be held responsible to making that defemation... and someone must be responsible in making sure if defemation occurs, it is rectified...

Originally posted by fatone:

defamation is not a clear cut section of the law, unless one has studied it in some depth
i wish that MLMers do not throw out legal terms which they have no grasp of to coerce people
this is superbly unprofessional, if you think something has gone against the law, get a legal representation
Originally posted by MohamedF:I was trying to give you a sense of seriousness of defemation so you understand how the victim feels... but apparently you're immune to that, but for some people who's livelyhood depend's on public perception, its a very serious problem, and someone but be held responsible to making that defemation... and someone must be responsible in making sure if defemation occurs, it is rectified...
No wonder you are out of point all the way.
I have already stated what I meant (that pacer's efforts will come to naught), but you still persist in going out of point and tell me defamation is serious. This has been pointed out to you not just once. Just because you can't find and show me any other forums that will take responsibilities for the posts their members make doesn't justify why you should bring in irrelevant stuff.
It's not that I'm immune; it's merely that the examples I see here are indeed childish and immature ones. Only people with low EQ (stupidissmart, gazelle) would be that sorely affected. Don't join their ranks.
Originally posted by laurence82:defamation is not a clear cut section of the law, unless one has studied it in some depth
i wish that MLMers do not throw out legal terms which they have no grasp of to coerce people
this is superbly unprofessional, if you think something has gone against the law, get a legal representation
He has already been confused between defamation and prejudice.
on top of being confused by forums and publications.
Originally posted by eagle:He has already been confused between defamation and prejudice.
on top of being confused by forums and publications.
Chapter 75
Broadcast statements.
3. For
the purpose of the law of libel and slander, the broadcasting of
words by means of telecommunication shall be treated as publication
in a permanent form.
It seems we have 2 different idea of publication... you seem to think publication need to be poof read by some type if quality manager before its caled a publication... but in fact, publication is defined as anything written, in short "anything you can see and touch", if I draw a power ranger with colour pencils on a piece of paper, i still considered a type of publication... if I were to write something anywhere in cyberspace, as long as humans can see it and touch it (hdd, flopy disc, cd-r, etc) it is a form of publication... I would know, we had the same arguement in B-Law lesson...
anyway, don't you think this limitation of liability is a little wierd? The terms and condition is suppose to only affect the users only... but lets say I'm not a member of sgf but there is a defemation of me in sgf... isn't it wierd that I have to follow the terms and condition when I am not a user, but the publication on sgf affects me as a non-user...?
Lets make an example, lets say you build a house and let anyone use it anyway they want and put up terms and condition, (1) cannot do anything illegal (2) limited liability...
Then someone use it for a brothel or a drug den (illegal stuff like defemation), fair enough if you don't know about the illegal activity... but if the matter has already been brought up to you and you still do nothing, you are still abetting to the crime...
yes some of these little defemation are childish, but childish or not, if your words in cyberspace has affects on this side of reality it becomes a real problem...
I can't remember really well, but there was a case of chain e-mails were sent to defeme a company in Singapore... legal suit follows and the original authors were arrested... but hotmail ( or was it yahoo??) is responsible to track down the users who forwarded the emails and put a road block to the spread... failure to do so would be abetting to defemation...
The word publication means the act of publishing, and it also means any writing of which copies are published, and any website. Among publications are books, and periodicals, the latter including magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers.
"Publication" is a technical term in legal contexts and especially important in copyright legislation. An author of a work generally in the initial owner of the copyright on the work. One of the copyrights granted to the author of a work is the exclusive right to publish the work.
Posts in a forum by a virtual nick is not a publication. Simple as that.
Posting in a blog is a sort of publication. Simple as well.
And in the case of chain e-mails, yahoo or hotmail does not guarantees the accuracies of the emails as well; they do not need to take responsibilities for whatever their users sent out. It's a duh. The same case for forums as well.