Hi,Originally posted by Lim Li Hao Matthew:Is Cisco = Police?
Actually i believe any member of the public has the power to detain anyone seen to be committing a criminal act and then refer him to the police.. just like how a security guard working at a supermarket can detain a shoplifter and not allow him to leave the place.Originally posted by Raving-Ed:Hi,
In contrary to the 3 replies here which are wrong, CISCO are police too. If you do have a chance, take a look at the difference on the warrant cards for both PO and CISCO. And yes, CISCO are police trained too.
CISCO are subjected to two sections of the Police Force Act, Sec 12 and 9 (if I have not remembered wrongly).
Sec 9 if I am not wrong is meant for them to be empowered during duty, Sec 12 empowers them under situations out of duty. Meaning to say, when they are off duty, they see a criminal act, they can still arrest you with the authority empowered by the Warrant Card.
For PO wise, Sec 12 alone ... empowers that officer 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year.
Any CISCO officer to clarify? Please do.
The only other difference in Warrant Cards is the organisation they are working with. Of course, CISCO officers will have their Warrant Cards printed with CISCO on top.
Ed
Very true... but given a chance.. i rather not use a weapon to effect an arrest.. unarmed is like more glorious in making an arrest..hahahahaOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:Actually i believe any member of the public has the power to detain anyone seen to be committing a criminal act and then refer him to the police.. just like how a security guard working at a supermarket can detain a shoplifter and not allow him to leave the place.
Similarly a CISCO guard can detain someone but will have to hand him over to the police. Only diff is that the CISCO guy, compared to the civilian, is police-trained in control and restraint and also packs a mean Taurus firearm...
will be good for identification......Originally posted by huaiwei:Erm....latest I hear is a possibility that the Cisco uniform may be changed so that it is more dictinctively different from the SPF.
There are its own pros and cons lah. That they have almost similar uniforms with the SPF gives us wider sence of presence "for free". People see them in banks and such, and think we are everywhere. They used to take the public bus to commute from their HQ to the banks and such, so people also tot matas can be on buses. And they see Cisco guards putting money into your ATMS....thinking they are SPF folks too, and are unlikely to think of attacking them (at least not so in recent years).Originally posted by epImetheus:will be good for identification......
Originally posted by huaiwei:A cisco guard do something wrong only, and wooo....complain letter shoots to the SPF!
An arest is and arrest liao what, as long is lawful can liao lah... still need to differentiate until like that ah...Originally posted by houndy:Very true... but given a chance.. i rather not use a weapon to effect an arrest.. unarmed is like more glorious in making an arrest..hahahaha
use any method, as long as you can protect life and property can liao....Originally posted by houndy:Very true... but given a chance.. i rather not use a weapon to effect an arrest.. unarmed is like more glorious in making an arrest..hahahaha
that sounds true only 10-20 years ago I suppose? People nowadays wont go down without a fight, if not physically, then verbally at least!Originally posted by anfuni:use any method, as long as you can protect life and property can liao....
heroism will not be preferred.... hee.... given a chance i hope criminals see police officer auto squad down and surrender? lolx...
Huh??? hahaha.... 10-20 yrs ago is more dangerous.. nowadays... usually is foreigners that run away sia... those local people normal tiam tiam go inside the car...or they just start crying... esp those juvenile one.. then of course you can scold them lah... which is my favourite part of the arrest.. hahahaOriginally posted by huaiwei:that sounds true only 10-20 years ago I suppose? People nowadays wont go down without a fight, if not physically, then verbally at least!
They cry already still scould for what....siao.Originally posted by houndy:Huh??? hahaha.... 10-20 yrs ago is more dangerous.. nowadays... usually is foreigners that run away sia... those local people normal tiam tiam go inside the car...or they just start crying... esp those juvenile one.. then of course you can scold them lah... which is my favourite part of the arrest.. hahaha
Cisco traffic side can summon vehicles parking on Double Yellow Line.. they can also book people on illegal u-turns and other traffic offences... for zig zag lines is normal Cisco officers.. those you see standing and protecting the installations... anyway they are auxillary police.. they have police powers as well..Originally posted by llboct:Cisco is not a Police,but they act like police
1)where they drive their van or bus on middle lane of highway and
2)they are the only one that can park on zzz line and do their delivery of notes.
3)They also the only one that can park at public carpark for lunch without putting parking coupon.
If i remember correctly,the govt outsource the traffic duties to them only on the zz line,not the dbl yellow line,anyone can correct me on this as i did not remember the Govt publish that DBL yellow line is under their jurisdiction.
nopeOriginally posted by sgforums_user:seems like these Cisco officers only do all the sai-kang, minor routine work (collect ATM $, protect bank...) its like SPF outsourced all the minion work to minions.
are Cisco officers involved in crime solving, investigation....?