ha, dun loh cos now the policy is PO stay as PO, like a glass ceiling, not dat easy like last time can get AI or go C Course dat easily. be contented u can get to SSI ][....Originally posted by huaiwei:I heard of a "scheme" whereby SPOs to be can join as POs first. How do I go about doing that? I was wondering if I should go through the SPO recruitment and ask for this, or sign up as PO? Not possible leh...the education drop down menu dont have "Degree with honours"!
But sorry, SPF is not under contract scheme unlike SAF...Originally posted by kaka_22:Hmm u wanna sign-on i think u need to reconsider, cause now u sign-on u r put on contract, and thats not it, wat if ure 30+ and they dun offer u another contract....think twice dude
really? thanks for the clarification man..this rumour has been surfacing around since i look for information on SPF from other ppl comments...Originally posted by qazplm:But sorry, SPF is not under contract scheme unlike SAF...
Honours degree.. then last time after your a-levels should have applied for some police scholarship then guaranteed a job as SPO lor.. of course unless u had other plans then.Originally posted by huaiwei:I heard of a "scheme" whereby SPOs to be can join as POs first. How do I go about doing that? I was wondering if I should go through the SPO recruitment and ask for this, or sign up as PO? Not possible leh...the education drop down menu dont have "Degree with honours"!
now want to jump in also farking hard liao lor....Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Honours degree.. then last time after your a-levels should have applied for some police scholarship then guaranteed a job as SPO lor.. of course unless u had other plans then.
Anyway since u've been a VSC for so long i guess that'll be advantageous for your application? Compared to the other degree holders who jump into the Force not knowing what to expect inside...
Hmm but recently at a police career fair at my school i ask this officer and he told me now all MHA uniform service are on a contract scheme.....Originally posted by qazplm:But sorry, SPF is not under contract scheme unlike SAF...
Walao your story is based on those who join as PO without degree, and then get one later to become SPO lah. I am talking about those already with degree and joining as PO first. The promotional sequence will be quite different liao. I heard its fast track promotion...practically once per year.Originally posted by chunyong:ha, dun loh cos now the policy is PO stay as PO, like a glass ceiling, not dat easy like last time can get AI or go C Course dat easily. be contented u can get to SSI ][....
last time u performance very gd, go get a part time degree or you super high flyer can go for C Course with a recommendation. now is very very very hard....why leh ? cos got too much SOs loh.
last time is Insp->ASP->DSP->Supt
now is Insp->Insp 2 -> ASP -> ASP 2 -> DSP etc etc.....
so to jump from I1 to A1 will take u 3-5 yrs or so, another 3-5 to D1.
I1 to I2, A1 to A2 is very fast, normally 2 yrs but across rank not so easy...cos certain post require D1 and above, if they up u to D1 means u 'got to go' liao....then if too many D1 then again supply exceed demand at the posts dat require D12 / S12, then must create more posts again, and since the most 'outspread' and largest pie is without any doubt NPCs (add 1 SO post in every NPC = increase demand for SOs by 30 or more), definitely have to create post there again...last time is CO only, added in OO liao, increased demand by abt 30 as a result, next dun tell me AO also an SO...really bo ko leng one lor, imagine CO=D12 or S12, OO=D12 or S1 and then AO=A12 D12. this has a 'push down' effect....and later those at I12 become NPCOs go attend cases, no more be TL/DTL liao....
then there is this image abt SOs also mah, if u realise u sign on SO just to be on the grd like POs then WTF....dio bo ?!
Nonetheless, I12 and A12 is very versatile, can be TL, IO, AIO, OO, CO, Head X (where X is a dept in division)....now u see the picture ?
last time TLs all SSI or SSSgt or I1 and all is old birdies....now is almost all I2 or A12, pass out from Tracom, finish at least 6 mth stint in IB then be TL liao....experience lesser than 1 yr.. unless your NPC manpower cycle not fluid lah dat i dun say...this is wat i meant by 'push down effect'.
Thats coz I didnt consider the SPF career until I went through NS and I realised hey...I dont mind a regimental career!Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Honours degree.. then last time after your a-levels should have applied for some police scholarship then guaranteed a job as SPO lor.. of course unless u had other plans then.
Anyway since u've been a VSC for so long i guess that'll be advantageous for your application? Compared to the other degree holders who jump into the Force not knowing what to expect inside...
and u actually believed dat ? hahahahaha....i talking abt DE SOs, not those JO turned SO. and...no such thing as once per yr, even if intra-rank fastest also once per 2 yrs, unless its I1 to I2, dat dun say lah...Originally posted by huaiwei:Walao your story is based on those who join as PO without degree, and then get one later to become SPO lah. I am talking about those already with degree and joining as PO first. The promotional sequence will be quite different liao. I heard its fast track promotion...practically once per year.
If I believe, I wont be asking loh. Anyway this method isnt exaclty reliable also lah...just wondering if anyone by any chance happen to know for sure.Originally posted by chunyong:and u actually believed dat ? hahahahaha....i talking abt DE SOs, not those JO turned SO. and...no such thing as once per yr, even if intra-rank fastest also once per 2 yrs, unless its I1 to I2, dat dun say lah...
ha, i have seen my mdm from I2 to A1....and it took her 2-3 yrs i think, dats rounding down liao....intra-rank is quite fast, especially I1 to I2. another guy post out from IB then get his A1...he diao at I2 for 3 yrs or so too...alot of things to consider one lah. to speed up promotion u mustn't diao at a post for more than 2 yrs, 2 yrs then faster pull-cable liao...cable strength must be long and strong loh....another fella given A1 so dat he can be OO....he diao at I2 for how long i never ask lah. no such thing anyhow give u inter-rank one lah....Originally posted by huaiwei:If I believe, I wont be asking loh. Anyway this method isnt exaclty reliable also lah...just wondering if anyone by any chance happen to know for sure.
Haha what to do. SPF recruitment not forthcoming with info enough?Originally posted by houndy:yawn.. long time never visit here.... but still the same kind of text...
aiyah, u expect them to tell u meh....one thing to note is to NEVER even believe wat recruitment talks tell u.....its simply propaganda. to know the truth u ask the officers, not the talkers or speakers cos they are paid or tasked to do the talk.Originally posted by huaiwei:Haha what to do. SPF recruitment not forthcoming with info enough?
And even if it comes to officers, they arent exactly trustworthy either, be it consciously so or otherwise. So I will still take all comments with a pinch of salt.Originally posted by chunyong:aiyah, u expect them to tell u meh....one thing to note is to NEVER even believe wat recruitment talks tell u.....its simply propaganda. to know the truth u ask the officers, not the talkers or speakers cos they are paid or tasked to do the talk.
ha, up to u. after asking a few officers u will see a pattern. i always la kopi one, i hear their woes etc etc....can tell u its rather routine one.Originally posted by huaiwei:And even if it comes to officers, they arent exactly trustworthy either, be it consciously so or otherwise. So I will still take all comments with a pinch of salt.
Yeah lah...and herd instinct is to be expecting in the force too, wont you think?Originally posted by chunyong:ha, up to u. after asking a few officers u will see a pattern. i always la kopi one, i hear their woes etc etc....can tell u its rather routine one.
If you are a degree holder and wants to sign on as PO first, you will only be getting the pay as that of a JO.. so mayb your 2nd highest education level is 'A' levels or diploma only and you will be completing wif those JOs who are also taking their degree courses. So dun really think degree holders shld sign on as PO.Originally posted by huaiwei:Yeah lah...and herd instinct is to be expecting in the force too, wont you think?
When rumours are 50-50, I will be bound to be extra careful, hence I wont take either viewpoint hook line and sinker. If only there is official word to end such rumours. For example, surely a recruitment scheme which puts degree holders as POs first before SPOs is something worth publicising as a career path option during this period of high demand low supply, if such a scheme was to exist? It might just end up being their perfect manpower management solution for now!
remember that if u join as PO, u will remain as PO until u retire. not as easy as last time can go for C course and jump ashore. now is very very difficult. highest rank is SSI 2 for PO. want to go SO ? unless u go take degree and have very gd performance and ur boss have enough 'assertion'. last time is get a degree and good service record can liao cos gahmen keep on harping lifetime learning....but as u know now SO is supply far more than demand....so u say leh...Originally posted by fire_ice_lord:If you are a degree holder and wants to sign on as PO first, you will only be getting the pay as that of a JO.. so mayb your 2nd highest education level is 'A' levels or diploma only and you will be completing wif those JOs who are also taking their degree courses. So dun really think degree holders shld sign on as PO.
Sometimes there are people who behave irrationarly just to see their wants fulfilled. If taking a lower pay now means getting a chance to do what I want to do, compared to not getting it at all, the choice seems quite clear...Originally posted by fire_ice_lord:If you are a degree holder and wants to sign on as PO first, you will only be getting the pay as that of a JO.. so mayb your 2nd highest education level is 'A' levels or diploma only and you will be completing wif those JOs who are also taking their degree courses. So dun really think degree holders shld sign on as PO.
ha, they can let u be PO, then suddenly out of nowhere a Force Order comes out and u fly up lor....heh. its a miracle what F-O can do for u !Originally posted by huaiwei:Sometimes there are people who behave irrationarly just to see their wants fulfilled. If taking a lower pay now means getting a chance to do what I want to do, compared to not getting it at all, the choice seems quite clear...
Haha...see how lah. Sianz. Stupid ISM to deal with first.Originally posted by chunyong:ha, they can let u be PO, then suddenly out of nowhere a Force Order comes out and u fly up lor....heh. its a miracle what F-O can do for u !
yeah man my OC got his degree 2 yrs liao still stuck sergeant, he resigned and now his career is WOO~~!~!Originally posted by chunyong:remember that if u join as PO, u will remain as PO until u retire. not as easy as last time can go for C course and jump ashore. now is very very difficult. highest rank is SSI 2 for PO. want to go SO ? unless u go take degree and have very gd performance and ur boss have enough 'assertion'. last time is get a degree and good service record can liao cos gahmen keep on harping lifetime learning....but as u know now SO is supply far more than demand....so u say leh...
When the expectations and realities are too polarised, this is what we get.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Heh, seems like no one is enjoying his job as a PO..